PMLN want PTI to form South Punjab Province

To an extent but then this needs al- together new revamp of constitution
Senate require equal no of senators from all provinces..You need to amend the constitution to devise a new formula ..to restrict the same number of senators Lets say 15 each from KP, Bloachistan ,Sindh but 5 each from Centre, North and West Punjab ?same goes for every other sector..Our division of resources right now is based on population
Rest i agree about making more manageable provinces...

There's no need to divise formula to discriminate Punjab, if you want to maintain equal representation then divide your provinces as well, Punjab never stopped you from doing so .

Not really. You could avoid disturbing the national equilibrium by simply just dividing the present Punjab's share amongst the two new emergent Punjabs.

It makes all the sense. Punjab with nearly 100 million people is too large. The CM at Lahore can even give the centre challange. In addition by breaking Punjab it would diffuse development and usher in Multan as new centre of gravity that would help the south. It is win win for all. Lahore would be cut to size. In fact I think Punjab should be divided into three. West Punjab [Rawalpindi], North Punjab [Lahore], South Punjab [Multan].
I am for 3 divisions in Punjab. Potohar , Central and South, with capitals as you listed above. And currently Punjab hold way too much power and it seriously needs to be curbed.

PML-N was in power, why didn't they do it? This is the oldest trick in the book get Ik involved in a mess, they will create behind the scene, so he will lose track of the reason why people voted him in.

I am for 3 divisions in Punjab. Potohar , Central and South, with capitals as you listed above. And currently Punjab hold way too much power and it seriously needs to be curbed.
Which as I have already highlighted in my previous posts is existential threat to Pakistan. We could see this problem explode in the future causing a Balkanization of Pakistan.

They wouldnt dare oppose it. If i remember correctly the were the ones that first began harping on the idea years back. They will be signing their own death warrants by doing that.
You need 2/3 majority to make new provinces

Division on the basis of ethnicity is not a good idea.. It will open a Pandora box and later MQM and Hazara will demand their own province. What needs to be broken are the provinces so as to break the feudal system of governance / voting system and uplift the vast under privileged areas. This should be done to improve the socioeconomic conditions, help the development of institutions and the infrastructure in the area. Ideally speaking punjab should be divided into three or at least two provinces.

I think the South punjab province should comprise of the areas that come under following provincial assemblies seats

PUNJAB AREA
District Muzaffargarh... PP 272 to 275
District Rajanpur... whole district; PP293 to PP297
District Rahim yar khan...whole district; PP 255 to PP 267
District Bahawalpur.... half of PP248 (below hasilpur), PP249 and PP250
District Bahawalnagar.... PP240 to PP244
District Dera Ghazi Khan... Whole district; PP285 to PP292

SINDH AREA
District Ghotki....PS18 and PS19
District Kashmore... PS4

I believe the above arrangement would be technically feasible as there would be sizable industry (fertilizer, power plants and beverage etc) and agricultural land, 1 barrage (guddu) and 1 head work (head islam), canals from guddu barrage, head punjnad and head islam mainly irrigate the area, 2 airports (Rahim yar khan and bahawalpur) and lots of underprivileged areas in almost the districts.

Sindh area would be a tough sell but a southern Punjab province if carved out from Punjab only can later include ubaro, reti, Kobar, Daharki and Mir pur Mathelo areas of Sindh in the future.

If southern punjab flourishes then in about 10 years we should consider carving out another province from areas of punjab and kpk (parts of attock, mianwali, chakwal, bhakar and Layyah along with some ucs of Haripur, DI khan of kpk) or in sindh by combining Tharparkar with some areas of umerkot, Mir pur khan and Sanghar)

Leaving asides anything else Pakistan's strength or Achilles Heel is the Pakhtun/Punjab [P/P] compact. The day this breaks down Pakistan will fall apart like a house of cards. MQM carves up a desh in Karachi, no worries federal government keeps ticking. PPP cause grief in interrior Sindh federal government keeps ticking. Ditto Balochistan. But K-Pk or Punjab and federal government get caught in a improglio bye, bye Pakistan. You guys all know who forms the two legs on which Pakistan Army stands.

Like I said if Shebaz had won outright in Punjab and hunkered down in Lahore facing a PTI government based in Peshawar but with a slim majority in Islamabad we could have seen cracks begin to appear that might have begun to take ethnic colours. That is the stuff that enemies of Pakistan dream of. Once this P/P compact fell apart all the rest of provinces would just Balkanize and they do not have the gravitational pull to keep the federation intact.

So this must be done to prevent ever the possibility of Lahore becoming a threat to centre. Of course there are other administrative and economic reasons as well.
Agreed ..In essence the binding force is Punjabi-Pakhtun unity ...That's what i am propagating divide punjab but in way not to "disproportionate"the equilibrium in state sectors ..Your essence is controlling and my essence is presence/optics in state sectors...Divide Punjab =Yes... Divide Punjab with just current "Formula" of distribution of resources is "Disaster"...They will be better control but then they will be the controller....I agreed on this notion if as you said " Only existing resources of Punjab should be divided in partitioned province"like no alteration in seats of senate and other government sectors..Searikis or Potharis can called whatever but for all purpose they are just an extension of Punjabi

You guys aren't happy with United Punjab nor you are happy with divided Punjab?
Divide Punjab as wish 3 , 4 or 5 whatever but don't increase share in state resources by naming same with difference names ...No additional resources , no additional senators same others...Divide whatever Punjab has "Now" into its own "Partioned" provinces

There's no need to divise formula to discriminate Punjab, if you want to maintain equal representation then divide your provinces as well, Punjab never stopped you from doing so .
Why descrimination ? being equal to all other ethnic federating units is discrimination ?You want to divide its your wish not otherwise ..Do it to better control cities and areas but not to extend it to over shadow the senate and other state resources on plea of that

Apart from senate seats, rest will stay more or less same. And seraikis will not compromise on number of senate seats.

But I don't agree with bahawalpur province with 11m population. Province needs to be viable, there is administration cost. Province of 3-4 districts doesn't make sense with current setup. Bahawalpur should stay with future south punjab province.
That is excuse..Its like handing over "Senate to Punjab" along with NA too...More power sectors..In essence more of them in senate...Every thing will change..they will say after few years we are shown underpopulated and accounts to 3 or 5 crore more as we hear from people of Karachi quite often as an excuse

What constitutional problems ? PTI should float the bill and roll the ball in opposition's court. But I will advise them not to do blunder of making two provinces, divide Punjab into at-least 4 or better convert current divisions into provinces to avoid issues of defining boundaries.

I support the idea of converting all current divisions into provinces.

If mian ji had done some work outside lahore there wouldn't be any need for dividing punjab.What if after dividing punjab problems still persist.Good governance is the only solution.

It will be difficult to administrative divide Punjab later, PTI Government will have perfect opportunity to work toward it. Potohar, East, West, south and Bahawalpur provinces. Council has to be created for these regions and they should be giving pseudo provincial status for few years and eventually toward the end of 5th year they should be given provincial status.

It will be difficult to administrative divide Punjab later, PTI Government will have perfect opportunity to work toward Potohar, East, West, south and Bahawalpur provinces. Council has to be created for these regions and they should be giving pseudo provincial status for few years and eventually toward the end of 5th year they should be given provincial status.

Dude, Do u think Punjabis will just stay quiet and listen to ur chatter and has no voice, First if u thinking this Potohar, East, West, south and Bahawalpur provinces, then prepare ur province be broken into 4-5 pieces, and not just that, ur wer dream of Punjab into Potohar, East, West, south and Bahawalpur provinces will be revereses, reunited and that will be either done by parties of Punjab including Army, ISI and other Punjabi parties let alone the awam.

PTI should make South Punjab, and Punjab two provinces. That is what Punjabis want it to happen.

binding force is Punjabi-Pakhtun unity
The binding force is the army which of course has history of recruiting Pakhtuns/Punjabis from the north west. This process was began by the British and over a century it has matured into a highly cohesive army that acts like a anchor in Pakistan. That is why the army is important and will remain important. Without it Pakistan would be another Afghanistan. Differant ethnic groups led by warlords. We had a taste of that with MQM and Altaf. Notice who came along and erased his hold. Pakistan sans army would have regional Altafs with their own gangsters.

Those who think Islam is the binding agent that keeps Pakistan together are badly mistaken. Pakistan is 70 years old. British Raj kept us tied to India for 98 years and held together large part of sub-continent for more then 150 years. That is twice the lifespan of Pakistan. Now think about what kept present day Pakistan, Indian Republic, Banglash tied under the British flag for over a century. And these rulers were white, Christian, from other side of the globe. It was kept together by a efficient adminisrative machine backed up by a large military force. We merely inheritated that structure or should I say we inheritated part of it.

So if British could keep the entire sub-continent tied together for more then a century it is no big deal that we are kept toether for 70 years. Islam card notwithstanding. What we must focus on is making sure the adminisrative machine is efficient, fair and is backed up by power as in a strong military.

Dude, Do u think Punjabis will just stay quiet and listen to ur chatter and has no voice, First if u thinking this Potohar, East, West, south and Bahawalpur provinces, then prepare ur province be broken into 4-5 pieces, and not just that, ur wer dream of Punjab into Potohar, East, West, south and Bahawalpur provinces will be revereses, reunited and that will be either done by parties of Punjab including Army, ISI and other Punjabi parties let alone the awam.

PTI should make South Punjab, and Punjab two provinces. That is what Punjabis want it to happen.

Because of the Marketing even a villager know what coke is. PTI has to do marketing and get the consenses of everyone. It’s not impossible.