Strike Packages versus Today's Air Defence- A simulated look

One person can look at the Indo pak terrian, one at MkI avionics and systems, other at sam specs.

Any tests can be run on the rig..
I will try, I tried some modding to EU3 and EU4 to add Pakistan, if it is similar, then I may be able to make it work.

Sure, I can help. Have never done anything like it before, but i love challenges.
Let me know what to do.

Doable but the limitations of the game engine would mean A lot of work is needed. And the guy is like Bhai kaam bhi Karna hai.

I offered him help from people here if you guys are interested in helping out
Via conmon google drive file or something.

It would be a great project for the forum...
Since Im told the sims is generally modifiable by editing basic ini files on notepad.. with some simple coefficients that control the engine.
Im sure a lot of you guys would understand and we can split up the work?

One person can look at the Indo pak terrian, one at MkI avionics and systems, other at sam specs.

@Thorough Pro @Hell hound @AUSTERLITZ @CriticalThought and any others.

The sim is called strike fighters 2. But this setup s heavily modified from the original

Ok all, so based on what I know of folk and what I got briefed on by the person who does these.
We have three places to start and understand.

@Hell hound
The sim was built for doing Air Combat limited to the late 80's. Although it will do more, it does not know anything other than basic values.

Let start with the Radar of the Erieye for e.g. ..then we'll move onto correct the Radar systems of other aircraft that you can do.

For reference
This is the one for the E-2C Hawkeye

[DetectSystem]
RadarType=AEW_SEARCH
RadarFamilyName=AEW
RangeUnit=NM
RadarAzimuthLimit=180
RadarElevationLimit=30
RadarSearchTime=1.0
RadarSearchRange=250
RadarSearchStrength=100
RadarSearchFreq=9.8
RadarSearchCW=FALSE
VisualBlindArc=
VisualRestrictedArc=
MaxVisibleDistance=8500.0
HasRWR=TRUE
RWRMinFreq=2.0
RWRMaxFreq=10.9
RWRCanDetectCW=FALSE

This is for the F-16
RadarType=AIR_INTERCEPT
RadarFamilyName=F-16 <----------------radars family name
RangeUnit=NM
RadarAzimuthLimit=60
RadarElevationLimit=60
RadarSearchTime=1.0
RadarSearchRange=80
RadarSearchStrength=100
RadarTrackTime=2.0
RadarTrackRange=80
RadarTrackStrength=100
DopplerLookdown=TRUE
RadarSearchFreq=9.8 <------NEW
RadarTrackFreq=9.8 <------- NEW
RadarMissileGuidanceFreq=6.0 <--------NEW
RadarSearchCW=FALSE <----------- NEW
RadarTrackCW=FALSE <----------NEW
RadarMissileGuidanceCW=TRUE <-------------NEW
VisualBlindArc=
VisualRestrictedArc=5L,6L,7L
MaxVisibleDistance=8400.0
BaseRCSModifier=0.2
HasRWR=TRUE <----------important
RWRMinFreq=0.5 <--------------important
RWRMaxFreq=20.0 <-------------important
RWRCanDetectCW=TRUE <------------NEW

RadarType=
On this line, you set either AIR_INTERCEPT or RANGING depending on whether the aircraft has an airborne intercept radar or just a gun-ranging radar. If you select RANGING, you don't need to enter any of the other radar parameters below. EDIT: You can also leve this line blank (RadarType=) if the aircraft has neither an air intercept nor a gun-ranging radar.

RangeUnit=
Sets the unit of measure you will use in the remaining parameters. Use NM for nautical miles or KM for kilometers.

RadarAzimuthLimit=
RadarElevationLimit=
These lines set the maximum elevation (vertical) and azimuth (horizontal) search limits of the aircraft's radar. Measured in degrees.

RadarSearchTime=
RadarSearchRange=
RadarSearchStrength=
SearchTime is the time (I believe in seconds) that it takes the AI to 'notice' a target on its radar when it comes within range. SearchRange is the maximum range at which the AIs radar can detect targets in search mode. SearchStrength is an abstraction of the 'power' of the radar unit which can range from 01 to 100 (or possibly higher).

RadarTrackTime=
RadarTrackRange=
RadarTrackStrength=
These settings are similar to the Search settings above but apply when the AI switches from Search to Track mode on a target.

RadarSearchFreq= This is the frequency the radar operates in, NO AESA can truly be simulated in this besides increased scan speed.

Radar Search CW= Continuous wave illumination.

VisualBlindArc=
VisualRestrictedArc=
These define the 'blind spots' the AI has to deal with when attempting to acquire targets visually. Use clock references. For example, if an aircraft has no vidibility to the rear, set VisualBlindArc=6. If, in addition, the aircraft has poor visibility in its rear hemisphere, set VisualRestrictedArc=5,7. You can modify these by adding H for high or L for low. For example, VisualBlindArc=6L means the pilot is blind to his 6 o'clock low, but can see his 6 o'clock and 6 o'clock high without interference.

MaxVisibleDistance=
The maximum distance in meters within which the aircraft is visible to the naked eye.

HasRWR=
Defaults to FALSE, set this to TRUE if the aircraft is equipped with RWR equipment. Allows the AI to be aware when emitting radars are present.

Based on this, look at the figures for the Erieye and then try to fix what you think might be wrong.

[DetectSystem]
RadarName=Erieye
RadarType=AEW_SEARCH
RadarFamilyName=AEW
RangeUnit=NM
RadarAzimuthLimit=180
RadarElevationLimit=45
RadarSearchTime=1.0
RadarSearchRange=280
RadarSearchStrength=150
RadarSearchFreq=9.8
RadarSearchCW=FALSE
VisualBlindArc=
VisualRestrictedArc=
MaxVisibleDistance=10500.0
HasRWR=TRUE
RWRMinFreq=2.0
RWRMaxFreq=19.9
RWRCanDetectCW=TRUE
DataLink=TRUE
NetworkType=LINK17

RadarName=Erieye
RadarType=AEW_SEARCH
RadarFamilyName=AEW
RangeUnit=NM
RadarAzimuthLimit=240(radar is two sided array with 60 degree blind spots on the tail and nose but i didn't know how to reflect it here .are we suppose to add the azimuth limit of both sides (120+120) or just put the value of single side (120)
RadarElevationLimit=45
RadarSearchTime=1.0
RadarSearchRange=243
RadarSearchStrength=150
RadarSearchFreq=9.8
RadarSearchCW=FALSE
VisualBlindArc=
VisualRestrictedArc=
MaxVisibleDistance=10500.0
HasRWR=TRUE
RWRMinFreq=0.7
RWRMaxFreq=40.0(for pulsed signals) for cw it is 18
RWRCanDetectCW=TRUE
DataLink=TRUE
NetworkType=LINK17

One thing i noticed is that if we can get a better SAM system in future that will make our life much more easier. Ground based air defense is NOT a thing of the past for sure. Need some better SAM systems to make the defense that much more stronger. Turkey and South Africa need to be considered as partners.

P.S. I still have no idea how you or that fiend of your do these simulations. This is using some easily available software or is it a geek thing? Very interesting indeed.
SAM has to be considered as a strategic thing and we need to built it in house. this will need a focus spending of 2-3 billion dollars with dedicated short medium and long range. best option is obviously JV, we have options to join south africa or turkey or get a licence production from china though we would still have problems again down the line due to lack of expertise if we just decide to do licence production

The sim is called strike fighters 2. But this setup s heavily modified from the original
Thanks!

I offered him help from people here if you guys are interested in helping out
Via conmon google drive file or something.

It would be a great project for the forum...
Since Im told the sims is generally modifiable by editing basic ini files on notepad.. with some simple coefficients that control the engine.
Im sure a lot of you guys would understand and we can split up the work?

@Thorough Pro @Hell hound @AUSTERLITZ @CriticalThought and any others.
Excellent idea. I wont be able to do anything if it involved any programming language but since you mentioned that it is just text files and stuff, YES, no issue at all. I suggest that we make a small group, 5-6 people, start a private chat where you or that main guy can give some details of what we have to do exactly, like a briefing or a small training session (a couple of posts) and we can then all get to work. This is the best way to do it. Once we get involved i hope we can run a wide variety of scenarios and it will be great for the forum. May be even bring a few professional in the loop in a few months time (many of us here can ask some guys from PAF to visit and may be we can run few simulations for them too)

@Oscar lets start a private chat, add members who you think can help and once the group is formed we can then tell what exactly needs to be done. A small effort in terms of explaining things will make the job much easier for everyone.

I' like to see PAF strike Package Attacking Indian Assets .. it will be a interesting simulator
can PAF afford to launch an offensive inside the indian territory now? i guess they cant. it is not 65 or 71. indian air space is guarded by radars and SAMs and fighters like su 30 which carry upto 6 BVRAAMs and awacs. so any PAF strike package will be completely annihilated unless they use stealth fighters. PAF has 76 F-16s which are supposed to counter upto 240 Su 30s of the IAF. the addition of rafale will further make the things difficult for PAF. PAF needs more air crafts with capability at least equivalent to F-16 blk 52 or 60 in next 5 years before the induction of some 5th gen jet. things are also not so simple for the IAF . they also have to counter PAF SAMs, AWACS, F-16s with 4 BVRAAMS and JFTs with 2 BVRAAMS. but they have numbers on their side. they can afford loss of jets. even if their couple of strike packages get completely destroyed they will be having enough jets to defend their air space but for PAF the situation is not same. if they lose around 10 F-16s in strike packages then a state of panic will be created in its ranks. and PAF will become totally defensive. so i think in the initial days of the war it is better for PAF to be defensive and use cruise missiles and other land based missiles against the forward air bases of the IAF. try to destroy maximum IAF attacking jets while conserving her own resources.

i would like to help in it. Let me know what exactly you want me to do. I can work on programming too but on basic level. @Oscar @Arsalan

Will take you in loop soon. It is all basic level stuff any way, no programing required really so it wont be too much of a problem. Will get you involved in this.

We are talking about 2019 and onward scenario. Where India will induct Tejas and Rafaels. Similarly Pakistan will incorporate JF17 Block 3 and some other platform. Also rumor of Pakistan deploying HQ9 cannot be ruled out by that time. Also 3 more Saab Eyrie planes are being inducted. Starting this year.