Police arrest 4 men for destroying ancient Buddha statue found during construction in Mardan

why its a desperate attempt? actually you did not realized that changing the temple to a shop, not allowing a community to use their religious place is worst than what you are trying to bring to the table.

i also pointed earlier that only Saidpur temple is functioning and all other are closed for devotees... why? did you see the video of a person forcibly destroying the islamabad temple base and someone giving azaan from that same place where temple was to be constructed.... also some people were telling to kill a cow on that place so no Hindu will construct a temple there?

this is happening in 2020 July as we speak, what is this? why a community is marginalized so much?

the place that you pointed out was also erected on a destroyed temple.... with proper evidence and legal battle it was changed.... the claim on that place was since last 500 years....

but people want to show one example and shrug off thousands in their own land which is not a good practice...

if Hindu structures are your problem, what you have to say about Hagia Sofya? this is happening everywhere you just beed to keep your eyes and ears open... then oppose such acts publicly...

as i said earlier we have seen many pakistanis supporting temple construction and we personally thanked all of them... they also understand what im trying to say so why cant you?
1. Don't engage me in arguments based on temporal relativism. I am not bothered in the slightest by what this maratha or that mughal did hundreds of years ago. Hindustan has no right to ravage a functional mosque in the modern era post-UN where human rights are known and understood by all.

2. The present miscreants who aggressively opposed the new Mandir being built have been roundly condemned by civil society. The Mandir is back on schedule.

3. Neglect of a disused or underused ancient temple is regrettable as heritage is heritage and should be valued, but it may simply be an economic issues. Moreover, there is no comparison in my eyes between allowing a temple to become neglected and wantonly destroying a functioning mosque in ayodhya and murdering its custodians.

Thanks for your time.

i dont understand your point, there are no national flags on religious structures in India like this one which sits on very top of the temple dome....
It's disused. Nobody would put a Pakistani flag on a functioning Mandir.

i dont understand your point, there are no national flags on religious structures in India like this one which sits on very top of the temple dome....
Here is the issue, after partition all Hindu families migrated to otherside of border. These temples been empty for decades and muslim generation born after 47 have no knowledge of these temple. Plus, local clergymen never brought awareness what they are and there religious purpose. Also, non any Hindu ever visit that place or communicate with locals or city govts. In my person experience, I visited a small city near capital call Chakwal and saw a huge mandir, that manidar been closed for decades and sealed the premises by local govt. No Hindu ever visit that place to open or brought any project. So, imagine that is the situation. It's all question of awareness and activism from Hindus in Pakistan.
O, there is rumor in town that mandir belong's to Dutt family, Sanjay's fathers.

1. Don't engage me in arguments based on temporal relativism. I am not bothered in the slightest by what this maratha or that mughal did hundreds of years ago. Hindustan has no right to ravage a functional mosque in the modern era post-UN where human rights are known and understood by all.

2. The present miscreants who aggressively opposed the new Mandir being built have been roundly condemned by civil society. The Mandir is back on schedule.

3. Neglect of a disused or underused ancient temple is regrettable as heritage is heritage and should be valued, but it may simply be an economic issues. Moreover, there is no comparison in my eyes between allowing a temple to become neglected and wantonly destroying a functioning mosque in ayodhya and murdering its custodians.

Thanks for your time.

my point was never for any argument... we can discuss till the dawn but things wont change immediately on the ground.

and its not this way but the other way round, temple was converted hence disused... make it a temple again and see how local people flock this temple once again.... let the culture thrive... you and me wont be here forever we all have to die not the culture and religion.

Here is the issue, after partition all Hindu families migrated to otherside of border. These temples been empty for decades and muslim generation born after 47 have no knowledge of these temple. Plus, local clergymen never brought awareness what they are and there religious purpose. Also, non any Hindu ever visit that place or communicate with locals or city govts. In my person experience, I visited a small city near capital call Chakwal and saw a huge mandir, that manidar been closed for decades and sealed the premises by local govt. No Hindu ever visit that place to open or brought any project. So, imagine that is the situation. It's all question of awareness and activism from Hindus in Pakistan.
O, there is rumor in town the mandir was belong to Dutt family, Sanjay's fathers.

i have a honest disagreement with this argument, while we created two countries pakistan has 15% Hindus with many temples intact. But as the example above it was converted to a shop.... any many were converted to other places hence people stopped using them.

what im putting forward is not an argument and certainly not putting anyone in spot.... it all started as a discussion and I intend to keep it only at that. derailing a thread takes a min but building a discussion which we all can revisit anytime and have a good thought about takes much much longer.

religious fanatics are on both side of border but people like you and me need to keep a check on them, help the victims of religious intolerance.... #Mantaubanega and #Mandirbangaya were top trends in pakistan few days ago.... new generations is not as disturbed as the last one.... lets keep them apart from what happened in last century... that history was way too bloody for anyone to know.

Its a difference between an active place of worship and something found in junk. There must be alot of emptied mosques not in use. No one will raise question when u destroy them as they r nothing but a piece of stone.

No one has attacked a place of worship or current object of worship. It was something found in junk of his backyard and he took care of it as it suits to him.

Dont exagerate things
That's a valid point. Agreed.

Can't blame the illiterate locals for not knowing the value of ancient heritage.
I see no education in this matter as well.
There is no setup in place to report a discovery like this..
The dehari mazdoors need to finsh their days work to get paid and put food on the table for their families so an ancient budha on their way doesn't mean anything..

Those who follow quran and sunnah. Do u want me to share sahih hadith u r denying ?

We are ristricted to destroy place of worship only and this was not a place of worship. It was among the junk.
Which sahi hadith asks you to randomly destroy religious figures or history?
Was an inder excavation statute threatening the faith of these retards? Is your faith so fragile?

If you want to see the real tragedy of pakistan's history and its lost culture take this example,

View attachment 652136

This is Bhadrakali temple in Lahore (again read Lahor's history, very interesting right from the beginning)

and see how this temple is converted to a shop
View attachment 652138
check the dome on top, same from the top photo but without the pakistan national flag.... these kids have no idea about what they are doing and where they are....

you can search and see plenty of such examples..... do you know what is the significance of white color in your flag?
these are MATROOKA IMLAAK if you know what i mean Abandoned Places of 1947 . millions of hindus left no people to take care mandirs . just a waste land .

this temple is in Lahore, which still has sizable Hindu population and the Bhadrakali temple is in such condition....Bhadrakali is an important goddess and this temple must be hosting Navratri festival when it was in use.
this cant be an abandoned place at all...

can you do something to change this place to temple again? im asking personally or wit the help of local community?

So much feelings for an unknown piece of stone. Why ? what is the essence of that piece? is it a property of any temple? Will this remove hunger from our populace? will it remove our trade deficits?

Common man this is a non-issue. A piece of museum to which most of the Pakistanies have no attachment and cant link with.
You don't know how tourism economy works. These are heritages and a civilization monuments which bring prosperity in the region. If this Bhuddisht statue were being promoted in right way, in numbers of Bhuddists would travel to watch it. Your hotel and tourism industry would have been progressive. But who care? Carry on destroying a civilization.

this temple is in Lahore, which still has sizable Hindu population and the Bhadrakali temple is in such condition....Bhadrakali is an important goddess and this temple must be hosting Navratri festival when it was in use.
this cant be an abandoned place at all...

can you do something to change this place to temple again? im asking personally or wit the help of local community?

Why don't you start the fund?

I am from that area around Lahore, I have not seen any Hindu there, where do they live?

I have seen plenty of Christians, and even a Synagogue, and some Sikhs, but never a Hindu.

Thanks for your time.

Those statues belong in museums, to make money for Pakistan, so we can build more masajid. :azn:

Buddhay ko Bohat buray tarikay se Mara hai Pathan Bhai ne...:laugh:.Wo Bhi Hathoray se..:lol:

Pukhtoons are Budshikan par excellence, and I love that no nonsense attitude about religion from them.

The source of many good jokes at the expense of Sikhs and Hindus, lol.

Ch. Rehmat Ali based his concept of Pakistan primarily on the Islamic nationalism of Pukhtoons and Baloch. He said "I am forever indebted to them."

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Police on Saturday arrested four men for shattering an ancient Buddha statue found during construction work in the province's Takhtbhai area of Mardan.

Earlier today, videos surfaced on social media showing a man breaking with a hammer a life-sized statue of Buddha, parts of which were still embedded underground. Other men can be seen looking on as the statue is being destroyed while a couple of people were making videos.

Doctor Abdul Samad, KP director archaeology and museums, termed the destruction of the statue a "crime" and said "disrespecting any religion is intolerable".

KP police later tweeted that the suspects had been traced and arrested while pieces of the broken statue were also recovered. According to the police, those arrested include Qamar Zaman, Amjad, Aleem and Suleman.

A first information report (FIR) has been registered against them under the Antiquities Act 2016, according to officials. Dr Samad expressed appreciation on the police's "prompt action" in arresting the suspects.

The director said that the statue belonged to the Gandhara civilisation and was approximately 1,700 years old. He added that the police had cordoned off the area.
https://www.dawn.com/news/1569758/p...ha-statue-found-during-construction-in-mardan

714e6e1cee1de5499486ed9c9520d94e.jpg

1. Could have placed it in a museum, 1,700 years old is no joke it have would attracted people for sure, especially Buddhist folks.
2. Could have placed it in a pagoda and had it as a place of worship. Pakistan has no Buddhists, but many would have come.
3. Given it as a gift of good will to a friendly Buddhist state e.g. Sri-Lanka, Thailand etc. But this is the last option, as it is the heritage of Pakistan.

Is the statue salvageable? In the video the main body looks intact, experts could perhaps fix it? Let's hope it's not a loss.

You don't know how tourism economy works. These are heritages and a civilization monuments which bring prosperity in the region. If this Bhuddisht statue were being promoted in right way, in numbers of Bhuddists would travel to watch it. Your hotel and tourism industry would have been progressive. But who care? Carry on destroying a civilization.

Why u have to sell anti islam things to promote tourisim. How many budhist sculpture are there in switzerland ?

714e6e1cee1de5499486ed9c9520d94e.jpg

1. Could have placed it in a museum, 1,700 years old is no joke it have would attracted people for sure, especially Buddhist folks.
2. Could have placed it in a pagoda and had it as a place of worship. Pakistan has no Buddhists, but many would have come.
3. Given it as a gift of good will to a friendly Buddhist state e.g. Sri-Lanka, Thailand etc. But this is the last option, as it is the heritage of Pakistan.

Is the statue salvageable? In the video the main body looks intact, experts could perhaps fix it? Let's hope it's not a loss.
Do you know in Julian University Sirkap, Taxila every year before terrorism, thousands of Japanese used to pay visit and GOP generate millions from only Japanese tourist. Japanese govt also provided all type of equipment to preserve statue and other discoveries.
Sirkap site is one hell of amazing place on prairie top. Where some Hindu mahraja fought one of biggest battle.