DANGER-ZONE
u think it but india will not go for F 16 for sure becoz i know it my gut felling and sixisth sense what ever u call it
Sixth Sense
and yeah I agree, i doubt they'd opt for the F16. In all honesty, if I were them I would go for FA/18 Hornet. But I think in the end, they will stick to their Russian suppliers. Maybe they'll go for Mig-35, which is an awesome looking aircraft I must say. How it were to perform, well we'll never know anytime soon.
Unless.....
yes Mig 35 is front runner contander if russian cant sell it if they offer it to pakistan PAF will be more than happy to buy
U.S. arming india (especially Air Force) would have serious geo-political ramifications in the region. We know that. hindoostanys know that. Americans know that.
U.S. defence companies would be happy to sell to indian.....Russians would be furious if indian opted for American aircrafts. Pakistanis would be furious that America Congress allows such a sale to attain approval. I don't doubt that if such a deal took place, we'd look towards Russia....Perhaps try to act as a go-between for China and Russia, encourage tri-lateral cooperation.
Who knows. We have to exercise some balance, as long as we are operating U.S. origin aircrafts and rely on their spares and tech. support --we have to work with them (Lockheed Martin Corporation, and the U.S.) on diplomatic/professional level
PAF knows what they are doing and how to do it.
rafale ke paise tumhare abbo denge kya
i think only J-10B is the existable alternative for the purchase of F-16block 52
Nightrider kindly watch ur words he is our most respected member u should respect him he have contributed for the forum next time when u reply kindly watch whom u r messing with stealth is like us and we are like stealth if any one say anything to you and stealth it like he said to me and insulted the forum i will not going to forgive next time watch ur words.
Stealth Kindly on my request forgive him forgiving is a better option.
True but bro wat makes you think PAF will go for rafales? and do you think we have the funds for that boss?
yaar abu ko beach main mat lao.stealth bhi bhut gali galoch janta hai dekh ker haan.
The time frame is absolutely wrong. 18 F-16s will reach pakistan by the end of 2011 and if Pakistan does execute option for 18 more then all 36 will be here in pak by the end of 2013. Mark my words IAF MRCA tender will be stretched to atleast another year or even couple of more years, then it will take about a year to finalize the configuration. Production line will be installed in India which could take couple of years. then only by 2016-17 or so the first batch of the MRCA will be handed over to IAF. Indians can play fanboys as much they want but i am just being realistic.
Stealth
I know you have some reservations about the F16s and especially US. However, if you look at the number of F16s on order, do you see something significant? PAF and Pakistan in its current financial state cannot buy, maintain and run a fleet of fighters like the rafale. Secondly what advantage will the rafale give you that a developed FC20 will not give you? And why do think will the french be anymore generous to you than the Americans,since you will ask them for a loan you may well not be able to pay.
I think you have to look at the bigger picture and the painting on the wall is that we will continue to indegenize and incorporate tech only rather than expensive fighters. In this light it makes sense to buy f16s in small numbers especially in the light of the missiles and other goodies that you get with them. The latter may well be more important than the planes themselves. Our position with regards to Indian acquisitions needs to also be understood. We will never mount an agressive campaign against anyone and most of our war will be defensive. if that is the case, then all that we need is credible deterrent rather than matching them number for number, which will not be possible.
regards
Araz
@Growler
Man 126 Aircraft deal and 18 aircraft deal (huge difference between such deal). In 8 years (2005 - 2013) we will get 36 Aircraft (if US delivers those aircrafts in deal time frame). I think while posting you forgot our past deals with US.
About IAF MRCA deal, it is still not finalized. Count the days after the deal is finalized because deal will finalize in 2010 or 2011. Now count days from 2011 2017. In 6 year they will get 126 aircrafts as opposed to the 36 that Pakistan will get in 8 years
Point to be noted, count deals days just like:
* PAF 2005 - 2013 (8 years and just 36 Aircrafts). The deal is just on paper. We cannot trust USA to fulfill the deal.
* IAF 2011 - 2017 (6 years and 126 aircraft including extra options like re-fueler etc). Israel is an active lobby against Pakistan and the only way US has to recover her economy is through selling weapons to India.