Sikh Light Infantry & Sikh Regiment - Indian Army

2ad77be37f78877252f3fd73132acf33.jpg

French postcard depicting the arrival of 15th Sikh Regiment in France during World War I. The post card reads, "Gentlemen of India marching to chasten the German hooligans"

You know, a lot of the stuff about the 'Great Sikh, Pathan and Gurkha soldiers ' is nothing more than a regurgitation of the 'Martial races' theory, with some shades of '1 of X = 10 of Y'.

Are people actually arguing that the Sikhs, Gurkhas and Pathans have some sort of physical and/or mental superiority over the other ethnic and/or cultural groups (I include 'cultural' since Sikhs are the same ethnicity as many Pakistani Punjabis)?

If you people are not arguing in favor of physical and mental superiority of one race/ethnicity over another, then would it not be true that given the same levels of training, commitment and equipment, any other ethnicity would perform at the same levels as the 'mythical' Sikh, Pathan and Gurkha soldier?

You know, a lot of the stuff about the 'Great Sikh, Pathan and Gurkha soldiers ' is nothing more than a regurgitation of the 'Martial races' theory, with some shades of '1 of X = 10 of Y'.

Are people actually arguing that the Sikhs, Gurkhas and Pathans have some sort of physical and/or mental superiority over the other ethnic and/or cultural groups (I include 'cultural' since Sikhs are the same ethnicity as many Pakistani Punjabis)?

If you people are not arguing in favor of physical and mental superiority of one race/ethnicity over another, then would it not be true that given the same levels of training, commitment and equipment, any other ethnicity would perform at the same levels as the 'mythical' Sikh, Pathan and Gurkha soldier?

No sir, we are just admiring those noble and excellent soldiers who sacrifice there life for the sake of our nation !

Starting from here:

Sikhs have always been a noble people and excellent soldiers.
But gorkha's are all mean and ruthless,never seen them smiling ! :devil:

Are other peoples of Pakistan and India not 'noble' and incapable of being 'excellent soldiers'?

Or is it that the Sikh have a a larger propensity than most to aspire to nobility and martial prowess?

And what of the 'mean and ruthless Gurkha'?

I am uncertain if that is a compliment or an insult - are Gurkhas alone as a people capable of ruthlessness and ignobility?

Much of the rest of your posts (and I understand they were quotes of others, Pakistani and Western) smell of the same 'martial race complex'.

calm down sir,

Are other peoples of Pakistan and India not 'noble' and incapable of being 'excellent soldiers'?

Or is it that the Sikh have a a larger propensity than most to aspire to nobility and martial prowess?

Did i say so ? :what:

I am uncertain if that is a compliment or an insult - are Gurkhas alone as a people capable of ruthlessness and ignobility?

It was a compliment actually ! i didnt say others aren't capable of being ruthless .Being capable is one thing , but doing it is another, for which the gorkha's or Gurkha's are known for !

Much of the rest of your posts (and I understand they were quotes of others, Pakistani and Western) smell of the same 'martial race complex'

you got me wrong ! I will admire any soldier , who fight's for his respective nation .Every one has there own individual opinions, you have your's and I have mine !

hope u dont ban me for this ! :undecided:

regards,

Starting from here:

Much of the rest of your posts (and I understand they were quotes of others, Pakistani and Western) smell of the same 'martial race complex'.

I don't know abt Martial races.... I think Sikh.. Jatt.. Gurkhas... Rajputs... Have natural tilt towrds this kind of trait.... at least in india.... In India if we see sikh on one hand... and Gujarati on other hand.. u will understand the thing.... I am Born and Brought up bathinda Punjab and Haryana.....and from last 5 years I am in Gujarat.... I see Huge difference towrads the way of Life ppl live.

A video on most regiments of the Indian Army -

Plans to raise a UK Sikh Regiment

were advanced plans by the British Army to raise a UK Sikh infantry regiment. The Sikh regiment had many supporters including Prince Charles.

81eb3f56eb825822ea0452a708ed0ed5.jpg

00721d5f38e8cd7ed1beb8a63f02703c.jpg

Sikh pipe band marching through France in 1914.

2e0a7c718424fd241d13501f488dac6d.jpg

Sikh soldiers in Flanders 1914-15.

4f68eb8d1b6fc6c732448d60d99fa632.jpg

Sikh soldiers using gas masks while defending Ieper in April, 1915. On 22nd April 1915 at 5 p.m. the 2nd Battle of Ypres began with the first successful gas attack in history

6f20e2bd777a1b1a5119a72fa3e3120c.jpg

Maharaja of Patiala Bhupinder Singh with Belgian Generals on the front-line, Belgium (April 1915).

ec33622fb9e9814aaa73ec34a5260662.jpg

French woman gives flower to marching Sikh soldier during WWI

3ed1078b0bf12af0f8b1795c03926bfc.jpg

Guard inspection by the Maharaja of Patiala (Maharajah Bhupinder Singh) and his Sikh officers at the Royal Pavilion, Brighton, 1921.

45765c19f80e103cfb4fa96964d53e42.jpg

Sikh soldiers of the 8th Army with local boys in San Felice.

e2d8c204fb3e2a51a35eb2aa43a3d027.jpg

Sikhs guarding the streets of Jerusalem

fb871dc8708d56651ade24689e0df64e.jpg

An Italian soldier surrenders to a Sikh, during Operation Crusader, of an unnamed Division and Regiment, on 8th December 1941.

20d14169768dc4980eabc82a641a8bfa.jpg

4f5ea38fdabcc96aca06086d44b56f10.jpg

Sikh soldier of the 11th Sikh Regiment with a captured Nazi flag in Italy at the end of the Second World War.

d57aee5622956fad67352818836f1961.jpg

Memorial at Kranji , Singapore

We have history help to inspire those who might be in war situation, Sikhism says ' Zulm karna paap hai aur Zulm sehna Bhi Paap hai ' If it is a sin to commit wrong, then it is also a sin to live with wrong. If someone bullies you or harasses you then you must challenge the person, IF YOU WANT TO DO SOMETHING, THEN YOU ARE THE ONLY ONE WHO CAN GET UP AND DO IT.

Its not complex religion and not modified also (very young), simple teachings - Work Hard, Share with everyone, Dont follow superstitions, dont worship PICs - Statues etc, Dont hurt poor, All humans are same (abolished caste system), and most importantly Gyaan (knowledge), Tenth Guru even said dont worship me, read ur holy book, its UR guru now.

Verdict - Study harder, which will result in good job, now work hard, help poors, dont let any1 bully u, when need arises picking weapon is 100% right.

Guru Nanak Ji says, ‘Hum Nehee Changey, Buraa Nehee Koye… I am not good, no one is bad (I see no-one higher or lower than me)’. Love everyone! It takes a bigger person to see over colour, caste and religion and see the soul of the person.

You must be aware what Khalsa means, Guru's Army, we are brought up like this. Every amritdhari Sikh keep kirpan (sword) for justice.

These are soldiers, so have to follow guidelines, have you seen Nihangs ? They still practice everything that is required in battlefield

ed326637c6f28f6814a6d0353d27fde9.jpg

2373fdf701e0622f5c01577f438773b2.jpg

db71b23d6f72f9f1360316113deb553f.jpg

:coffee: