According to officials, around 2,122 Afghan refugees have been arrested and deported from Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa since December 17, 2014, following the Army Public School attack in Peshawar a day earlier. The crackdown is still continuing.
They probably already have Pakistani passports even if they got by bribing Nadra officials. And in Pakistan rural areas they will be known as Afghani muhajirs for 200-300 years at least before they completly integrate. In cities they can pass as Pakistani pashtuns.
Because in rural areas i have seen even punjabis from east punjab are known as mahajirs.
Cultural roots dont die so easily and its not desirable. However, in foreign lands you do change yourself to suit the environment but you can never completely alter your DNA. I too hail from eastern UP and now settled in Mumbai but i dont feel any need to change my DNA. Yes I learnt workable marathi, have learnt to live without winters and in high rise apartments and assimilated well with local and cosmo culture of Mumbai but i remain the same apne gaon ki beti. Hamari tehzib hamare janaze ke sath bhi nahi jane wali hai per thodi bahut badal zaroor jayegi. Culture is, like every other things, also ever changing. We absorb and contribute many new things on a daily basis via various means and media. I disagree that to live in Punjab you have to become a punjabi or to live in KPK you need to become a Pashtun. Actually you can never be and should not be as it may result in very painful identity crisis. If I were in your place I would never mind the term Mohajir. its just a term to identify a set of people who themselves are diverse. I am sure if you go to your punjab, you will realize that even punjabis there would be identified by various regions, traits and their regional accents. So if a greater Punjab can absorb all regional differences then why cant a greater nationality absorb multiple differences.
Well, after all the lecture I realize that I can always return to my roots but perhaps you can not and hence your struggle is a bit different from this perspective. But we keep forgetting that modern nationalism is a 20th century phenomenon for South Asians. Did our ancestors who came from various parts of Arab, Persia, Central Asia, also undergo this? I would love to read if some historian touched upon this psycho-social aspect of medieval immigration.
You summed it up very nicely,Sir..
About mehsud's i agree with you as i have fellow wazir's and Dawar's and they don't seem to get along with mehsud's and have heard a lot about mehsud's and their mentality from someone( in Armed forces) served in waziristan...
Have you been to Darra Adamkhel? A lot of the people who make the weapons there are Punjabis. Gujjars live in Pakhtunkhwa too. I believe the intermingling of our societies is not just a must but also a beautiful bond between our people, us Pakistanis.
My beef with us Pakistanis is that we always think as an ethnic community, not a united nationalist people. Muhajirs hate punjabis, punjabis hate pashtuns and so on. It shows how petty our mindset actually is. Personally despite my efforts to learn pashto and my lucknowi background I remain assertive that Pakistan must inevitably come first.
is.
i thought pakistan was created for muslims.
what are the refugees guilty of?
this is collective punishment.
great way to destabilise the country by alienating a large part of the population.
anyone who supports this is a racist bigot and should be ashamed.
the amount of support this racist policy is getting just goes to show how jahil people you are.
so brotherhood in Islam means nothing to you?
great idea we should build a wall like the jews and treat them like the israelis treat the palestinians.
follow the footsteps of your masters.
Yuck man. Afghanis look hygienically disgusting to me. How the hell did you marry one?
Secondly, please go and settle in Afghanistan, you traitor.
If we keep giving these people refuge and comfort they're going to destroy our nation.
Force your wife to take oath of allegiance to Pakistan and sever all ties with Afg.
Yuck man. Afghanis look hygienically disgusting to me. How the hell did you marry one?
Secondly, please go and settle in Afghanistan, you traitor.
If we keep giving these people refuge and comfort they're going to destroy our nation.
Force your wife to take oath of allegiance to Pakistan and sever all ties with Afg.
Ooohhh yeah really??? How about you stick to your city then and accept the blame for all wrong goings in your city? And shouldnt be let to go to any other part of the country coz you'll contaminate rest of the country? Is that how rest of the country should treat you coz if you are living in a big city and that city is dirty does it mean you should be held responsible for that dirt?? Grow the heck up i am a tribal and i'll go wherever i wish to go in my country.