over Rs60bn untaxed foreign income detected
Mubarak Zeb KhanPublished March 10, 2021 - Updated about 2 hours ago
Facebook Count
Twitter Share

The country’s top tax machinery has detected Rs60.308 billion foreign untaxed income disbursements to 75,615 individuals through digital transaction. — AFP/File

ISLAMABAD: In what appears to be a new dimension in taxation, the country’s top tax machinery has detected Rs60.308 billion foreign untaxed income disbursements to 75,615 individuals through digital transactions in less than two-and-a-half years, Dawn has learned from official sources.
The cases have been detected in an investigation by the Offshore Commissionerate of Large Taxpayers Office, Islamabad, into the money received by Pakistanis on account of provision of various freelancer consultancy services and sale of goods to various foreign clients.
Official documents seen by Dawn show that foreign clients paid money to Pakistani individuals through a US-based company, M/s Payoneer Inc., engaged in cross-border payments in 200 countries and supporting more than 150 currencies, including the Pakistani rupee. The money was finally transferred to their Pakistani bank accounts. The digital transactions were carried out in tax years 2019, 2020 and half of the tax year 2021.
The investigation reveals that a huge amount of Rs60.308bn was disbursed to 75,615 beneficiaries as their foreign-source income in terms of provisions of Section 101, read with Section 11(5), of the Income Tax Ordinance 2001.
The overall revenue impact of the unearthed digital transactions is estimated to be over Rs10bn. This will not only result in broadening the tax base but also improve the overall tax-to-GDP ratio of the country by adding genuine taxpayers having regular foreign income.
Out of this, 45,012 beneficiaries do not exist on tax roll — have no National Tax Number (NTM) — and 30,603 are registered on tax roll. However, only 17,985 of the registered persons are return filers, while 12,618 have not filed any returns with the tax department.
Further details show that Payoneer Inc. has no physical presence in Pakistan. Foreign clients make payments in the Payoneer account of the individual Pakistani in the United States and the person withdraws the money from Payoneer account maintained by Mobilink Micro Finance Bank Limited (MMBL) either through Jazz Wallet or from their account maintained with any bank in Pakistan.
The investigation shows that besides MMBL, 27 Pakistani banks were also used by Pakistani clients for withdrawal of foreign source income remitted through Payoneer.
When contacted, Offshore Taxation Commissioner Zulfiqar Ahmad told Dawn that it was a big achievement for the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) as taxation of untaxed foreign income would not only contribute to the national exchequer in terms of revenue and new taxpayers but disbursement of non-resident company would also be taxed in Pakistan.
He said the exercise, carried out under the order of the director general of International Taxes in Islamabad, had resulted in identifying a huge number of 45,012 persons who were liable to be registered under income tax and pay tax on the income earned through Payoneer.
About non-NTN holders, the Offshore Commissionerate has in its investigation report recommended for their compulsory registration. It has also suggested to the FBR to issue bulk notices to the individuals who are registered but do not file tax returns, as well as those filers who have not declared taxable foreign income in Pakistan.
Moreover, on the basis of significant economic presence of Payoneer in Pakistan as well as its services originated from outside the country but terminated within the territorial jurisdiction of Pakistan, it has been proposed that tax proceedings be initiated against Payoneer for its income on account of payment to Pakistani individuals under the Income Tax Ordinance 2001 and the Federal Excise Act 2005.
Published in Dawn, March 10th, 2021

over Rs60bn untaxed foreign income detected
Mubarak Zeb KhanPublished March 10, 2021 - Updated about 2 hours ago
Facebook Count
Twitter Share

ISLAMABAD: In what appears to be a new dimension in taxation, the country’s top tax machinery has detected Rs60.308 billion foreign untaxed income disbursements to 75,615 individuals through digital transactions in less than two-and-a-half years, Dawn has learned from official sources.
The cases have been detected in an investigation by the Offshore Commissionerate of Large Taxpayers Office, Islamabad, into the money received by Pakistanis on account of provision of various freelancer consultancy services and sale of goods to various foreign clients.
Official documents seen by Dawn show that foreign clients paid money to Pakistani individuals through a US-based company, M/s Payoneer Inc., engaged in cross-border payments in 200 countries and supporting more than 150 currencies, including the Pakistani rupee. The money was finally transferred to their Pakistani bank accounts. The digital transactions were carried out in tax years 2019, 2020 and half of the tax year 2021.
The investigation reveals that a huge amount of Rs60.308bn was disbursed to 75,615 beneficiaries as their foreign-source income in terms of provisions of Section 101, read with Section 11(5), of the Income Tax Ordinance 2001.
The overall revenue impact of the unearthed digital transactions is estimated to be over Rs10bn. This will not only result in broadening the tax base but also improve the overall tax-to-GDP ratio of the country by adding genuine taxpayers having regular foreign income.
Out of this, 45,012 beneficiaries do not exist on tax roll — have no National Tax Number (NTM) — and 30,603 are registered on tax roll. However, only 17,985 of the registered persons are return filers, while 12,618 have not filed any returns with the tax department.
Further details show that Payoneer Inc. has no physical presence in Pakistan. Foreign clients make payments in the Payoneer account of the individual Pakistani in the United States and the person withdraws the money from Payoneer account maintained by Mobilink Micro Finance Bank Limited (MMBL) either through Jazz Wallet or from their account maintained with any bank in Pakistan.
The investigation shows that besides MMBL, 27 Pakistani banks were also used by Pakistani clients for withdrawal of foreign source income remitted through Payoneer.
When contacted, Offshore Taxation Commissioner Zulfiqar Ahmad told Dawn that it was a big achievement for the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) as taxation of untaxed foreign income would not only contribute to the national exchequer in terms of revenue and new taxpayers but disbursement of non-resident company would also be taxed in Pakistan.
He said the exercise, carried out under the order of the director general of International Taxes in Islamabad, had resulted in identifying a huge number of 45,012 persons who were liable to be registered under income tax and pay tax on the income earned through Payoneer.
About non-NTN holders, the Offshore Commissionerate has in its investigation report recommended for their compulsory registration. It has also suggested to the FBR to issue bulk notices to the individuals who are registered but do not file tax returns, as well as those filers who have not declared taxable foreign income in Pakistan.
Moreover, on the basis of significant economic presence of Payoneer in Pakistan as well as its services originated from outside the country but terminated within the territorial jurisdiction of Pakistan, it has been proposed that tax proceedings be initiated against Payoneer for its income on account of payment to Pakistani individuals under the Income Tax Ordinance 2001 and the Federal Excise Act 2005.
Published in Dawn, March 10th, 2021
Many or most of em are freelancers who have tax examptions till 2025 not..

Just please don't **** up the one good thing we have going on for last few years--freelancing.

Protect our young and educated kids from our sarkari departments and these kids can do wonders. Leave remittances as they are. Educated kids sitting in their homes, paying exorbitant utility bills out of their own pockets earning hundreds of millions $ on merit beating the best of other countries. Let them be please. May Allah SWT protect these kids from all sararki idaray.

Who needs an enemy when we have judiciary, FBR, police, customs.

So sad to see FBR is going after hard working freelancers. They did everything on their own without any Govt support and now Govt wants a piece of hard earned income of these freelancers.

Why Govt don't put any tax on agriculture sector? Because all wadayras are direct beneficiaries and they are in national assembly. They won't allow this to happen but will destroy our small IT industry.

IMF danda. revenue targets .

the bhookey nangey sarkari salaried assholes of FBR are just doing their jobs .

--------

failure - thy name is PTI
Why Govt don't put any tax on agriculture sector? Because all wadayras are direct beneficiaries and they are in national assembly. They won't allow this to happen but will destroy our small IT industry.

ALL MNC's and big corporates in pakistan AVOID taxes using loose legal loopholes and smart usage of DEFZE offshore .

ex chairman FBR, mr shabbar zaidi was running an audit firm which actually ' guided ' companies how to evade taxes . and then PTI trolls like @AZ1 lecture us on income taxes

magar inn ka zor sirf freelancers pe chalta hai

The Persian Shah will lose favor of the Hendis if he keeps taxing them unfairly.

Who needs an enemy when we have judiciary, FBR, police, customs.

So sad to see FBR is going after hard working freelancers. They did everything on their own without any Govt support and now Govt wants a piece of hard earned income of these freelancers.

What country doesn't tax that income?

The few that wouldn't these people couldn't even move to or survive in on that freelancer work anyways.

You guys need to understand how critical it is for Pakistan to generate tax revenues. If it can get more tax revenues rolling in and invest it into industries you'll see exponential growth.

Pakistan can likely grow well over 12% yoy over the next 10 years just investing in infrastructure projects from housing to water sanitation projects.

I generate a lot of my money through investments, the Canadian government hasn't helped me in the slightest in fact they've stood in my way (ex. can't even use US brokerages now). However, I still owe the tax man's share at the end of the year.

You think I'm not upset? Of course I am, but that money goes into social programs that help people in need within Canada, it goes into supporting public infrastructure like our roads that keeps our economy going, into schools to produce the future entrepreneurs who will grow our economy and create companies like Shopify I can invest in to generate more wealth.

The Persian Shah will lose favor of the Hendis if he keeps taxing them unfairly.

He's completely right for ensuring tax compliance and Pakistan needs to generate more tax revenue.

If Khan invests that additional revenue into industry to grow the economy the people will be significantly better off.

Either way you'll see any government that comes to power doing it in fact the tax to GDP ratio rose under Nawaz Sharif's term and no matter what government comes to power they have no choice now.

money received by Pakistanis on account of provision of various freelancer consultancy services and sale of goods to various foreign clients.
O bhai freelancers ko to choor do.

They want to tax everyone but will waste collected tax like baap ka maal.

You guys need to understand how critical it is for Pakistan to generate tax revenues. If it can get more tax revenues rolling in and invest it into industries you'll see exponential growth.

You again :) I think I have had this exact same discussion with you in another thread. Bhai, no one is against taxation. Its the unfair indirect taxation that burdens working middle class disproportionately and allows traders, importers etc live tax free is what I am against.

Of course Pakistan needs taxes. There are examples of taxation found in times of the four caliphs as well. I am happy to pay my share but I just want others to pay theirs too. I am generally Ok with all of PTI's policies so far except taxation. He missed that narrow window of oppurtunity in his first few quarters in Gov when people would have supported his moves to bring doctors, lawyers, traders in the tax net. Instead he announced yet another amnesty scheme to allow grade 17 and above uniform and civilian sarkari baboos to launder their money through investments in unproductive land (property).

the Canadian government hasn't helped me in the slightest in fact they've stood in my way (ex. can't even use US brokerages now). However, I still owe the tax man's share at the end of the year.

Does the Canadian taxman harass you with fake notices? Does the canadian policeman show up outside your door to ask for bribes otherwise he puts you behind bars on a fake case? Does the canadian court officials ask for bribes just to register your case against these police/tax people? I am guessing no. Bhai with all due respect you seem to have no idea how rotten the system is here after 40 years of Bhutto/Nawaz rule.

What country doesn't tax that income?

The few that wouldn't these people couldn't even move to or survive in on that freelancer work anyways.

Pakistan can likely grow well over 12% yoy over the next 10 years just investing in infrastructure projects from housing to water sanitation projects.

I generate a lot of my money through investments, the Canadian government hasn't helped me in the slightest in fact they've stood in my way (ex. can't even use US brokerages now). However, I still owe the tax man's share at the end of the year.

You think I'm not upset? Of course I am, but that money goes into social programs that help people in need within Canada, it goes into supporting public infrastructure like our roads that keeps our economy going, into schools to produce the future entrepreneurs who will grow our economy and create companies like Shopify I can invest in to generate more wealth.

He's completely right for ensuring tax compliance and Pakistan needs to generate more tax revenue.

If Khan invests that additional revenue into industry to grow the economy the people will be significantly better off.

Either way you'll see any government that comes to power doing it in fact the tax to GDP ratio rose under Nawaz Sharif's term and no matter what government comes to power they have no choice now.

You are comparing Canadian government with Pakistani Government lol Pakistani govt is good for nothing. Read @Bouncer reply.

Yeah take monthly from elites doing business in Pakistan and enjoying all subsidies and custom exemptions but let's target people who make just enough to run their expenses - FBR babus

IMF danda. revenue targets .

the bhookey nangey sarkari salaried assholes of FBR are just doing their jobs .

--------

ALL MNC's and big corporates in pakistan AVOID taxes using loose legal loopholes and smart usage of DEFZE offshore .

ex chairman FBR, mr shabbar zaidi was running an audit firm which actually ' guided ' companies how to evade taxes . and then PTI trolls like @AZ1 lecture us on income taxes

magar inn ka zor sirf freelancers pe chalta hai
ap freelancer hoo? if so or those who are IT freelancer here is the link for them

tax.png

Maybe govt is planning to remove exemptions from IT sector. Otherwise does not make any sense.

ap freelancer hoo? if so or those who are IT freelancer here is the link for them

View attachment 723613

you are working / giving services in a foreign country . as such, this income is remittance and is not taxable

the video you shared does not give any reference to any tax clause under IT ord 2001.

bachey , meray sath tax pe behas na kiya kar :)