Sikh Light Infantry & Sikh Regiment - Indian Army

nice......
if i seriously tell u then in this sub continent i only luv two ppl. one is pathan and second is sardars. both of them dont compromise when it comes to honour but otherwise fulltime mussttttt:partay:

Lol, what an ignorant thing to say!

And by Sardars do you mean the Tribesmen of western Pakistan? Because the Sikhs are in NO way Sardars!

The Sikhs originated in hatred and opposition to Muslims! They stole and killed too many innocent Muslims!

These Sikhs that eat meat, will eat any meat except Halal meat! If you read their books it is mostly in opposition ot the Muslims! Go on love them, lol!

Yes you many only like them and Pathans... And dislike the hundreds of millions of Muslims! But that only shows your ignorance!

As a Muslim I love all Muslims first!

Personally I have more respect for Hindus than Sikhs!

One of the reasons being most Hindus don't take the works of our Muslim-Saints and twist them with their garbage ritualistic beliefs!

This is how much the people you only love, respect the holy Qa'ba of Islam:

The Qazi took hold of the Guru’s feet. He dragged them in the opposite direction. Then he lifted his eyes. He saw the Kaaba standing in the direction of the Guru’s feet. He turned the Guru’s feet in another direction. The Kaaba was seen standing in that direction. Qazi dragged the Guru’s feet to this side and that. He dragged them round and round. The Kaaba was seen to be going round and round. It was always, in the direction of the Guru’s feet. His feet were always towards the Kaaba. The Qazi was struck with wonder. He then recognised the glory of Guru Nanak.

http://www.sikhiwiki.org/index.php/Guru_Nanak_in_Mecca

PS: The Muslims of the Sub-Continent are the only ones I love (Punjabis, Sindhis, Balochis, Kashmiris, Pathans, etc.)

They are the only ones who never compromise honour! :D

And by Sardars do you mean the Tribesmen of western Pakistan? Because the Sikhs are in NO way Sardars!

The Sikhs originated in hatred and opposition to Muslims! They stole and killed too many innocent Muslims!

These Sikhs that eat meat, will eat any meat except Halal meat! If you read their books it is mostly in opposition ot the Muslims! Go on love them, lol!

Yes you many only like them and Pathans... And dislike the hundreds of millions of Muslims! But that only shows your ignorance!

One of the reasons being Hindus don't take the works of our Muslim-Saints and twist them with their garbage ritualistic beliefs!
:what:

Excuse me! That was a bit offensive.

In India there are two communities which command a lot of respect

1)Punjab puttars: People will remember them when they think of the Indian Fauji

2)Parsis:They taught the Indians Philantrophy and Enetrpreneurship

Just ignore the trolls, ignoring them is the best remedy for thier disease.
Stay on topic and debate with logic and report troll to the MODS. :cheers:

When did I become a troll?

It's only according to you (the real troll), and the dozens of Indian-Trolls that pollute this forum!

No worries, what I said was the truth, whether fools like you like it or not! :coffee:

1. Sikh should be non-veg, if started eating meat, then it doesnt matter Halal etc, next time you should ask simple question - 'your religion allows killing animals ?' thats enough to proove double standards.

2. Not opposite to peace loving Musalman, Aurangzeb, who was in present day North West Frontier Province of Pakistan subduing Pushtun rebellion, innocent ? We worship Baba Farid, considered one of the fifteen Sikh Bhagats within Sikhism and his selected works form part of the Guru Granth Sahib, the Sikh sacred scripture.

3. Sikhs have only killed Musalmans who have tried to rape Hindu women, tried to change their religion. Thats why also known as "Hind Di Chadar" ie to save Hinduism, Guru Ji gave his life.

You need to study more, reading one page is not enough. If holy book said 1 bad thing abt Musalman like Aurangzeb then it has many mentions of good Musalman also.

So stop this hatred, and 1 thing more, search 'Malerkotla' in Google, Its Indian Punjab city, when the younger sons of 10th Sikh Guru, Guru Gobind Singh, were ordered to be bricked alive by the governor of Sirhind, Wazir Khan, his close relative, Sher Mohammed Khan, Nawab of Malerkotla, who was present in the court, lodged vehement protest against this inhuman act and said it is against the glorious tenets of Quran and Islam. Wazir Khan nevertheless had the Sahibzadas tortured and bricked into a section of wall while still alive. At this the noble Nawab of Malerkotla walked out of the court in protest.

Guru Gobind Singh on learning this kind and humanitarian approach profusely thanked the Nawab of Malerkotla and blessed him with his Hukamnama. In recognition of this act, the State of Malerkotla did not witness a single incident of violence during partition. :smitten:

After Partition, Nawab of Malerkotla was elected more than once on Akali Dal ticket to the Legislative Assembly. This was in token of the gratitude towards Nawab Sher Mohmmad Khan.

On 16th February 1994 at Gurdwara Akal Gadh, Ludhiana, in a historical conference, President of United States Mr. Bill Clinton was conferred the title “Nawab Malerkotla” for his sympathy towards the innocent and indiscriminate killings in Punjab. The Nawab who protested against the killing of younger sons of Guru Sahib.

As of 2001 India census, Malerkotla had a population of 106,802. In the Indian Punjabi city of Malerkotla, sixty-five percent of the total population is Muslim and out of this population, twenty percent are Punjabi Pathan and the rest are predominantly Sikh.

The 6th Guru Shri Guru Hargobind constructed a Mosque at village Hargobind Pur of Gurdas Pur district of Punjab. This was constructed with the contributions of Daswandh of the Sikhs and they built it with their “Kar Seva” (voluntarily service by hands), which was famous as “ Guru Ki Masjid ”.

Shri Guru Granth Sahib is an inter-religious and multi-lingual, Universal Scripture of mankind that preaches a Muslim to be a true Muslim and a Hindu to be a true Hindu. And for the Sikh to be above the discrimination of gender, caste, creed, religion, region, nation.

:D

You know, a lot of the stuff about the 'Great Sikh, Pathan and Gurkha soldiers ' is nothing more than a regurgitation of the 'Martial races' theory, with some shades of '1 of X = 10 of Y'.

Are people actually arguing that the Sikhs, Gurkhas and Pathans have some sort of physical and/or mental superiority over the other ethnic and/or cultural groups (I include 'cultural' since Sikhs are the same ethnicity as many Pakistani Punjabis)?

If you people are not arguing in favor of physical and mental superiority of one race/ethnicity over another, then would it not be true that given the same levels of training, commitment and equipment, any other ethnicity would perform at the same levels as the 'mythical' Sikh, Pathan and Gurkha soldier?

Excellent post. I have often thought the same myself.

A bit of historical perspective - before 1857 a high percentage of soldiers in the British Army (actually the East India Company's army) came from Avadh (modern day Uttar Pradesh in North India) and Bengal.

During 1857 and the War Of Independence/ Mutiny (whichever way you look at it), it was found that the bulk of the rebels were naturally from Avadh and Bengal.

After 1857 the British drastically cut down on Avadhi and Bengali regiments because of associations with rebellions.

They increased recruitment from among the Sikhs and the Gurkhas - two groups that sided with the British in 1857.

It was the Brits that popularized the concept of martial races.

Even today there are comparatively fewer Bengali regiments and/or recruits from UP in the Indian army.

In fact, while I cannot speak for today's IA, I recall that there was a good natured put down of Bengalis a while back. 'They can't fight', was more or less the general belief. Note- I am only speaking of a perception, not whether it was a reality.

So are we to believe that the Bengalis and Avadhis were martial races before 1857 and suddenly became non martial races after 1857?

The truth is that, with training, any race or group can fight and fight well.

When did I become a troll?

It's only according to you (the real troll), and the dozens of Indian-Trolls that pollute this forum!

No worries, what I said was the truth, whether fools like you like it or not! :coffee:

I guess you dont know what "troll" means, let me help you. If you want to discuss something in civil manner, open a new thread and I will more than happy to enlighten you.:coffee:

a troll is someone who posts controversial, inflammatory, irrelevant or off-topic messages in an online community, such as an online discussion forum, chat room or blog, with the primary intent of provoking other users into an emotional or disciplinary response[1] or of otherwise disrupting normal on-topic discussion.

0e526ec359999ca43738bc362535d3c5.jpg

b9281c5a2fe3390ce47e140fe0d4d13b.jpg

f206ae116884b26527129d5654c81f10.jpg

f27ee5cf6198f795cf118a14a6197016.jpg

Sikhs in Paris, France. World War II

1da5ce18336be8289f4c48e3dfe462a7.jpg

Punjab Regiment

077e1bc980d24d52c7fb361a10703364.jpg

You know, a lot of the stuff about the 'Great Sikh, Pathan and Gurkha soldiers ' is nothing more than a regurgitation of the 'Martial races' theory, with some shades of '1 of X = 10 of Y'.

Are people actually arguing that the Sikhs, Gurkhas and Pathans have some sort of physical and/or mental superiority over the other ethnic and/or cultural groups (I include 'cultural' since Sikhs are the same ethnicity as many Pakistani Punjabis)?

If you people are not arguing in favor of physical and mental superiority of one race/ethnicity over another, then would it not be true that given the same levels of training, commitment and equipment, any other ethnicity would perform at the same levels as the 'mythical' Sikh, Pathan and Gurkha soldier?

AM....I think since the birth of Sikh Religion is based on a Martial Tradition, there is a propensity for Sikhs to be Martially oriented or have traditions of being in the armed forces.....This does not make them martially superior but does give them a sense of pride in giving their life for honor....which itself is a trademark of a good soldier!!!

Where I come from, we refer to them as the Warrior Saints....

I think the Martial Races theory is a bunch of bull.....and like a small cornered dog can fend off an attack by a big dog, I feel all humans have it in them....

"Its not the size of the dog in a fight, its the size of the fight in the dog"

If you look at Indians History, although the Sikhs were considered the most vicious and "martial" of Indian races, Marathas that were not considered a Martial race were most successful fighters conquering a majority portion of India, responsible for the downfall of the Mughal Empire, fending off the Pathan invaders and even subduing the Sikh confederacy......

Gurkhas on the other hand have a tradition of loyalty to this day.....
Their martial prowess is an element of their will to never give up till the last drop of blood is drained from their body.....
But as far as Physical characteristics that one would consider imporatant to being Martial, I dont think thats necessarily true for Gurkhas.....
The staff that works at my house back home is entirely Gurkha......One of the most honest people ever....

I am Proud that India has such sons to protect it!!!!

West Pak Tribals are known by so many epithets that I wonder if they took the title "Sardar" from Sikhs.......hmmm....

Fact could be that Sikhs kept challenging the influences that came from west of India every which way but the way of their adversary.

Oh is that so. And we Indians are taught in our history books that Sikhism came into being because of the twin pressure of the Islamic fundamentalism and the weaknesses of the Castist and Ritualistic Hinduism.....hmmmm wonder what could have been the common link in both these aspects.

Must be the point that you are trying to make.

These Sikhs that eat meat, will eat any meat except Halal meat!

Sikhs dont eat halal meat because they are taught not to be allow ritualistic practices in there religion. Also avoidance of halal meat is not the most important thing for Indians including Sikhs. Most meat vendors in India today are muslims and halal is what they vend. More important question about dietary habits that bothers most educated Indians is "Vegetarianism or not?"

If you read their books it is mostly in opposition ot the Muslims! Go on love them, lol!

Ok now you get the Oscar.
Sikh religious book takes its inspiration from many different sources. Hindus (including dalit sages) , Islamic and there own fertile enough brain power.

No wonder

One of the reasons being most Hindus don't take the works of our Muslim-Saints and twist them with their garbage ritualistic beliefs!

Boy you really have no idea of Hinduism.
Just look at it this way, the biggest and most complete philosophical challenge that has ever been put up before Abrahamic religions is put up by a religion that does not even have its own name (Hindus is what you guys call us and we accept that, Also the epithet Indians to which we again agree for the simple reason that our fight is on some other battlefield.)

This is how much the people you only love, respect the holy Qa'ba of Islam:
The official historian of Qasim has mentioned that Indians used to visit Qaba (we can safely assume, with a lot of reverence as a mark of respect to the religion of the people they had their sea trade with. The people that were there before Qasim and ilk came along and based on the goodwill of whom Keralites allowed the early Abrahmic religions to take root in India thinking that these religions were an organic and natural growth of what and who they had been dealing with.)

The story you are quoting is allegorical and is meant to get a point across that even children in India understant and that obviously was too much for you and the likes of you.

PS: The Muslims of the Sub-Continent are the only ones I love (Punjabis, Sindhis, Balochis, Kashmiris, Pathans, etc.)

They are the only ones who never compromise honour! :D

LOL

Burma War.

Sikhs with camouflaged turbans mop up Japanese snipers trenches in pomegranate gardens at Shwegyin, howling "Saat siri akal" (God be with us!).

270e86332c8f941f58207df4de1c819e.jpg

its not it that they are only great soldiers but they very very "zindadil" and hospitable people. when you visit a sikh family in punjab make sure you have 'churan' aur 'haajmaula'.:D