Please...The previous Pak Army Chief was not a Punjabi so i don't how Punjabi's can dominate Pakistan Army..We don't have to be anything. A certain ethnic group dominates the Army and by extension the Country. Whenever they feel slighted they pull the gears and enrich themselves while the country languishes.
Hon Sir,
Most of the questions you have raised in your post are based upon false assumptions. For example, nearly all senior civil officers including those of Railways are provided with generous bungalows and villas. Similarly Services doctors as well as those of Railways get official residence as a perk but are not allowed to indulge in private practice, whereas nearly all the consultant surgeons in the civil hospitals have private practice to supplement their income.
Most of the dollars from the US are going towards attack helicopters, radars, SP guns; all part of the fight against terrorism.
First Martial Law in 1958 was proclaimed by then civilian president (Sikander Mirza), second Martial Law was a direct result of countrywide strikes and paralysis following massive rigging in the election by ZA Bhutto. Last Martial Law was also result of a hurried action by Nawaz Sharif when COAS was in the Air?
Finally, the Doctrine of Necessity was first used by then CJ Justice Munir in 1954, who favored the Gov. Gen. of Pakistan Ghulam Mohammad, a civilian, against Maulvi Tamizuddin, Speaker of the National Assembly. Once such a land mark judgment is made, it can used as precedent to justify later events.
You have every right to be anti military, just as I am anti mullah; only difference is that you are accepting incorrect views propagated in the media by hypocritical politicians. Did you know that first time ever in Pakistans history that mob attacked Supreme Court in session, happened during Nawaz Sharif 2nd term as PM, when his brother (CM of Punjab) brought buses full of goondas from Lahore to Islamabad for this very purpose? Now the same NS is a paragon of virtue and a stalwart supporter of the Supreme Court.
Pak Military is certainly no angel and has been exercising too much political power.
But your post puts every thing that is bad at the militarys doorstep. I am also a supporter of democracy, but I wont base my accusations on heresy evidence.
I am not accusing you of being unpatriotic but of being extremely naïve and misguided.
I am not anti-military. I am anti-military-running-country. I love and respect the jawaans protecting us, but the top brass of military gets which it does not deserve. Thats about it. I knew I would be accused of writing on false assumptions, that is exactly why I have provided credible references.
Only Railways, Wapda and District Administration gets banglows but that too built during the British time.
Doctrine of necessity point was a mistake of mine. Please delete that.
I am not saying that the $6 billion odd aid has been expropriated. I am just saying that Pakistan should say to the west that we have spent billions more protecting their interests in Pakistan.
What about the other points?
Hon Sir,
To give a more lucid example as to why I accused you of being naïve.
4. Why is that when we travel from Lahore to Rawalpindi on GT Road, we can cross at least 5 major cantonment areas and if we travel from Delhi to Jaipur (almost the same distance) we do not see any cantonment area?
Unquote
Kindly look at the Pakistan map. We have no strategic depth. Therefore we cant adopt the policy of letting the enemy come in and then cut off his supply lines. We therefore need to respond quickly. It takes time to move men and material to the front line. Pakistan has constructed cantonments close to the border and LOC. GT road runs practically parallel to LOC. Delhi to Jaipur road is a misguided comparison. Travel along the LOC in the Occupied Kashmir and you would see Indian Army everywhere. There are more troops in Occupied Kashmir that the total strength of PA.
I dont have time to justify and rebut each and every point. You only read anti PA writers and refer to them. I hoped that you would analyse anti state and anti PA writings more closely and then decide what to believe. No one is entirely right and no one is entirely wrong, however facts can be twisted/ words taken out of contest by clever writers to prove their point. The motive is therefore far more important. Just to illustrate how mischievous writers can use references;
You don't have to be afraid of getting banned aslong you follow the forum rules...unless Neo is reading your post, then your in a unchartered territory.
Besides, if I'm not banned yet, your safe here.
Fatman17 sahib, I've seen media reports highlighting the fact that the next Pak GHQ will comprise of generals with jihadi leanings as these were the first batches of junior officers indoctrinated in that manner in the early days of the Zia regime.
In the below film, towards the end, a young Pak captain espouses "shahadat" but I'm not worried about this as "fighting ranks" would use jihadist principles to motivate their troops in battle.
_c2QNOkEp5c[/media] - Profile of a General - Pakistan
However, when this captain becomes a general, he (and colleagues) would be appointed to manage Pak nuclear assets and that the decision to deploy these assets may be influenced by his (their) jihadist leanings...What is your personal opinion about it?
And if you don't mind my asking, what made you turn away from the Zia-ist model? Is it because its anti-western/backward looking, etc.? Or is it because this model could prove to be dangerous when critical decisions are made?
Thanks in advance
With the sort of politicans we have, there is a reason why people of Pakistan trust the army more than the politicans.
Which of the politicians are in power in Pakistan is also at times 'directed' by the military. Remember IJI?
And if I do agree that Army is more trustworthy and efficient in governing Pakistan, what about the other points? Why is Army into businesses?