Should Pakistan cut down the infantry

downsizing military doesnot mean taking off the guard. focus must shift to quality from quantity. as for self deception and precaution measure you are saying I suggested a year ago on this very forum that "should conscription be compulsory for youth?" http://www.defence.pk/forums/milita...cription-made-compulsory-pakistani-youth.html

to raise infantry is no issue, ask Hitler :)

Agreed, the active force needs to be reduced.. and the reserves increased.
We may not be able to replicate the Israeli model of "everyone is a soldier" but there is a lot of potential for holding a large reserve.
Apparently that is already being done, and the active forces will see better equipment and training.
Moreover, the reserves are going to be quick ones.. those that can be called up fast.
The question of how to employ those active duty soldiers that will be shifted to reserve is a big one.

^ design police training course of 2 years, make 6 months training compulsory with military as infantry units or whatever is suitable way for it. you have a readymade infantry. and a good police force. (however the course designed for police and culture must be civilian friendly like of UK)

P.S. there is some sort of collaboration going on already between police and military. some 40 day course If Im not mistaken.

^ design police training course of 2 years, make 6 months training compulsory with military as infantry units or whatever is suitable way for it. you have a readymade infantry. and a good police force. (however the course designed for police and culture must be civilian friendly like of UK)

How many do you train.. and more importantly.. who gets chosen?
Will a draft work better than a volunteer force?
Would it not be prudent to include reserve officers as well?
Perhaps people chosen at the university level, to provide a balanced leadership.

I'm curious about the ones who say reduce the army footprint.... what do you say to your general kayani then-who says lack of resources, which I take as boots on the ground, is why he cannot get rid of of your terrorists in NFP?

Your generals in short are saying they dont have enough of manpower, even if the americans offer funding it.

So if you don't have even of have appropriate manpower/ boots of the ground resources now, then how you justify a reduction of troops? afterall, these terrorist are also a grave danger to your national security.

I'm curious about the ones who say reduce the army footprint.... what do you say to your general kayani then-who says lack of resources, which I take as boots on the ground, is why he cannot get rid of of your terrorists in NFP?

Your generals in short are saying they dont have enough of manpower, even if the americans offer funding it.

So if you don't have even of have appropriate manpower/ boots of the ground resources now, then how you justify a reduction of troops? afterall, these terrorist are also a grave danger to your national secruity.

Enough effective manpower.
Our current level of troops trained for WoT are not enough.. we have your country's stance to thank for that.

How many do you train.. and more importantly.. who gets chosen?
Will a draft work better than a volunteer force?
Would it not be prudent to include reserve officers as well?
Perhaps people chosen at the university level, to provide a balanced leadership.

just keep it to a policy idea.

P.S. there is some sort of collaboration going on already between police and military. some 40 day course If Im not mistaken.

just keep it to a policy idea.

Yes there is, select police units are being given Anti terrorist training by the army.

That good attempt to use police force agaist Terrorists inside country and giving time military t defend brder more better.
We need troops t defend 2200km and 1600km border on east and west and 600km cstal line.So this thread shuld be "Pakistan needs More troops for its defence"

Any one want to address this side of question

Reference to the program We are Soldiers we are not able to give good rifles to our soldiers. Those guns are heavy and missed target on auto. So a good equipped solider can be equal to 1.5 solider atleast ?

so that they then can perform VVIP duties!?

That depends on the government in power, but the nature of most of the leadership class is that they do end up providing VIP protection duties.. and then sometimes end up gunning down the VIP themselves.

our brave soldiers need wheeled APC now more faster more effective good thing to have up in armed forces seleves

India's 7.5 lakhs soldiers have been successfully tied down in occupied Kashmir by just few 100 freedom fighters.I think we can afford to cut down infantry nos.If india gets funny just increase few 100 more freedom fighters elsewhere in india.Its a successful zia doctrine to fight big country like USSR and india is the asymmetric warfare and Inshallah we have been successful against both till now.

And then you start crying that the international community tells you to stop supporting terrorism,come on grow up

On topic Pakistan needs to keep that strength high and should not let the difference increase too much between india and them.

Majority of our army is foot soldiers based. But now it is different hi tech battle era, do we necessarily need so much infantry .. Isnt it better to replace it with more capable high tech force ?
America with so much high tech even have hell of Infantry Sir Infantry will always be needed to fight it and with enemy like India and now USA also going on the enemy side we need hell of an infantry

what is exactly wrong in sticking to principle by saying no to military operations or militancy?? dont forget the very army we are taking about got a humiliating surrender in 1971. and it did cost State, lose of its eastern lands.

dont you want to see a developed and progressive Pakistan or do you want to keep on the nonsensical fear mantra forever?

if you follow Jinnah he wanted a USA-CANADA like model between Pakistan and India. he clearly stated he wanted peace within and peace without. kindly follow the lines of our visionary leader not of some commando generals.

Every Pakistani want to see a progressive & developed Pakistan but not at cost of Pakistan lands. On Kashmir, Imran Khan was talking to karan as if it was part of India & was comparing it as FATA or Balochistan. Kashmir is occupied by India & is disputed territory, i fear IK will backtrack from Pakistan's stand on Kashmir issue.

Yes I favour good relations with India but not at cost of Pakistan's land, keep in mind clapping is done by both hands not a single hand.