Pakistan to question exclusion of Islamic countries from anti-terror alliance

Hiptullha

• 56783d3485a3a.jpg
    Sartaj Aziz was of the view that Pakistan took principled stance on all issues including those of Middle East and Arab countries.─ AP/File
    ISLAMABAD: The adviser to prime minister on foreign affairs, Sartaj Aziz, told Senate that the exclusion of some Islamic countries from the Saudi-led 34-nation anti-terror alliance will be discussed at international level.

Answering a question posed by Senate chairman on exclusion of Syria, Iraq and Iran from the Saudi-led alliance, Aziz said on Monday the issue would be discussed in upcoming meetings in the next couple of weeks and also in the upcoming Organisation of Islamic Countries (OIC) summit.

"We have some ideas about the issue which are yet to be discussed,” he added.

Related: Pakistan part of 34-state Islamic military alliance against terrorism, says KSA

Aziz, while winding up a motion moved by Senator Sehar Kamran about success and failure of Pakistan's foreign policy, said the prime objective of country's foreign policy was to protect Pakistan's interests, sovereignty, security and non-interference in other countries' affairs.

He was of the view that Pakistan took principled stance on all issues including those of Middle East and Arab countries.

“On the Syrian war, we supported Syrian sovereignty and territorial integrity while on Yemen issue we showed solidarity with Saudi Arabia and stressed peaceful resolution of the issue through dialogue process,” said the premier's adviser.

Related: UAE minister warns Pakistan of ‘heavy price for ambiguous stand’ on Yemen

Spelling out the top priorities of country's foreign policy,Aziz said that Pakistan believes that a peaceful neighbourhood is essential for economic revival and progress, adding the country's focus was on trade and investment and not aid.

Aziz added that when the PML-N came into power, the prime minister wrote letters to all missions that economic diplomacy was the country's top priority.

Talking about recent terrorists incidents in Afghanistan, he said that it was Afghanistan's internal issue, adding that "Pakistan has no favourite group in Afghanistan and it is committed to durable peace in the neighbouring country".

Aziz claimed that that due to successful foreign policy of Pakistan, Indian government came upon the table to start comprehensive dialogue process with Pakistan on all outstanding issues, as Pakistan has successfully and forcefully presented its case on all international forums.

Related: Pakistan, India agree to restart ‘comprehensive’ dialogue process

He also informed the Senators that due to successful foreign visits of Nawaz Sharif, foreign investment and mega projects have been initiated.

He added that due to the foreign policy pursued by the regime, a country like Russia has promised investment in gas pipeline and the Central Asian Countries have also shown willingness to join China Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) project.

Yaar yeh budha jab bhi monh kholta hai chawal hi marta hai. Why he didn't raised the question when alliance was announced, why he is firing a shurli now?.
better late than never, right?

No, They screwed up relations on Yemen and is trying to do it again. Purpose of alliance was very clear from very start, ISPR and FO statements closed the chapter in best possible way, now this dumb *** is starting controversy again. I don't know why this idiot is given that much important position.

Yaar yeh budha jab bhi monh kholta hai chawal hi marta hai. Why he didn't raised the question when alliance was announced, why he is firing a shurli now?.

You're taking it on your heart. :p. Otherwise whatever he said is on point.

No, They screwed up relations on Yemen and is trying to do it again. Purpose of alliance was very clear from very start, ISPR and FO statements closed the chapter in best possible way, now this dumb *** is starting controversy again. I don't know why this idiot is given that much important position.
Except he's right. ISPR and FO were never given clear indications of what this alliance's mission statement was, and not including Iran, Iraq and Syria further puts suspicions on this alliance's end goals.

It's clear to everyone that this is an anti-Iran alliance, disguised as a anti-Daesh alliance. Pakistan cannot afford to get in between Iran and KSA's bickering.

I support an anto-Daesh alliance, but from what I can tell, this has more to do with KSA and Iran, than it does with Daesh.

Yes, I am taking it on my heart because whenever this good for nothing idiot opens his mouth, he makes diplomatic blunders and create problems for Pakistan.

Wooowwww. This politics is full of blunders. So that's how you're gonna react to every single blunder? Shurli, idiot, chawal, dumb *beep*. :p You need to calm down. Talking Particularly, here he is making valid points.

Except he's right. ISPR and FO were never given clear indications of what this alliance's mission statement was, and not including Iran, Iraq and Syria further puts suspicions on this alliance's end goals.

It's clear to everyone that this is an anti-Iran alliance, disguised as a anti-Daesh alliance. Pakistan cannot afford to get in between Iran and KSA's bickering.

Everyone from very first day knew what's the purpose of this alliance, hence the matter was politely closed without creating any diplomatic rows, but this dumbass probably don't know even abc of diplomacy.

Wooowwww. This politics is full of blunders. So that's how you're gonna react to every single blunder? Shurli, idiot, chawal, dumb *beep*. :p You need to calm down. Talking Particularly, here he is making valid points.

Was he sleeping before? or his expired brain now understood that alliance is question mark? There is no such thing as valid point or invalid point in diplomacy, only thing which matters is how and when you are making point. And he scuks big time on both.

Everyone from very first day knew what's the purpose of this alliance, hence the matter was politely closed without creating any diplomatic rows, but this dumbass probably don't know even abc of diplomacy.
Not really. You blame him, when KSA should be blamed. The fact that they (AGAIN) decided to include Pakistan in this alliance, without it's express public permission, is the real issue here.

As far as I'm concerned, KSA should have known better, but I'm not surprised that they didn't.

Let me ask you this, should Pakistan have joined knowing that this was an anti-Iran alliance?

Not really. You blame him, when KSA should be blamed. The fact that they (AGAIN) decided to include Pakistan in this alliance, without it's express public permission, is the real issue here.

As far as I'm concerned, KSA should have known better, but I'm not surprised that they didn't.

Let me ask you this, should Pakistan have joined knowing that this was an anti-Iran alliance?

How you concluded that i want Pakistan to join this kind of alliance? if you have missed KSA have been already blamed and bashed by people and media for this, but FO & ISPR closed the chapter with diplomatic press releases before things turns ugly like Yemen saga, but as i said this dumbo whenever opens his mouth create problems for Pakistan, and same thing he is trying to do here again with new shosha.

Was he sleeping before? or his expired brain now understood that alliance is question mark? There is no such thing as valid point or invalid point in diplomacy, only thing which matters is how and when you are making point. And he scuks big time on both.

You simply hate him. :p So what's the point to say anything. :p

You are being too harsh on the old man. Thing is we are a democracy after all. He was asked a pretty direct question by the Senator that why were these three countries not included in the alliance and would you ask Saudis about this. The poor guy only replied to that.

Its our parliamentarians who should know how to behave and not undermine Pakistan's position. You should have listened to Faryal Tlpur's speech, I read it and it was nothing but Anti-Saudi bs. And it was not because She does not agree with Saudi policies, its just that She is angry with Saudis not agreeing to help his brother and her out by interfering in local politics, during Zardari's recent visit.