Report: Google Banning Windows over Security Concerns

The driving force for WIndows is easy availability in form of piracy you can not do the same with MAC . In comparison with Windows Mac has no advantage in security but it is much less exploited deu to its limited user base.For Linux I would say that it is best if you know it otherwise in no time it will become worst.

By the way I have done penetration testing on all these platforms.

The I7's are relatively new right now and it will take sometime before the OS system catch up. Other than Windows 7, no other OS comes even close to utilizing the strengths of the processor. Yes one can argue that the Linux based system maybe able to get there first but really Linux is not a viable solution to everyday computing needs. Its to complicated for amateur's to handle and its compatibility issues are well known. Many people tend to also complain about Windows 7 without having the need hardware in place. Without a quality X-58 chipset and atleast 3gb of DDR3 1333MHZ ram you cannot utilize the strengths of the I7's. Mac are very heavy OS's and are more makeup than actual systems. Windows still stands out when it comes to quality and performance. Im sure the remaining issues will be filtered out soon too.

Which age are you living in my bro :D

Tell me one feature where Micosoft windows has a better advantage over Linux. I am a core OS developer ( platform side) So I guess I know having worked extensively.

Again if you are talking of usability, that was the case 5/10 yrs back. Now start using ubuntu or F12 and tell me where exactly one face any problem.

I HATE your alienware :angel: but prefer assembling my own rig.
I made mine with AS rock 780SLI mb (integrated wifi), Phenom 9850 X4 Black Edition, 4GB Ram and a 1GB PNY 9800GX2 more than two years back. Time for an upgrade this year :yahoo: (if the Mrs allows :devil:)

hey hey hey dont say anything to my Alienware Baby :P i used to make systems on my own, its highly overrated and way to much headache. My Alienware is headache free and runs like a F-1 Race car with no competition.. If you want a well built system that will last you for atleast 5 years and if your prepared to spend some extra bucks then i would highly recommend it.

Google ,got Debian(Ubuntu) GNU/Linux customized for their use "Gobuntu" or Something Similar .
Agree,Even Fanatic Windows Users Must Give new Linux Versions a Try.I will Recommend Ubuntu(Gnome)

I primarily use Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) and Ubuntu 10.04 for daily use and Seriously I don't miss Windows at all, I use it mainly for academic programming, assignment and web surfing. I do gaming on Xbox and PS3 therefore I don't need Windows PC.
My both laptops Macbook(White, 2007) and Lenovo X61s(Dec'08) start crying if I try to run Win Vista/ 7 though both are Core2Duo with 4MB cache and 2 GB RAM.
I used to work on C# Asp tech when in previous Univ and previous work place but in California hardly anyone is into MS technologies and everyone uses Open source tools such as Eclipse, Komodo edit, Python, Java, GCC, GDB which forced me to format my PC based Lenovo to install Ubuntu as host OS and Win XP as guest OS using VMWare Workstation and it's amazing to see how both OS work so smooth while Win 7 cries to run smoothly on my Lenovo laptop.

I really like Mac since it solves most of my purpose except I use Mac MS office software for office related task but yeah Ubuntu in it's current avatar is seriously challenging Mac. Mac is secure since it's foundation is Unix/ Debian/FreeBSD so it's pretty secure from OS pt of view. Plus I am also in iPhone App dev so I need Mac.

Windows is flawed, on notebooks using antivirus software makes the performance very bad.

are you joking Windows 7 is just amazing. They refined Vista totally and Windows 7 runs just great on the new Core I7's. They are constantly updating Windows 7 and this OS is here to stay for a long time. There are more than enough hardware driver out there. Component manufacturers must now play catch rather than the other way.

Now if only I had the genuine product key for Win 7!
I bought it from Craigslist & it got shutdown just recently.
so I had to revert back to media Edition that I always had.....

Now if only I had the genuine product key for Win 7!
I bought it from Craigslist & it got shutdown just recently.
so I had to revert back to media Edition that I always had.....

If you are in Uni in USA then you can use your MSDNAA account for free Windows OS keys or if you know someone who can give you, u can have key for free!!

I primarily use Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) and Ubuntu 10.04 for daily use and Seriously I don't miss Windows at all, I use it mainly for academic programming, assignment and web surfing. I do gaming on Xbox and PS3 therefore I don't need Windows PC.
My both laptops Macbook(White, 2007) and Lenovo X61s(Dec'08) start crying if I try to run Win Vista/ 7 though both are Core2Duo with 4MB cache and 2 GB RAM.
I used to work on C# Asp tech when in previous Univ and previous work place but in California hardly anyone is into MS technologies and everyone uses Open source tools such as Eclipse, Komodo edit, Python, Java, GCC, GDB which forced me to format my PC based Lenovo to install Ubuntu as host OS and Win XP as guest OS using VMWare Workstation and it's amazing to see how both OS work so smooth while Win 7 cries to run smoothly on my Lenovo laptop.

I really like Mac since it solves most of my purpose except I use Mac MS office software for office related task but yeah Ubuntu in it's current avatar is seriously challenging Mac. Mac is secure since it's foundation is Unix/ Debian/FreeBSD so it's pretty secure from OS pt of view. Plus I am also in iPhone App dev so I need Mac.

Windows is flawed, on notebooks using antivirus software makes the performance very bad.

I've experienced Mac Guys Slowly will turn into Apple Admirers(as well as Steve Jobs) and Waits for their Master's "Keynotes".:lol:
LOL!Huh!...I forgot!they'll love to buy every Apple products as well including ipad?

I've experienced Mac Guys Slowly will turn into Apple Admirers(as well as Steve Jobs) and Waits for their Master's "Keynotes".:lol:
LOL!Huh!...I forgot!they'll love to buy every Apple products as well including ipad?

I already own a bunch of Apple stuff such as Powerbook G4(sold), iPod Nano 2G, iPhone 2G and Macbook. But somehow now I am not at all tempted to buy anymore Apple products reason I don't know.

May be it has to do with the kind of usage, currently I am using Nokia N97 since I can connect phone's internet 3.5 G with my Macbook via Bluetooth and surf internet while I am in train for 4 hrs(up and down) while going to Uni whereas iPhone won't let me connect/tether.

I mostly go with the products that meets my need than making fashion statement, though Nokia N97 is a failed product but I find it's 32 GB capacity, 5 MP camera and ability to tether to laptop very useful.

I used to like Steve Job's keynotes in 2008-09 but now I hardly watch, may be this coming June I will watch assuming they launch iPhone 4G but I am very much against Apple's policies of dictating what I can do or cannot do with my iPhone.

The driving force for WIndows is easy availability in form of piracy you can not do the same with MAC . In comparison with Windows Mac has no advantage in security but it is much less exploited deu to its limited user base.For Linux I would say that it is best if you know it otherwise in no time it will become worst.

By the way I have done penetration testing on all these platforms.
Errr Ununtu is free - legally free.

Open Source stuff will eventually kill them all.

Even though you guys may be inclined to say Windows is so popular because of its ease, in reality the reason is something else.

Ease is just familiarity.

Why C:\ and not /?

It just takes a little getting used to.

However MS wins because more people make software for their products than say for Linux.

THAT happens because MS makes kickass, easy to use software development tools. It is so easy to build software for windows any child can do it (and many times its children who are doing it).

Anyway, this advantage would be smoked off when machines start to get less and less kernel and platform dependent and start moving off onto the WEB for even its local services. Watch out for the Android OS in the future. Already for handheld devices, the Android has already far surpassed the Windows CE and is right up there with Apple and Research in Motion.

I predict a much different world market share by the time Windows 9 comes out :)

Which age are you living in my bro :D

Tell me one feature where Micosoft windows has a better advantage over Linux. I am a core OS developer ( platform side) So I guess I know having worked extensively.

Again if you are talking of usability, that was the case 5/10 yrs back. Now start using ubuntu or F12 and tell me where exactly one face any problem.

as i said when im talking about Linux vs Windows im talking about Amateurs who are not very good with computers. How many amateurs can install Linux ? very few, so my point being that Windows offers whatever functions are needed for day to day computing quite well. I have used Linux and it wasnt anything mindblowing by any standards. I think its become more fashionable to criticize Windows for no reason all the time.

If you are in Uni in USA then you can use your MSDNAA account for free Windows OS keys or if you know someone who can give you, u can have key for free!!

Nahi yaar............... dont no anyone! Already paid 50.00 USD for a crappy copy!
someone here gotta have a hook up !

I would ve migrated to ubuntu but I use some software that will not run
on any other platefarum. I looked into that "Wines" something.......... wont work.

I do think they did a very nice job with win7.

Nahi yaar............... dont no anyone! Already paid 50.00 USD for a crappy copy!
someone here gotta have a hook up !

I would ve migrated to ubuntu but I use some software that will not run
on any other platefarum. I looked into that "Wines" something.......... wont work.

I do think they did a very nice job with win7.

believe me they did, go with Windows 7 you wont regret it.