Black Widow
Pakistan will support taliban always.. Talibans are asset for Pakistan....
Last time it resulted in TTP.. Lets see what comes this time.. We will know the actual result in about 10 years from nowPakistan will support taliban always.. Talibans are asset for Pakistan....
time to seal the border;
on demand, police officials should ask suspicious people to display ID cards....those who fail to comply should be sent to some office where they would be photographed and their thumb-prints taken - and then they be sent off
Afghan embassy should take care of their repatriation.
Pakistan is facing so many disasters - this is one that can seriously impact demographics and more importantly -- the national security. The population growth is already higher than it should be, more explosion of population - and that too of undocumented people - will be disastrous
Wrror, who but the Tribal People & their Levies would be better suited to defending the borders; I once heard a Tribal friend of mine tell me that 'Bajaur mein pathar bhi idhar sei udhar ho jata hai tou hamein pata hota haii tou bandaa tou aur hi baaat haii' - That makes me wonder - Are the Tribal People really on the same page as the Government & the Security Forces or are they just tired as hell because of incessant goof-ups at the Policy & Operational Level by the Government & the Army that they want no part in this war between the Taliban & the Army ?
My Bajauri friend once told me 'Agaii sei Taliban marteii hain...picheiii seiii Fauj martii hai - Hum loggg jain bhii tou kahan jaain....hum thuk gaii hain mayateii (funeral processions) uthaa uthaa kar'
I'd like your opinion on this too @Pakone @haviZsultan @Hyperion @Secur @chauvunist @Hermione G !
How do we get out of this mess without alienating our own people (the Tribals) & putting them through more suffering than this war already has ?
The military leaders are at pains to distinguish between the Afghan Taliban, to which Pakistan maintains ties and which they argue can be seen as fighting against occupation, and its local imitators who they see as domestic terrorists.
Okay Sir, but exactly what are we doing that will help us prepare for the aftermath of the US withdrawal? I mean, actual, concrete, effective steps, not rhetoric or useless tokens.
Pakistan will support taliban always.. Talibans are asset for Pakistan....
Last time it resulted in TTP.. Lets see what comes this time.. We will know the actual result in about 10 years from now
As far as picking sides in Afghanistan goes, that's a foreign policy matter, and in the end, we can't decide who shows up in Kabul, that is out of our power.
Among other things, we must bring law and order to the border regions, so that they may not fester problems for themselves and us once the situation deteriorates in Afghanistan. Along with that, stricter controls on possible influx of refugees. The mass migration from Afghanistan into Pakistan's major cities is a problem. What starts to happen is that slums forms, and it's inevitable, and along with those slums are their associated problems of poverty and crime. Perhaps controlling refugee movement is a good idea, it may seem unethical, but frankly, putting our necks on the line in the name of morality has not gotten us very far, that much we can say from experience.
Sealing the border is a long shot, it would require more man power then we can move and more money than we have. Though more of a permanent presence of the army along the border,a long major crossing points would go a long mile. Promoting those areas the army has a presence as trade routes. Along with that, we must put pressure on Karzai to accept the Durand line. the border in it's current state will create more problems for us, we may not forrsee any more problems in the future, but I am sure that having the border in such a state when our neighbour is are constantly at war is not sustainable for us.
Also, in our border regions, we must bring about change and development, not to invade the tribal lifestyle which they may oppose, but to gradually change certain aspects. Tackle illiteracy, set up permanent government and army presence in those areas. Thus bringing about law and order. These steps should also help us drive and keep out militancy, the tribals themselves would then reject extremists elements, not least the taliban.
Getting rid of illiteracy may go a mile in changing the view of people in our border regions, instead of living by their own laws, they will be more open to getting involved in the democratic process, they will vote and they will use that power to overcome local issues. It will also brighten economic prospects of people in that area, making them less vulnerable to extremists and their cash incentives. Once they empower themselves through vote, they wont ever look back.
The above, may seem vague and insignificant. I haven't thought it through so much. All I know is that impending disaster awaits us if we don't fix up in time another round of violence in Afghanistan.
I completely disagree.
The same old is repeated by you folks on a daily basis, despite myself and other members having been through this discussion with some of you many times.
And you hope to do all that by 2014? Isn't it kind of a short time to develop, educate, seal and govern these areas in a few months, Sir? What have we been waiting for all these years, if we can indeed do even 10% of any of that?
We may agree to disagree on this.. But it was really the radicalization of the country under Zia's rule and its glorification of Mujahiddins in the afghan war that eventually led to the mess you find yourself in.. Ones who forget history, are doomed to repeat it..
time to seal the border;
Wrror, who but the Tribal People & their Levies would be better suited to defending the borders; I once heard a Tribal friend of mine tell me that 'Bajaur mein pathar bhi idhar sei udhar ho jata hai tou hamein pata hota haii tou bandaa tou aur hi baaat haii' - That makes me wonder - Are the Tribal People really on the same page as the Government & the Security Forces or are they just tired as hell because of incessant goof-ups at the Policy & Operational Level by the Government & the Army that they want no part in this war between the Taliban & the Army ?
My Bajauri friend once told me 'Agaii sei Taliban marteii hain...picheiii seiii Fauj martii hai - Hum loggg jain bhii tou kahan jaain....hum thuk gaii hain mayateii (funeral processions) uthaa uthaa kar'
I'd like your opinion on this too @Pakone @haviZsultan @Hyperion @Secur @chauvunist @Hermione G !
How do we get out of this mess without alienating our own people (the Tribals) & putting them through more suffering than this war already has ?