Now milk scam stains Army

DesiGuy

United States
CHANDIGARH: In yet another scam related embarrassment for the Indian Army, three officers, including one brigadier and two colonels, have been summoned to join a Court of Inquiry (CoI) ordered on the basis of an internal probe indicating financial irregularities running into crores in military farms based at Karu (Leh), Kargil and Jammu.

The CoI, to be headed by Nagrota-based chief of staff (CoS) of 16 Corps, has been convened by the Army commander of the Northern Command and is slated for hearing on August 10 at Nagrota.

The officers who have been asked to join the inquiry for their alleged role in the Rs 3-crore scam are Brigadier PK Tikoo, deputy director general (military farms) at Army headquarters; Colonel P Bali, director military farms (Army headquarters); and Colonel Sudhir Kashyap, who is presently working as director (military farms) at Western Command.

According to the initial inquiry, the alleged scam involved milk supply by military farm, Karu, which was responsible for supplying around 8,000 litre fresh milk every day to troops deployed in that area. As per the report, on papers 8,000 litres of fresh milk was shown to be purchased every day, whereas, actually only 4,000 litres of fresh milk was being bought afresh, while the rest was being made by using milk powder. The inquiry was ordered by the Northern Command HQs after several complaints about the military farms of the region were received by the Army authorities.

Now milk scam stains Army - India - The Times of India

I think Army needs to be re-structured. Put a watch on EVERY brigadier and colonel level officer and start court-martialling those who're found even in a hint of corruption and sentence them to execution once proven guilty.

Corruption can be ended with only one thing in India: fear of righteous law.

Now i hope they dont blame ISI for interfering with "dudoo" supply of Indian armed babies.

Revealing and accepting corruption is the first step to tackling and finally uprooting it, think of this not as a humiliation but as a blessing that these men were apprehended before they could become high-ups and really get their show going...............

I think Army needs to be re-structured. Put a watch on EVERY brigadier and colonel level officer and start court-martialling those who're found even in a hint of corruption and sentence them to execution once proven guilty.

Execution for corruption ? Do you live in North Korea or something ? This goes against the very basis of modern law, death penalty is reserved for Human Beings so vile that they are a threat to society like Murderers, Serial Killers and Serial Rapists.................not some office guy who embezzled a few crore rupees ! As bad as it is, it isn't NEAR as sufficient as getting a life sentence, death penalty is a completely different ball game...........................

Did you forget to read "if proven guilty" part? Corruption at defense level is unacceptable and whether North Korea or India or Nigera, this should be dealt with death. Simple reason, once these people get out, they are no longer taken in military employment and therefore resort to serve as mercenaries.

Those "few crore" rupees are obtained after lakhs of Indians toil with their sweat and blood and pay taxes... not the officer's father's property. When it comes to military, it is all military law. Democracy is limited to civilians who've paid taxes and have rights. Corrupt officers who play with national security and bring shame to the nation are not worthy of its benefits.

Democratic rights are those who understand their duties to the nation--not those who claim rights but give no duty to the country. So yes, corrupt officers must be executed.

Tshering22 Execution only if working defense people are working for enemy but execution for corruption is not really good imo.20-30 years in Prison is better (depending on the on corruption level this can be increased or decreased).

Did you forget to read "if proven guilty" part? Corruption at defense level is unacceptable and whether North Korea or India or Nigera, this should be dealt with death. Simple reason, once these people get out, they are no longer taken in military employment and therefore resort to serve as mercenaries.

Those "few crore" rupees are obtained after lakhs of Indians toil with their sweat and blood and pay taxes... not the officer's father's property. When it comes to military, it is all military law. Democracy is limited to civilians who've paid taxes and have rights. Corrupt officers who play with national security and bring shame to the nation are not worthy of its benefits.

Democratic rights are those who understand their duties to the nation--not those who claim rights but give no duty to the country. So yes, corrupt officers must be executed.

I think you missed the point, it's not a matter of whether they SHOULD be executed, the point is that they CAN'T be executed under Indian law, even if they are found guilty...............
Indian law is useless. I am aware of it and that is why all the modification has to be made to this so-called law where civilians face all inconveniences while terrorists, traitors, robbers have a life of convenience.

Military laws have to be changed

Ohh , no need for restructuring . Thanks
There is already Anti-corruption Cell

start court-martialling those who're found even in a hint of corruption
Court Martial - that is easy to say , right
Pride is thing to die for - what if proven Non-Guilty .
you are ready to sacrifice "Few good Men"

Do you remember in 98
for Barak-1 Indian Navy pleaded by Joining hands virtually ,
Matter which was of security concern & these Babus turned blind eye ( News of PN getting P3C and harpoon-AsHM ).
Such is corruption that IN had to bribe our own MoD officials to clear sales of barak-1 .

Before Armed Forces try and apply these rules for general public . I can bet every single paise will be accounted for

Ohh , no need for restructuring . Thanks
There is already Anti-corruption Cell

Court Martial - that is easy to say , right
Pride is thing to die for - what if proven Non-Guilty .
you are ready to sacrifice "Few good Men"

Do you remember in 98
for Barak-1 Indian Navy pleaded by Joining hands virtually ,
Matter which was of security concern & these Babus turned blind eye ( News of PN getting P3C and harpoon-AsHM ).
Such is corruption that IN had to bribe our own MoD officials to clear sales of barak-1 .

Before Armed Forces try and apply these rules for general public . I can bet every single paise will be accounted for
Well then something must be done even for the MOD "#$%%^ as well because "a single paise" is not the amoung usually involving in defense. Its crores of our money that we earn and give the government. Not to be entered in Swiss banks.

If this continues, how do you expect insurgencies from poor not to rise? Some %^&# don't want the country to prosper and misuse Indian attitude of not to question. We can't just see these losers getting richer every day and do nothing.

I meant only those who are guilty FYI.

We can't just see these losers getting richer every day and do nothing.

Who says nothing is done - An Officer is much more Accountable than what a Civilian is to ??
Once proven guilty - Are there any records that an officer escaped bcoz of corruption .

How do you know no one else was involved in this scam
How do we know no one was pressurizing these officers .
If one is ready to shoot even before knowing true picture , then these civilians/babus/ministers/morons should be more accountable than they are .

How many times country has stood up , to demand justice for Ministers of alleged scam .
Many at times - They are not even questioned & You are asking to sack the officer for just hint .

What was done to Defence minister of Coffin scandal ,
Who was minister who wanted T90 factory in his state rather than place which
has infrastructure .
Who was involved in Barak scam
Who was allowed let go in Bofor's scandal
How many times Army is asked to gulp cheap spares & keep the mouth shut .
Who keeps cancelling Artillery tender , Tanker tender

Even if 50% reduction occurs in corruption of civilians indirectly involved in defence , Armed forces will be corruption less .