Parliament passes historic land accord bill to redraw border with Bangladesh

tsinga

Parliament passes historic land accord bill to redraw border with Bangladesh

India's border with Bangladesh settled.

NEW DELHI, The Parliament on Thursday passed the constitutional amendment bill regarding the land boundary agreement with Bangladesh, with the Lok Sabha's unanimous nod to the legislation.

"Historic milestone in India-Bangladesh relations," Prime Minister Modi tweeted after the Lok Sabha's nod.

READ ALSO: Rajya Sabha unanimously passes Bangladesh land deal

The bill was unanimously passed by the Rajya Sabha on Wednesday when members buried their sharp ideological divide - from Shiv Sena to CPM - to unanimously give effect to the Land Boundary Agreement signed between India and Bangladesh in 1974 for exchange of enclaves.

READ ALSO: Govt bows to Congress, tweaks Bangladesh land deal

External affairs minister Sushma Swaraj won the hearts of the entire opposition on Wednesday by crediting Manmohan Singh government for putting in the hard work. "Manmohan Singh is the one who started the whole thing. I have merely completed the task," she said, thanking the former PM who was present in the Rajya Sabha. She pointed out that the bill is exactly the same - to the last comma and full stop - as was presented by UPA in Parliament in December 2013. "It's a win-win-win situation for everyone," she said, ascribing the quote to leader of opposition Ghulam Nabi Azad. Calling the passage of the bill "historic", Swaraj said it would take India-Bangladesh relations to a new high by settling the 41-year border issue.

BLOG: By backing India-Bangladesh land swap, Modi moves to bring relief to those living on a fuzzy border

The bill aims at giving effect to the acquiring of territories by India and transfer of territories to Bangladesh through retaining of adverse possession and exchange of enclaves in accordance with the 1974 agreement.

-----------------------------

With Parliament ratifying the Indo-BD Land Boundary Agreement, India and Bangladesh finally settle their Border Dispute once and for all.

For those who do not know.

With this deal, there will be a net loss of about 10,000 acres of land for India.

Bangladesh will gain the 10,000 acres in the land boundary finalization and exchange of enclaves.

The agreement now has to be ratified by 50% of the state legislatures of India...all this will be done before PM Modi's visit to Bangladesh when it will be officially notified by Gazette of India and come into force!

This was passed unanimously by the Parliament of India(both Houses).

This means that now both the land and the maritime boundary with Bangladesh is settled and that means that India and Bangladesh now have zero claims on each other's territory - land or sea!

This is probably the biggest boost to Indo-BD relations in decades!

@Abingdonboy , @genmirajborgza786 , @bongbang @Capt.Popeye @Bang Galore @Irfan Baloch @waz @damiendehorn @GURU DUTT @MilSpec @That Guy @Jaanbaz @Jungibaaz

-----------------------------

With Parliament ratifying the Indo-BD Land Boundary Agreement, India and Bangladesh finally settle their Border Dispute once and for all.

For those who do not know.

With this deal, there will be a net loss of about 10,000 acres of land for India.
Bangladesh will gain the 10,000 acres in the land boundary finalization and exchange of enclaves.

I guess for a big country like India 10,000 acres is probably just a sliver on our borders. If this settles our boundaries for good, then let's just settle it there.

But I suspect the Bangladeshis will declare this also as a conspiracy!

THis is a day old news.. I wonder why no one from Bangladeshi Posters community picked it up to post and celebrate this.... I mean this was the biggest problem between Bangladesh and India

I guess for a big country like India 10,000 acres is probably just a sliver on our borders. If this settles our boundaries for good, then let's just settle it there.

But I suspect the Bangladeshis will declare this also as a conspiracy!

Do you realize the significance of this?

It means that out of the 3 unsettled borders we had - China, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

We have now officially solved and settled one. We now have just 2 unsettled borders remaining - China and Pakistan!

THis is a day old news.. I wonder why no one from Bangladeshi Posters community picked it up to post and celebrate this.... I mean this was the biggest problem between Bangladesh and India
No. This has happened today itself.

Rajya Sabha passed it yesterday. Lok sabha passed it today, infact just a couple of hours ago!

It means that out of the 3 unsettled borders we had - China, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

We have now officially solved and settled one. We now have just 2 unsettled borders remaining - China and Pakistan!
Aur BD walon nai mithai bhi nahi bheji.

India should handover IoK. Mai poori 5 kilo mithai bhejun ga.

I guess for a big country like India 10,000 acres is probably just a sliver on our borders
India is not going to lose land as this "10000 acres" as all this land that we will lose is already deep with in Bangladesh's territory without any Indian Jurisdiction... India exercise's control over them only notionally i.e only on a piece of paper... In reality the residents of such 10000 acres land holders are known as Citizens of No-Man's land....

All issues with BD are not settled yet - maritime and territorial disputes would be put to rest but that of Rivers still remain