PAF's New Challenge : India Ordering, Modernizing SU-30MKIs

India Ordering, Modernizing SU-30MKIs

su30mki4au.jpg

India’s SU-30MKI fighter-bombers are the pride of its fleet.

Below them, India’s local Tejas LCA lightweight fighter program aims to fill its low-end fighter needs, and the $10+ billion M-MRCA competition is negotiating to buy France’s Rafale as an intermediate tier.

India isn’t neglecting its high end SU-30s, though. Initial SU-30MK and MKI aircraft have all been upgraded to the full SU-30MKI Phase 3 standard, and the upgraded “Super 30″ standard aims to keep Sukhoi’s planes on top.

Meanwhile, production continues, and India is becoming a regional resource for SU-27/30 Flanker family support.

India originally received standard SU-30MKs, while its government and industry worked with the Russians to develop the more advanced SU-30MKI, complete with innovations like thrust-vectoring engines and canard foreplanes.

The Su-30MKI ended up using electronic systems from a variety of countries: a Russian NIIP N-011 radar and long-range IRST sensor, French navigation and heads-up display systems from Thales, Israeli electronic warfare systems and LITENING advanced targeting pods, and Indian computers and ancillary avionics systems.

SU-30MK aircraft and crews performed very well at an American Red Flag exercise in 2008, and the RAF’s evident respect for the SU-30 MKIs in the 2007 Indra Dhanush exercise is equally instructive. The Russians were intrigued enough to turn a version with different electronics into their new export standard (SU-30MKA/MKM), and even the Russian VVF has begin buying “SU-30SM” fighters.

So far, India has ordered 272 SU-30s in 4 stages:

# 50 SU-30MK and MKIs ordered directly from Russia in 1996. The SU-30MKs were reportedly modernized to a basic SU-30MKI standard.
# Another 40 SU-30MKIs, ordered direct in 2007. These machines have reportedly been upgraded to the “Phase 3″ standard.
# A license-build deal with India’s HAL that aims to produce up to 140 more SU-30MKI Phase 3 planes from 2013-2017
# An improved set of 42 HAL-built SU-30MKI “Super 30s”. A preliminary order was reportedly signed in 2011, but the final deal waited until December 2012.

The Super 30 represents the next evolution for the SU-30MKI. Upgrades are reported to include a new radar (probably AESA, and likely Phazotron’s Zhuk-AE), improved onboard computers, upgraded electronic warfare systems, and the ability to fire the air-launched version of the Indo-Russian BrahMos supersonic cruise missile.

India may eventually upgrade its earlier models to this standard. For now, they represent the tail end of HAL’s assembly schedule, as the assembly of standard SU-30MKIs continues. The big challenge for HAL is to keep that expansion going, by meeting India’s production targets.

The IAF is reportedly scheduled to raise its 8th SU-30 squadron at Sirsa by December 2012, which is close to the Pakistani border. This is part of a larger balancing of India’s force structure. Initial SU-30 MKI squadron deployments had been focused near the Chinese border, but the new deployment will even things out.

Based on 3rd party sources, IAF SU-30MKI squadrons currently comprise:

2 Wing’s 20 Sqn. “Lightnings” & 30 Sqn. “Rhinos”, at Lohegaon AFS in Pune (W)
11 Wing’s 2 Sqn. “Winged Arrows”, based at Tezpur AFS (NE, near Tibet)
15 Wing’s 8 Sqn. “Eight Pursuits” & 24 Sqn. “Hawks”, at Bareilly AFS (NC, near W Nepal)
14 Wing’s 102 Sqn. “Trisonics”, at Guwahati AFS (NE, near Tibet)
34 Wing’s 31 Sqn. “Lions”, at Halwara AFS in Punjab (NW)
45 Wing’s 21 Sqn. “Ankush”, based at Sirsa AFS in Haryana (NW, pending, MiG-21 conversion)

Tejas="low end fighter needs"
Says it all.

India Ordering, Modernizing SU-30MKIs

su30mki4au.jpg

Arrey Baap re, Armed to the Tooth
& i'm loving it :smitten:

Arey...tum log pehla challenge (non-upgraded MKI) ka jawab doge toh doosra challenge kya hai kidar hai samaj mein ayega.

Arey, Tum loug challenge karo tu jawab dey gey na.....last time pura saal border pey jhak mar key wapis chaley gayee thay. !!

Arey, ham log tum ko kitne bar challenge karchukehai. Tank beje, aircraft beje, ships beje. bomb beje.
ab kya bejna hai? missile?

ab aur ek war ka intezar karraha hu. kargil jaisa.

Arey, ham log tum ko kitne bar challenge karchukehai. Tank beje, aircraft beje, ships beje. bomb beje.
ab kya bejna hai? missile?

ab aur ek war ka intezar karraha hu. kargil jaisa.

Yea sub tumarey Bejey mein hi hey....border film dhekho, jai hind bolou aur sou jaou. :lol:

Indian airforce is already ahead on technological end and is understood as you have threats from two sides one from PAF and another from China .....so no need to tell time n time again about how should PAF deal with iaf new acquisitions as any sane person will know that in any such war scenario india will never put all her assets against Pakistan ...as it will let the backdoor wide open for China to sneak in .... currently india's stance is more China specific so better if you brag about countering China ....

We have enough to defend our airspace from india and you have enough to defend your airspace against Pakistan but the question lies is what india possess enough to defend against the red dragon ...your focus would be on that rather than jumping up and down over some acquisitions

but as fan boys and internet warriors tend to overlook prospects when overloaded with excitement no such case with the military think tanks and war planners

Yea sub tumarey Bejey mein hi hey....border film dhekho, jai hind bolou aur sou jaou. :lol:

Thats beja. beje means "sent". Or maybe the words are different in urdu so dont laugh at jokes-not.:tdown:

Udhar pakistani check post par IA ne kabza karliye, jao dekho strategic/geopolitics section mein:lol:

Indian airforce is already ahead on technological end and is understood as you have threats from two sides one from PAF and another from China .....so no need to tell time n time again about how should PAF deal with iaf new acquisitions as any sane person will know that in any such war scenario india will never put all her assets against Pakistan ...as it will let the backdoor wide open for China to sneak in .... currently india's stance is more China specific so better if you brag about countering China ....

We have enough to defend our airspace from india and you have enough to defend your airspace against Pakistan but the question lies is what india possess enough to defend against the red dragon ...your focus would be on that rather than jumping up and down for some acquisitions

First you need to stop jumping up and down about the Indian media-written articles.

Defence preparedness depends on who is more likely to fight a war with us. and on that front India
is doing whatever we think we should to counter the chinese threat.

china too, stockpiles the largest portion of its forces on the Indian border, not the south/eastern areas
where US threat is likely - because India and China are more likely to fight a war than China & US.

Learn something, read up something instead of ranting.

Thats beja. beje means "sent". Or maybe the words are different in urdu so dont laugh at jokes-not.:tdown:

Udhar pakistani check post par IA ne kabza karliye, jao dekho strategic/geopolitics section mein:lol:

First you need to stop jumping up and down about the Indian media-written articles.

Defence preparedness depends on who is more likely to fight a war with us. and on that front India
is doing whatever we think we should to counter the chinese threat.

china too, stockpiles the largest portion of its forces on the Indian border, not the south/eastern areas
where US threat is likely - because India and China are more likely to fight a war than China & US.

Learn something, read up something instead of ranting.

are you nuts man?

firstly your country mates started it all ...and my reply was in accordance ...and prove even one thing in my post that can be tagged as ranting?

Seems to be another emotional kind ...your reply didnt make any sense you repeated what i said and then called mine as ranting ..how ironic one can get

are you nuts man?

firstly your country mates started it all ...and my reply was in accordance ...and prove even one thing in my post that can be tagged as ranting?

Seems to be another emotional kind ...your reply didnt make any sense you repeated what i said and then called mine as ranting ..how ironic one can get

Im not nuts, man.

First, you take too seriously what some crazed journo writes up on the net.

second, you point fingers at India's preparedness on the chinese front when the topic is not about that
at all. Instead of posting anything of value regarding the "PAF's new challenge" thing, you go pointing
at red dragon blah blah blah fancy man. thats what i called ranting.

Im not nuts, man.

First, you take too seriously what some crazed journo writes up on the net.

second, you point fingers at India's preparedness on the chinese front when the topic is not about that
at all. Instead of posting anything of value regarding the "PAF's new challenge" thing, you go pointing
at red dragon blah blah blah fancy man. thats what i called ranting.

when i already mentioned that iaf has more technological advantage than PAF what did that mean? wasnt that enough to prove my point?

We have enough to defend our airspace from india and you have enough to defend your airspace against Pakistan but the question lies is what india possess enough to defend against the red dragon ...your focus would be on that rather than jumping up and down over some acquisitions

but as fan boys and internet warriors tend to overlook prospects when overloaded with excitement no such case with the military think tanks and war planners

It is not just about defence for the IAF. As per the new doctrine, the IAF's aim is to take the war to the enemy, and they are adamant that future wars should be fought in enemy airspace. We can defend against the PAF without the MKIs - mirages, mig29s, mig-21s (for now) and a large number of LCAs in future can easily defend against the PAF. Long range heavy hitters cum air superiority fighters like the MKI are meant to go on the offensive. The MKI-Rafale combo can do this against China. (Of course, China has enough heavy hitters to hit back deep into India as well.) But these heavy air superiority fighters also have their part to play against Pakistan, if we want to penetrate the defensive shield of JF-17s. Our lighter aircrafts cannot do that.

By the way your assumption that the IAF will never put all its asssets against pak may not be true. I know that our planners are planning for the eventuality of a two front war, but it is only a remote possibility. China has nothing much to gain by sneaking in while we are at war with pak, other than the small contested territories. But its loss will be a lot more - either in the form of territory, or more possibly, in how it will hurt the huge market that India is for Chinese goods. Indo-Chinese relations are a lot better than what you might think from reading PDFites.

Anyway, since we have these heavy hitters in our AF, we wouldn't have to deploy all of them in the west. They can take off from bases in the east and still comfortably strike targets in pak, and return.

Does Pakistan still plan to aquire 250 JF-17s, or have the numbers been scaled down? If they do aquire that many, they are an excellent choice (along with the F-16s) to defend the airspace and make it costly for IAF to attack. The MKI-rafale combo is a must for IAF to maintain complete superiority.