beijingwalker

China
Singapore urges US to accept China's rise, spare other nations

THU, MAY 16, 2019 - 11:28 AM

BP_Vivian%20Balakrishnan_160519_90_0.jpg

Speaking to an audience in Washington on Wednesday, Singapore's Foreign Minister Vivian Balakrishnan said it won't work to view China as an adversary that must be contained and called for "constructive competition" between the superpowers.
PHOTO: ST FILE

[WASHINGTON] Singapore urged the US to allow China to have a greater say in shaping global rules to avoid a prolonged clash that could force smaller countries to choose between the world's biggest economies.

Speaking to an audience in Washington on Wednesday, Singapore's Foreign Minister Vivian Balakrishnan said it won't work to view China as an adversary that must be contained, and called for "constructive competition" between the superpowers.

A world that splits into rival blocs would jeopardise gains made under the US-led world order over the past 70 years, he said.

"My appeal to the United States is to double down, reap the rewards together," Mr Balakrishnan said at an event hosted by the Center for International and Strategic Studies.

"Singapore wants both a sustained US presence, which we believe is positive, and we also want China to be able to assume its rightful place as it develops and becomes a superpower in its own right,'' he said.

China is highly unlikely to undermine the US-led global system given it has been one of its biggest beneficiaries, Mr Balakrishnan said. However, he added, it's "an entirely legitimate expectation on the part of China" to have the right to revise global rules since it didn't have a say when they were first written decades ago.

Failure to strike a deal will disproportionately impact trade-reliant countries like Singapore, he said, adding that protracted talks have already created "great uncertainty and volatility for the markets".

"For us in the middle, especially for small countries, we do not wish to be forced into making invidious choices," Mr Balakrishnan said.

"So we hope that both sides will work out a strategic response and take into account China's increasing influence and weight in the international arena, and that both sides will find a way to accommodate each others' legitimate interests."

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/go...-us-to-accept-chinas-rise-spare-other-nations

Speaking to an audience in Washington on Wednesday, Singapore's Foreign Minister Vivian Balakrishnan said it won't work to view China as an adversary that must be contained and called for "constructive competition" between the superpowers.

[WASHINGTON] Singapore urged the US to allow China to have a greater say in shaping global rules to avoid a prolonged clash that could force smaller countries to choose between the world's biggest economies.

Speaking to an audience in Washington on Wednesday, Singapore's Foreign Minister Vivian Balakrishnan said it won't work to view China as an adversary that must be contained, and called for "constructive competition" between the superpowers.

A world that splits into rival blocs would jeopardise gains made under the US-led world order over the past 70 years, he said.

"My appeal to the United States is to double down, reap the rewards together," Mr Balakrishnan said at an event hosted by the Center for International and Strategic Studies.

"Singapore wants both a sustained US presence, which we believe is positive, and we also want China to be able to assume its rightful place as it develops and becomes a superpower in its own right,'' he said.

China is highly unlikely to undermine the US-led global system given it has been one of its biggest beneficiaries, Mr Balakrishnan said. However, he added, it's "an entirely legitimate expectation on the part of China" to have the right to revise global rules since it didn't have a say when they were first written decades ago.

Failure to strike a deal will disproportionately impact trade-reliant countries like Singapore, he said, adding that protracted talks have already created "great uncertainty and volatility for the markets".

"For us in the middle, especially for small countries, we do not wish to be forced into making invidious choices," Mr Balakrishnan said.

"So we hope that both sides will work out a strategic response and take into account China's increasing influence and weight in the international arena, and that both sides will find a way to accommodate each others' legitimate interests."

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/go...-us-to-accept-chinas-rise-spare-other-nations
What on earth is this :-)man thinking?:crazy:,does he really think that by using :smart:logic and commonsense:smart: he can get through to the :hitwall::usflag:americans? :sarcastic:LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL:haha:......etc,etc.
Poor,poor deluded fool:jester:..
:tsk:

China is all about "together we contribute, together we build and together we share".
United States is AMERICA FIRST :usflag:

Who would you choose ? :-)
America first!
usflag.gif

Seems like there is another candidate for regime change on the list.

lol

Lagta hai kai koi bhool giya hai kai wo Pakistani hai, Amreeki nahi.
:rofl::rofl::rofl::tongue:

The dollar is like heroine yaar, just can't get enough, the more you have the crazier you become until you become a neocon.

What on earth is this :-)man thinking?:crazy:,does he really think that by using :smart:logic and commonsense:smart: he can get through to the :hitwall::usflag:americans? :sarcastic:LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL:haha:......etc,etc.
Poor,poor deluded fool:jester:..
:tsk:

US transportation industry is about to be tanked---. Large transportation / trucking companies have are going out of busines---because they don't have loads to pick up---because lesser chinese ships are coming it.

Small trucking companies have already started to shut down the hatches---.

Business has changed right up there to nothing within one months---.

Together in your example = Han only allowed
More choose America, More want to be our allies, the when we have NATO.
By your logic,America First means white men first in america and God it is true.

On the contrary,in China,minority chineses have more previliges than ordinary Han chineses during job hiring,univeristy entrance examination,medicial insurance,etc.

NATO means follow our orders or be destroyed.
Not a civilization manner but military threat.
Which means no choice to other countries at all.

Iraq and afganisthan gov have no choices but to follow the blueprints set up by US army occupation authorities.

US transportation industry is about to be tanked---. Large transportation / trucking companies have are going out of busines---because they don't have loads to pick up---because lesser chinese ships are coming it.

Small trucking companies have already started to shut down the hatches---.

Business has changed right up there to nothing within one months---.
Trump is an idiot and destroying US economy. If trade war was such a great idea then why did no other PoTUS or EU figure it out and use it? The orange baboon is mentally retarded and not many US think tanks have supported the idea except few WASPs who see the world through racial angle and hence the statement "China is the first non-Causcasian superpower" and these low-lives don't know the history of the world that Persian Empire, Islamic Empire, Ottoman empire were all superpowers of their times.

American does not care other cultures as well as their values coz eventually they can surpass them by military force as they did so in Iraq, Afghanistan, Liberia, Syria, maybe to Iran as well. Which makes US the most aggressive superpower after UK.

He is very smart for himself---. He is waiting for the market to crash---so that his company can pickup businesses and property real cheap---.

The employment report does not reflect the truth---. There is gloom in the transportation industry big time---.

American does not care other cultures as well as their values coz eventually they can surpass them by military force as they did so in Iraq, Afghanistan, Liberia, Syria, maybe to Iran as well. Which makes US the most aggressive superpower after UK.
I lived in that country for a good part of my life and there are a lot of amazing people as well but unfortunately it is run by WASPs + Zionists

I was in France for the half a year, they are more open mind people than Americans.
To summerize, American believe this planet belongs to them, others countries are just its guests.
I used to admire Americans when I was 18 to 25, but now really dislike America when knowing them better and deeper.

People like you and me would have the Freedom to be shot to death by white policemen on streets hahahahaha.

On US streets of course.

American culture is a culture worship violations and conquer.

If USA treats Singapore exports and Singapore investors the way China treats them he will sing a different tune

He is very smart for himself---. He is waiting for the market to crash---so that his company can pickup businesses and property real cheap---.

The employment report does not reflect the truth---. There is gloom in the transportation industry big time---.
It is strange that gov is unable to do anything against his corruption and sexual transgressions ..US gov looks helpless before him while it showed a lot of courage and resilience against previous presidents.