State of confusion: Excise dept stumped by vehicle tax hike

There are many like you. The worst thing for a ruler is to lie to his own people and give them false hopes and make false promises ........ all this when he doesn't care one bit about their hardship.

Whatever is happening is the result of the loot Mar of chor tabbar and jiyalas you people are like 70 saal ko bhol jao aur 10 months ka hisab do
Bughz Imran main mulk ka khilaf na jao

Sir agriculture isn't some very profitable work unless you own tens of acres and most of Pakistani people related to agriculture are small farmers agriculture and Pakistan have only one major industry which is related to agriculture and don't try to break the back of agriculture taxing agricultural is like maray huay ko marna
now you would say there are people who own thousands of acres but still they are nothing in front of industrialists

You are mistaken if you think I am talking about farmers and peasants. We all know who the agriculturists in this country are, they buy MPAs and MNAs, they control the prices of chicken, egg, dairy, sugar, wheat and fruits in this country.

Just tell me how many of the MNAs in this current parliament have job backgrounds?

Whatever is happening is the result of the loot Mar of chor tabbar and jiyalas you people are like 70 saal ko bhol jao aur 10 months ka hisab do
Bughz Imran main mulk ka khilaf na jao

Hub e Imran may mulk ki mat bajao please.

When they have taken all these steps in haste without giving it a proper thought ....... why not go for demonetization. Doodh ka doodh pani ka pani ho jy ga. These draconian decisions to crush the middle class and poor when the elites hardly feel any burden should immediately stop.

Well, I have been suggesting for long to discontinue bank notes over Rs. 100, Replace paper base prize bonds with digital linked with CNIC to bring everyone (poor and rich alike) in system. Personally, I am only concerned with increase of indirect taxes as those will put extra burden on me, Withholding tax is no issue for me as it doesn't put any extra burden other than hassle of waiting for fiscal year to end to claim refund and than wait FBR to process it. But people who don't file returns, surely withholding tax is burden for them being filer I am happy that non-filers are being punished in someway otherwise there's no point in being law abiding citizen.

You are mistaken if you think I am talking about farmers and peasants. We all know who the agriculturists in this country are, they buy MPAs and MNAs, they control the prices of chicken, egg, dairy, sugar, wheat and fruits in this country.

Just tell me how many of the MNAs in this current parliament have job backgrounds?

I don't know why you people are against these land owning mna and mpa the most corrupt politicians are karobari hazrat like ganjas
these business men politicians introduced corruption in politics
and most of these politicians own few hundred acres
but few very corrupt politicians like Zardari own thousands of acres as per Imran Khan Zardari owns 1 lakh acres

As I said government must also ensure that people specially salaried person whose income tax is already deducted from salaries and deposited should have option to provide the proof of any withholding tax they paid to their employers, and employers should adjust it against income tax they are deducting from salary. The entrepreneurs always have option to less the withholding taxes from their income tax liability. The people who don't file returns (in other words who don't tell how much they earned, how much tax they paid or haven't paid anything) will not be able to get withholding tax refund - and I don't have any sympathy for those people even if he is my brother.

Unlike GST, ED and indirect taxes, duties and surcharges - Withholding tax (aka Advance Income Tax) isn't extra burden as it's adjustable against income tax, However there should be fast tracked system in place to adjust it against income tax specially for people whose taxes are deducted at source (i.e. Salaried persons) and getting refund in case if someone have paid extra tax (currently FBR take 4-5 months to process the withholding tax refunds). Return filing system should also be integrated to automatically include withholding taxes paid by person on different things as FBR already have this data.
Bhai tum istara karo salaried class ko chod dou, pehlei hi itnei zaida taxes un par.. aur daaal dou. The biggest problem makers are the business men and the agriculture sector where we don't get most of our taxes from. Bhai apni gali kei bahir niklo aur dekho koei dukaan daar taxes ni dei rha. Sirf salaried class ki chudi ja rhi hai is mulk mei.

FBR is sitting on hundreds of billions of rupees of tax refunds so even if it is adjustable in theory in practice you can't get your money back!

Anyway I think is a mistake on the part of the FBR and no more. Such a large increase does sound unlikely.

Well, I have been suggesting for long to discontinue bank notes over Rs. 100, Replace paper base prize bonds with digital linked with CNIC to bring everyone (poor and rich alike) in system. Personally, I am only concerned with increase of indirect taxes as those will put extra burden on me, Withholding tax is no issue for me as it doesn't put any extra burden other than hassle of waiting for fiscal year to end to claim refund and than wait FBR to process it. But people who don't file returns, surely withholding tax is burden for them being filer I am happy that non-filers are being punished in someway otherwise there's no point in being law abiding citizen.

I have no issues with filing returns and them withholding taxes at payment stage, but I do have issues with the same inept corrupt inefficient FBR institution and FBR walas being imposed on us. I have issues with extra withholding and that amount not being refunded to me in time. I have issues with these hasty decisions and steps, I have issues with them not paying any attention to the hardship they are creating in process for the poor of this society.

Bhai tum istara karo salaried class ko chod dou, pehlei hi itnei zaida taxes un par.. aur daaal dou. The biggest problem makers are the business men and the agriculture sector where we don't get most of our taxes from. Bhai apni gali kei bahir niklo aur dekho koei dukaan daar taxes ni dei rha. Sirf salaried class ki chudi ja rhi hai is mulk mei.

Dude, I have all my sympathies with salaried person but same time I am angry on them because they don't file tax returns despite that they are paying income tax or not in income tax slab. Once millions of salaried persons start filing tax returns than we will be strong voice to make government adjust withholding taxes for us during the year against our income tax being deducted from salaries, or refund it in case person is earning less than taxable income.

That's the thing. Most salaried class are paying taxes. They are deducted from their pays without their control. Now because of some salaried class not filling taxes, most of us are facing the repercussions. Why is government not going after Business men and shopkeepers who don't pay taxes? FBR always goes after salaried class cuz its just easier to get taxes from us.

next up ..

non filers cant take a leak in public toilets

pay tax and breathe air

take a dump ? pay up taxes sir ,,,

That's never going to happen in a low iq nation like Pak. Govt here is always short sighted and will sell out for a few bills. Stop comparing us to Europe or Japan. We are a different ppl. We cannot delay gratification. We think short term. We need a unique solution.

Happens everywhere in the world so its a good decision indeed. Government should facilitate tax filers and middle class by reducing this tax but impose heavy taxes on non-tax filers excluding widows and unemployed people.

Well, I have been suggesting for long to discontinue bank notes over Rs. 100

This is a bad idea because:

- Central bank makes profit selling currency notes. The higher the face value the more profit it makes. Central bank profits go to the govt. so this will reduce govt. non tax revenue.

- People will park their money in dollars instead. This will lead to further depreciation of the pak rupee.

Regarding prize bonds the recent crackdown on them has also led to dollarization. The govt. shot itself in the foot doing this.

That's the thing. Most salaried class are paying taxes. They are deducted from their pays without their control. Now because of some salaried class not filling taxes, most of us are facing the repercussions. Why is government not going after Business men and shopkeepers who don't pay taxes? FBR always goes after salaried class cuz its just easier to get taxes from us.

1. It's not some salaried class don't file returns, It's majority of salaried person who don't do.

2. Unless, I myself isn't filing returns than what moral grounds I have to ask business men, shopkeepers etcs. to do so?. I am paying income tax is not the grounds, because being salaried person I don't get opportunity to evade it otherwise most of salaried persons would not be any different from businessmen, shopkeepers.

3. When I talk about making return filing mandatory for every adult irrespective of their social status and education, people here foolishly start bashing, justifying exception on excuses of being poor, uneducated, housewife etc. when this exception is root cause that non-salaried person get away by not paying due taxes. You can easily find numerous uneducated people earning lot more than salaried persons but not paying any tax, people who should be paying taxes are hiding behind housewives and dependents because as per exception these housewives and dependents are not bound to file returns. Furthermore, only when people are filing returns than state can question people whose life style and assets are contradictory to their file returns, So I am supportive of any step taken by state (doesn't matter who is in government) to encourage return filing and punishing non-filers.