'Starving Bangladesh of beef' would cost India $5 Billion

Still showcasing your stupidity, so you "assumed" we imported 2 million ton of rice only so we could export 40 thousand tons...lol...you really are an imbecile. Let me make it easier so that tiny brain of yours can understand:

1. Bangladesh has achieved self sufficiency in its staple food, rice in the beginning of this decade and produces more rice then it consumes. It is a net exporter of rice not importer...dumbass.
2. The whole of Bangladesh sits in the Ganges delta, the entire nation is an alluvial basin....the worlds most fertile land. Enough fertile land to feed, over 160 million people...understand dumbass?
3. Food items like wheat flower that can't be grown in Bangladesh is imported from the international market.
4. Bangladesh has achieved International trade surplus with fast growing exports, expanding foreign reserves, etc etc I could go on but you won't understand because your an imbecile.
5. Bangladesh imports cattle from india throughout the year, primarily for re-export to the gulf except during Eid when the cattle are used to feed the poor.
6. Bangladesh produces high quality beef for export using cattle feed, from Australia and the U.S. we don't need to grow cattle feed in Bangladesh...again something you won't understand because your an imbecile.

Anyway do carry on in your deluded, world....dumbass

Bangladesh rice imports | Oryza

There has not been a single year even within this decade that Bangladesh has not imported rice. This in addition to wheat and a hell lot of other essential food items that it continuously imports. Hope this shuts you up now idiot.

Again, the fact that 75% to 100% of land area of Bangladesh is degraded despite sitting on an alluvial basin is a shame as this study proves.

http://www.rrcap.ait.asia/pub/soe/bangladesh_land.pdf

Bangladesh rice imports | Oryza

There has not been a single year even within this decade that Bangladesh has not imported rice. This in addition to wheat and a hell lot of other essential food items that it continuously imports. Hope this shuts you up now idiot.

Dumbass, every country imports commodities even those they export. Bangladesh has a fast expanding consumer base, that wants different varieties of rice, some of which are not grown in Bangladesh. These varieties are bought on the international market the same way our rice is sold in the international market...dumbass.
Bangladesh land is so degraded, yet it's food production keeps growing faster and faster, You are just too dumb to understand....

Dumbass, every country imports commodities even those they export. Bangladesh has a fast expanding consumer base, that wants different varieties of rice, some of which are not grown in Bangladesh. These varieties are bought on the international market the same way our rice is sold in the international market...dumbass.
Bangladesh land is so degraded, yet it's food production keeps growing faster and faster, You are just too dumb to understand....

Lying comes naturally to you it seems. Just open the first link of that list of links present in that site.

Bangladesh Rice Import Value Surges Two Fold in First Two Months of FY 2014-15 | Oryza

Also here one more site for you

Bangladesh. Grain and Feed Update. Jan 2015 / News / AgroChart

Executive Summary:

MY 2014/15 (May-April) rice production is forecast slightly down to 34.5 million metric tons (MMT) on lower Aman production. Post raised MY 2013/14 rice imports to 751,000 metric tons (MT) on competitive Indian prices and customs data. MY 2013/14 (July-June) wheat imports are estimated at 3.329 MMT on strong import pace, likely due to competitive international prices and strong Bangladeshi demand. According to the FY 2014-15 budget, the government of Bangladesh (GOB) plans to procure 150,000 and 900,000 MT of wheat, and 1.4 MMT and 200,000 MT of rice from the domestic and international market.

RICE

Production

MY 2014/15 (May-April) rice production is forecast slightly down to 34.5 million metric tons (MMT) on lower Aman production (planted in July/August and harvested in November/December) due to floods in northern Bangladesh. Some farmers around Bogra and Dinajpur also reported disease issues such as rice blast and drought. The MY 2013/14 rice production estimate is unchanged.

Trade

The MY 2014/15 import forecast is unchanged at 500,000 MT based on strong import pace. Post raised MY 2013/14 rice imports to 751,000 MT on competitive Indian prices and customs data. According to the media and official contacts, the GOB has agreed to export 50,000 MT of non-aromatic rice to Sri Lanka; however, it is unclear if the trade deal has been officially finalized. Other media articles noted that a future Sri Lankan delegation will visit Bangladesh to conclude contract details.

Stocks

According to the Ministry of Food (MOF), in December 2014 public stocks are 1.16 MMT, approximately 480,000 MT more than what was available in December 2013.

Prices

According to the media, the GOB will procure Aman rice from November 15, 2014 to February 28, 2015, and is expected to purchase approximately 300,000 MT of rice. Post contacts and the local press noted that the GOB will pay BDT 32 ($.40) per kilogram for husked rice, and BDT 20 ($.25) for unhusked rice. From October to December 2014, prices have started to ease due to Aman harvest.

Policy

The FY 2014-15 budget allocated BDT 49.6 billion ($628 million) for grain procurement, which is 21 percent higher than last year. Moreover, the budget noted it would raise the Government of Bangladesh’s (GOB) public food grain storage capacity to 2.2 million tons by 2015, although no specific allocations were included.

According to the budget, the GOB plans to procure 1.4 million and 200,000 MT of rice from the domestic and international market, which is unchanged from last year’s procurement estimates.

WHEAT

Production

The MY 2013/14 and 2014/15 production estimates are unchanged.

Imports

MY 2013/14 (July-June) wheat imports are estimated at 3.329 MMT on strong import pace, likely due to competitive international prices and strong Bangladeshi demand. For MY 2014/15, Post estimate is unchanged at 3.3 MMT on strong import pace. According to media reports, the GOB plans to import 250,000 MT of wheat from Ukraine through a government-to-government contract, although details on whether the agreement has been finalized is unclear. Other media reports note that the GOB may also explore importing wheat from Russia.

Stocks (done)

According to the MOF, as of the last week of December 2014, public stocks are estimated at 123,000 MT, 57 percent less than last year.

Prices

Average December wholesale and retail prices of coarse wheat flour in Dhaka were BDT 25 ($0.31) and BDT 30 ($0.40) per kilogram, which is 10.7 percent and 6.25 percent lower than last year. For MY 2014/15, strong global production and high global exportable supplies have kept international prices low. Because Bangladesh is a net wheat importer, international prices influence its domestic markets and overall demand.

Policy

According to the FY 2014-15 budget, the GOB plans to procure 150,000 and 900,000 MT of wheat from the domestic and international market, which is unchanged from last year’s procurement estimates

So your govt plans to export 50,000 tons of non-aromatic rice while it plans to import 750,000 Rice. Mind you not any fancy variety of rice, just plain simple rice. So that makes you of course self-sufficient in food and a net food exporter - NOT.

That is 4 million tons of wheat and almost 1 million tons of rice imported by Bangladesh, a so called food self-sufficient country.

And like I have said before, my beef is with cows alone. :D

Beef industry thrives on males of the species, same applies to buffalos and goats also! That's why I keep saying that it has barely anything to do with the religious sensitivities, but people start dragging cows into the discussion and start talking about gau-mata and milk etc. And that's why I am also against the recent ban on slaughtering of bulls & bullocks in Maharashtra & Haryana, cow slaughtering is already banned in both places for decades now, and that should have been enough. This ban on bulls & bullocks will cause lesser harm to the beef traders because they will use more buffalos, but it will be a double whammy for the poor villagers irrespective of their religions who not only won't be able to sell their unproductive livestock (bulls & bullocks) to earn some much needed money, but they have to spend money on them for 15-20 years till they die naturally.

Besides, it will be an additional burden on the already strained environment for continuously supplying additional food and water to crores of additional bulls & bullocks, and they are not frugal eaters! :)

Beef industry thrives on males of the species, same applies to buffalos and goats also! That's why I keep saying that it has barely anything to do with the religious sensitivities, but people start dragging cows into the discussion and start talking about gau-mata and milk etc. And that's why I am also against the recent ban on slaughtering of bulls & bullocks in Maharashtra & Haryana, cow slaughtering is already banned in both places for decades now, and that should have been enough. This ban on bulls & bullocks will cause lesser harm to the beef traders because they will use more buffalos, but it will be a double whammy for the poor villagers irrespective of their religions who not only won't be able to sell their unproductive livestock (bulls & bullocks) to earn some much needed money, but they have to spend money on them for 15-20 years till they die naturally.

Besides, it will be an additional burden on the already strained environment for continuously supplying additional food and water to crores of additional bulls & bullocks, and they are not frugal eaters! :)

cows/bulls/buffaloes eat only as much as they want when they work or dont,but the cattle raised for beef is made to eat a lot more to make the meat fatty.

so,it is better to kill the habit early in India,unless we want to end up as a country of lazy slobs.

cows/bulls/buffaloes eat only as much as they want when they work or dont,but the cattle raised for beef is made to eat a lot more to make the meat fatty.

so,it is better to kill the habit early in India,unless we want to end up as a country of lazy slobs.

In India cattle are not raised for beef, beef is the by-product of world's largest cattle producing country. Using the bulls & bullocks for beef actually saves those natural resources than to increase its usage. And beef consumption in India is very low, most go for exports.

Btw, are you suggesting killing of bulls & bullocks at birth?

Beef industry thrives on males of the species, same applies to buffalos and goats also! That's why I keep saying that it has barely anything to do with the religious sensitivities, but people start dragging cows into the discussion and start talking about gau-mata and milk etc. And that's why I am also against the recent ban on slaughtering of bulls & bullocks in Maharashtra & Haryana, cow slaughtering is already banned in both places for decades now, and that should have been enough.

Gau mata needs husband. There must be no argument on this.

Only a handful of them serve as 'husbands', rest are castrated, bulls with balls are quite aggressive and unmanageable, you know! :)

if bulls/buffaloes destroyed natural cover then india would have been a desert long back.

dont give mullah zakir naik logic that if u dont eat the cows,they ll eat all the green grass around.

shows what happens when you sit on your *** and gorge red meat all day.

'Starving Bangladesh of beef' would cost India Rs 31,000 crore

NEW DELHI: Home Minister Rajnath Singh on Wednesday asked BSF jawans to put a stop to cattle smuggling across the Indo-Bangla border and stifle it so severely that people in Bangladesh stop eating beef. However, if BSF were to implement Singh's instructions strictly, India would be saddled with an additional expenditure in excess of Rs 31,000 crore annually.

This would be the cost of sustaining around 1.25 crore cattle in various gaushalas (cowsheds) annually till they die naturally. The figure is four times higher than the allocation made by the government for nutrition of children under Integrated Child Development Scheme.

READ ALSO: Rajnath Singh to BSF — Halt cattle smuggling, starve Bangladesh of beef

Every year, on an average, close to 25 lakh cattle are smuggled from India to Bangladesh illegally across the border. It is alleged that much of this happens with the connivance of those guarding the border--a charge denied by BSF. However, sources say, the sheer economics of the trade make it near impossible to stop cattle smuggling across Indo-Bangla border.

Processed cattle meat is a multi-million dollar industry in Bangladesh with India as the prime source of cattle. What, perhaps, the minister was not briefed about by his officials is that a large part of this is not eaten in Bangladesh but exported to Gulf countries. Most Bangladeshis, according to reportage in that country's media, still can't afford to eat beef regularly and do so only during festivities and other celebrations.

"There is economic pressure on both sides of the border. While there is massive demand in Bangladesh, there is matching supply from India as dairies and independent cattle-rearers can't afford to feed their animals after they have gone dry. Then we have friendly relations with Bangladesh and we are not supposed to fire lethal weapons at smugglers unless attacked. In fact, our men carry non-lethal weapons on Bangladesh border. All of this facilitates the illegal trade. Unless a practical solution is found to feed these dry cows, this is unlikely to stop," said a BSF officer.​
46790350.cms

That is where the figure of Rs 31,000 crore comes in. Life expectancy of cows in India varies between 15 and 20 years. Dairy industry sources say they generally stop producing milk about five years before their death. With 25 lakh cattle approaching borders every year, if government puts a complete stop to cattle smuggling it would be saddled with 1.25 crore dry cattle to feed annually. Given that cumulative cost (maintenance of cowshed, payment of salaries to cowherds and feed) of sustaining a dry cow for a year would translate to roughly Rs 25,000, government would have to shell out Rs 31,250 crore annually, say industry sources.

The cost of acquiring land for cowsheds and initial investment in building the infrastructure has to be additionally incurred.

Addressing BSF jawans at a border outpost in West Bengal on Wednesday, Singh (as quoted by agencies) said, "I am told prices of beef in Bangladesh have gone up by 30% recently due to heightened vigil by BSF against cattle smuggling. You further intensify your vigil so that the cattle smuggling stops completely and prices of beef in Bangladesh escalates 70%-80% more so that people of Bangladesh give up eating beef."

Source:- 'Starving Bangladesh of beef' would cost India Rs 31,000 crore - The Times of India

All for milk. :P

Mere saath chalta hai India, Amul dudh peeta hai India.

if bulls/buffaloes destroyed natural cover then india would have been a desert long back.

dont give mullah zakir naik logic that if u dont eat the cows,they ll eat all the green grass around.

shows what happens when you sit on your *** and gorge red meat all day.

So far we haven't accumulated those bulls and bullocks to see what happens to the eco-system. Crores of extra cattle will have some impact on the environment, but that's a secondary consideration.

And you also gave that logic in your previous post no. 95. And I am quite good at insulting people online, so don't try that path chaddi.

hardly,i come from a agricultural background in a village and ours bulls/cows never went for slaughter,only for ploughing.

u r quite good at insulting?

hahahaha.

PS: Tu chaadi nahi pehnta kya?bahuth thappad khaata hoga bus mein,auraton se.

hardly,i come from a agricultural background in a village and ours bulls/cows never went for slaughter,only for ploughing.

u r quite good at insulting?

hahahaha.

PS: Tu chaadi nahi pehnta kya?bahuth thappad khaata hoga bus mein,auraton se.

All those millions of bulls going to Bangladesh fall from the sky then. And India became world's no.1 beef producer and exporter by slaughtering cabbages.

PS: mein tujh jaisa chutiya nehi hun ki bus mein ledkiyon ki piche lagata firu, shows the kind of person you are. Not interested to continued this stupid conversation with you.

hahahaha.

what a comeback except that u never came back.

That's why I don't engage morons with poor comprehension skills and dismal logical thinking abilities in any discussion. Waste of time.