Prannoy Roy raided days after Nidhi Razdan told Sambit Patra to leave her show

It should be obvious that the govt. is sending a message that you cannot insult a party spokesperson the way Nidhi Razdan did without any serious repercussion.

If NDTV was within its right to do what it did, then the govt. is too within its right to do what it did.

If NDTV has an Agenda, then let it enter politics like the AAP and take on BJP in the field. But to use the Media to promote you agenda and act AGAINST a National part is not a joke to be brushed aside lightly.

I am glad that the govt. did what it did so that the message is out loud and clear.

You want respect, you better learn to GIVE respect.

No point in hiding behind "freedom of press" to run your perverted agenda, the govt too will hide behind "law and order" to pay them back in the same coin.

Thanks for your views. They completely fly in the face of what we commonly understand as rule of law. Apart from that you are obviously entitled to have your personal opinion on the matter.

It should be obvious that the govt. is sending a message that you cannot insult a party spokesperson the way Nidhi Razdan did without any serious repercussion.

If NDTV was within its right to do what it did, then the govt. is too within its right to do what it did.

If NDTV has an Agenda, then let it enter politics like the AAP and take on BJP in the field. But to use the Media to promote you agenda and act AGAINST a National part is not a joke to be brushed aside lightly.

I am glad that the govt. did what it did so that the message is out loud and clear.

You want respect, you better learn to GIVE respect.

No point in hiding behind "freedom of press" to run your perverted agenda, the govt too will hide behind "law and order" to pay them back in the same coin.
I don't think the govt acted on NDTV because it threw out Sambit Patra. NDTV has been belching venom against Modi and BJP since 2002 and no one ever acted against it. Sambit is not such a huge personality in BJP that it would lose its patience just for his sake. I believe the govt when they say they have nothing to do with the investigation. CBI has obviously done its homework and has been tracking NDTV for long and the new tax laws and bank laws more than sufficiently equipped it to build a strong case against the Roys.

Thanks for your views. They completely fly in the face of what we commonly understand as rule of law. Apart from that you are obviously entitled to have your personal opinion on the matter.

Then maybe your understanding of the Rule of Law is faulty and is enslaved to your personal desires and prejudices.

The govt. is well within its rights to investigate ANY wrong doings at a time of its choose.

If the accused has any problem, they can always knock on the doors of the Judiciary.

Beyond that, the Law will take its own course.

I don't think the govt acted on NDTV because it threw out Sambit Patra. NDTV has been belching venom against Modi and BJP since 2002 and no one ever acted against it. Sambit is not such a huge personality in BJP that it would lose its patience just for his sake. I believe the govt when they say they have nothing to do with the investigation. CBI has obviously done its homework and has been tracking NDTV for long and the new tax laws and bank laws more than sufficiently equipped it to build a strong case against the Roys.

Maybe , Maybe not. But why not use this opportunity to kill two birds with one stone ? :enjoy:

Since the "secular's" are going to use this incident to point fingers, why not use their own logic against them. The truth has no place in propaganda warfare. Only perceptions matter.

So let the perception be that of that of a strong govt. who knows what its doing.

People will always choose strength over weakness any day. President Trump is the living proof of this reality.

Then maybe your understanding of the Rule of Law is faulty and is enslaved to your personal desires and prejudices.

The govt. is well within its rights to investigate ANY wrong doings at a time of its choose.

If the accused has any problem, they can always knock on the doors of the Judiciary.

Beyond that, the Law will take its own course.

The government is not free to use law enforcement agencies to settle scores, intimidate and suppress those who don't agree with it. CBI is not the de facto choice for investigating economic crimes. Not ONE evidence apart from the complaint filed by the proxy has been relied upon to make the raid. Investigation in this case has been non-existent.

Look, I don't expect you to understand any of this. If a person in his thirties does not understand what due process is, then nothing I can say will explain it to them.

18835970_1473335889356228_5196329139531697835_n.png

Right! That's what broke the camel's back.

Modi was letting this case slip by, but then when a TV News Reader threw out a member of his party, that was it! He was going to sue them and get CBI to raid them!

Prannoy Roy raided days after Nidhi Razdan told Sambit Patra to leave her show

The CBI’s extraordinary raids on the houses of the NDTV promoter and veteran journalist Prannoy Roy has come just days after the channel’s anchor, Nidhi Razdan, had on-air altercation with a BJP spokesperson, Sambit Patra.

ndtv.jpg

Razdan had told Patra to leave the show if he did not apologise after he accused the NDTV of spreading misinformation with an agenda.

A defiant NDTV, meanwhile, posted a message on its website promising to fight ‘the attempts to blatantly undermine democracy and free speech in India.’

Its statement said, “This morning, the CBI stepped up the concerted harassment of NDTV and its promoters based on the same old endless false accusations. NDTV and its promoters will fight tirelessly against this witch-hunt by multiple agencies. We will not succumb to these attempts to blatantly undermine democracy and free speech in India.

Also Read: Dalit Muslims and Christians must be included in SC/ST category: Nitish Kumar
“We have one message to those who are trying to destroy the institutions of India and everything it stands for: we will fight for our country and overcome these forces.”

Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Venkaiah Naidu denied the charges of vendetta saying, ‘Law is taking its own course, there is no witch-hunting at all.’

He added, “This govt don’t believe in interfering. They(CBI) must have some information, that’s why they might have taken steps.”

The raids on Roy evoked angry reactions from journalists, historian and social activists, all of whom dubbed it an undeclared emergency.

Here are some of the reactions;

Follow
Vikram Chandra

✔@vikramchandra

The duty of a free media is to question and to report. If the price is harassment and attempted intimidation then so be it.

12:06 PM - 5 Jun 2017
Twitter Ads info and privacy

Follow
Vishnu Som

✔@VishnuNDTV

What sort of an India do we really want ? One where the govt snuffs out our right to ask questions ? Is this democracy? Is this freedom?

11:27 AM - 5 Jun 2017

Follow
Rajdeep Sardesai

✔@sardesairajdeep

Raid on @PrannoyRoyNDTV for a 2010 case in 2017? CBI/IT must put details in public fora else will face charge of vendetta against media.

11:02 AM - 5 Jun 2017

Follow
Ajai Shukla @ajaishukla

Cowed Indian media! Prannoy Roy being raided and intimidated by govt and not one other media house is carrying story. Their turn will come!!

9:38 AM - 5 Jun 2017

Follow
Sagarika Ghose

✔@sagarikaghose

For generations of us journalists @PrannoyRoyNDTV is an eg of journalistic integrity and moral uprightness. Refuse to believe this. https://twitter.com/sharmasupriya/status/871593414873108480 …

10:41 AM - 5 Jun 2017

Follow
Alka Lamba

✔@LambaAlka

पहले @ArvindKejriwal अब @PrannoyRoyNDTV ... कुछ समझे ??#CBI किस के इशारों पर काम कर रही है ईमानदारों के खिलाफ़?@narendramodi @AmitShah

10:58 AM - 5 Jun 2017

Follow
Nidhi Razdan

✔@RazdanNidhi

A message to those in the media who are still independent and do their job by fearlessly asking questions. We won't be intimidated https://twitter.com/pti_news/status/871593196953849856 …

10:42 AM - 5 Jun 2017

Follow
Sreenivasan Jain

✔@SreenivasanJain

Message is clear: any independent voices in media will be bullied and shut down. Black day. https://twitter.com/PTI_News/status/871593196953849856 …

10:36 AM - 5 Jun 2017

Follow
nikhil wagle

✔@waglenikhil

By @ndtv raids @narendramodi proves this is undeclared emergency. Whoever criticises this govt will be taught a lesson!

11:22 AM - 5 Jun 2017

Follow
Ramachandra Guha

✔@Ram_Guha

Alleged that Roys owe banks Rs 48 crore. Adanis owe banks 72000 crore:http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/adanis-debt-equals-to-entire-farm-debt/article8560896.ece …
May we expect Gautam bhai to be raided next?

10:54 AM - 5 Jun 2017

‘Adani’s debt equals to entire farm debt’
Corporate houses owe Rs 5 lakh crore to banks, claims JD(U) member

thehindu.com

http://www.jantakareporter.com/india/prannoy-roy-raided-cbi/128498/
If you do a fraud in India, you will easily find 15000 people who will support you when government takes action against you. They will not look at fact, they will not look at data. All they will say that its vendata. Their logic is very simple anyone who is opposing Modi if any raid happen has to be vendata. How can you act against someone opposing you, even if he is a chor like lalu or Sonia. Unfortuantely the person who is supporting all this nonsense and standing with corruption is Kejriwal. I had his profile pictiure as DP on Facebook PDF etc for over 6 months. Zindagi main politicians se wishas uth gaya. Second thing I learnt you might be a good poster, but of you support Kejriwal you can open stupid threads like this.

Right! That's what broke the camel's back.

Modi was letting this case slip by, but then when a TV News Reader threw out a member of his party, that was it! He was going to sue them and get CBI to raid them!
My 2 cents is that the government should not be seen to be doing this and so openly too.

We need a free press and we need an anti government press. We need people,who visibly disagree with government. We are a democracy. .

There could have been some other way to handle this? When Nidhi Razdan ran some article against Pakistan back in the 2000s. the Pakistani govt refused her ALL access to anyone in official Pakistan for 5 years. She begged to get back into good books and did several pro Pak stories in order to do so. This was a more sophisticated approach by an usually unsophisticated government.

India can learn from the US on how to manage the press - Not the Trump government - obviously - but previous governments were really good at this.

The press should be co opted not bludgeoned .

I fear this was ham fisted and un sophisticated and will back fire in the long run.

My 2 cents is that the government should not be seen to be doing this and so openly too.

We need a free press and we need an anti government press. We need people,who visibly disagree with government. We are a democracy. .

There could have been some other way to handle this? When Nidhi Razdan ran some article against Pakistan back in the 2000s. the Pakistani govt refused her ALL access to anyone in official Pakistan for 5 years. She begged to get back into good books and did several pro Pak stories in order to do so. This was a more sophisticated approach by an usually unsophisticated government.

India can learn from the US on how to manage the press - Not the Trump government - obviously - but previous governments were really good at this.

I fear this was ham fisted and un sophisticated and will back fire in the long run.

Like I sarcastically suggested earlier, I do NOT believe that the raid was the result of Ms.Razdan chucking Mr.Patra out of her show. It is hard to believe that Modi can do such politically amateurish moves. It might very well be coincidental.

Modi faced far more slanders and far more vicious campaign against him and his personal matters directed by NDTV and their cohorts at least since 2002. Modi had 3 years in power to act against them and he didn't - not directly anyway.

And I don't believe this is the first time a BJP spokesperson has been kicked out of a TV program. These are just the desperate strawman arguments that NDTV and their likes have been peddling.

Amazing how so many people actually bought it!

We don't need an anti-govt press. What we need is an honest press which is unbiased and without an agenda. If they have dirt on the govt they should run it and if there is good thing to report they should report it. They should stop acting as if they are the opposition. No one in public has appointed them in that role and they do not have the mandate. Democracy does not mean a sacrosanct anti-establishment space must be reserved. Anyway NDTV is not an anti-establishment channel. It is an anti-BJP channel and feels no compulsion to be anti-establishment when Congress is in power.

Also it is disgusting what liberals have reduced democracy to. It used to mean government of the people, by the people, and for the people. Now democracy stands only for dissent and anti-establishment. Dissenting against the mandate of the people and sowing chaos is democracy's highest virtue.

@kadamba-warrior - if this was co incidental then the government have been caught napping...but as someone else mentioned CBI is not usually the first to react to a case of financial fraud. As I said the optics of this looks bad for the govt. right now fresh from the overwhelming mandate in UP, it stinks of arrogance. But The Indian electorate are an ephemeral lot and sea change of opinion can and do occur very quickly.

@Samudra Manthan - I don't disagree with anything you said - except - that you are expecting too much from fellow human beings.

The "truth" in journalism is a mix of fact and opinion. Journalists ephasize some facts over others and give them a spin depending on their own biases. Most journalists are third class pass commerce graduates , you cannot expect them to behave like philosopher sages. They follow the editorial lead. Of course it does not help that the congress over the last half century have managed to get their own people planted into every possible leadership position whether in media , education or even judiciary. India suffered much as a result. I do not want this government to do the same thing only biased towards them.

@kadamba-warrior - if this was co incidental then the government have been caught napping...but as someone else mentioned CBI is not usually the first to react to a case of financial fraud. As I said the optics of this looks bad for the govt. right now fresh from the overwhelming mandate in UP, it stinks of arrogance. But The Indian electorate are an ephemeral lot and sea change of opinion can and do occur very quickly.

Agreed it looks bad now, but I believe Modi is a bit too clever to be seen indulging in such petty tit-for-tat tactics. Another reason why I believe CBI might have acted on its own without Modi prodding it.

Not sure about the investigative chain of command involving financial frauds, but one can always come up circumstantial accusations to deflect attention from the ACTUAL crime -- which in this case seems to be tight and substantial. Remember, we are not talking about Mother Teresa here - it is NDTV of the Radia fame.

When Mamta booked cases against Zeetv - No issues
When Maulana Akhilesh booked Sudhardhan Tv - No issues

These 2 channels has 1000 times more viewership than pathetic rNDtv and yet and outcry from these same people who are crying now.

WHY THE DUPLICITY?

@Sky lord I don't disagree with anything you have said.
But NDtv has long since ceased to anti-establishment. Find me one article, one debate or one show in the last 13 years, including the 10 years of Cong rule where NDtv has a single negative (forget taking her to task) thing to say about Sonia Gandhi.
Sonia Gandhi is as establishment as it gets and not once did anyone spoke against the establishment.
Second fact is that Ndtv has done fraud. Anyone with simple understanding of banking and corporate laws would send Pranob Roy to jail ASAP. Just because the timing is suspect....well, NDtv runs anti-BJP, anti-Modi, anti-Hindu and anti-Military articles, shows and debates on daily basis, I mean, the timing any time of the week or month or year will by default be suspect, because of the narrative of shows running on NDtv.