Northern Extreme, Trango Towers.

Im also thinking of going there in july with my frnds........ Also can u tell me abt the total expenses of the trip .. n should we take an suv or car.. Thanks in advance!

yar if you have your own 4x4 than it will be less expensive for you and if you want to hire local jeeps it will be much expensive and it is hard to do such a long journey on those jeeps , our estimated cost for tour is almost 10,000 rupee which includes bus expenses till raikot bridge 2 days stay at fairy meadows food and after leaving meadows we will go for naran will hire jeep from raikot bridge .

you can join my facebook page i will give you detailed info regarding fairy meadows expenses .

https://www.facebook.com/ExplorePakistan

aks, kia hua, abhi tk abba ji ne ghuma nahi diya northern areas bike peh :lol::lol::lol:

270006_211409738904518_118828831495943_668408_7370455_n.jpg

Mighty Mountain on the Side of karomber Lake . awesum view

270543_211409398904552_118828831495943_668379_4501229_n.jpg

Karomber Lake , Pakistan

268254_210898535622305_118828831495943_663337_682815_n.jpg

Five different moods of Karomber Lake we saw in just 2 days :)

Karambar Lake (High Point Lake) 4272m (Approx Length 3.9km Width 2km and average depth 52m) The Karomber (not karambar)lake is the only lake in the whole world that is situtated at an altitude of more than 14,000 ft abvove sea level, and still having biologically active bodies in it. The reason being that the water does not come only by melting of snow on the surrounding mountains, but there are many springs in and around the lake which feed this. The spell bounding lake of Karomber in the border's region of Chitral with Wakhan Corridor of Afghanistan. Ishkoman is also very near from here.The lake itself is at 4300 m above sea level and is among one of the highest lakes of the world and about beauty what can i say here.The reddish wild flowers are awesome in the end of Summer's season.The Lake itself is 3 km long approx.

bikes tour next year chala gaya hai :P but i will make tour on bikes too skradu n gilgit side INSHA ALLAH

q?? bike ke motor kharab ho gye :P i mean engine

when did u take karumber lake pic??

No roads should ever be built to access these gems of nature....so that these places can remain untouched..
I used to go to Nanga parbat base camp in my teen ages..It was foot path off Karakoram highway before chilas , if you coming from Mansehra...Then we had to walk for a day and a half to reach one of the most beautiful places on the Planet "Fairy meadows"....
Green meadow in front of a white towering mountain and a river flowing at mountain base..Glacial ice would slide down in the river occasionally..Blocking the river and suddenly it all went quiet as the river stopped flowing,,and then a loud band when the river broke the ice dam and the same familiar noise of the river...This phenomenon was repeated few times in a day...
Wild horses grazing the grass and occasional mountain goats...All area as natural as it could be..

Then came the owners of "Shangrila" hotel of Satpara Sakardu and built a resort and a private road all the way from KKH to Fairy meadow..
The area got raped..Empty crisp packets,plastic bottles and garbage left by tourists all over the place......

Previously when we endured suffering and pain to see the place ,that was because we valued the natural beauty of the place and did everything to leave it that way..Never left even a toothpick behind..all garbage was brought back with us and disposed in the town.

Fairy Meadows Cottage

I went to Lake Saif-ul-Maluk in Naran a month back. We tool the foot path so we could "enjoy" the nature. Guess what we found: Nestle Water Bottles, Lays Chips Packets, and last but not the least.. Pampers :mad: :(

bhai aap bhi use ker lo pampers :rofl::rofl:

jokin

Im also thinking of going there in july with my frnds........ Also can u tell me abt the total expenses of the trip .. n should we take an suv or car.. Thanks in advance!

Well it depends on allot of things:

1) How many are going.
2) How are you going to get there.
3) Where do you get your guides and portars from.
4) How many guides and portars will you need.
5) How long you want the trip to be.
6) Are you just planning for fairy meadows or would you like to see other places around it as well.
7) Are you planning to camp or stay at the huts/resort.
8) What time of the year you are going.
9) How good can you trek.
10) Do you have the gear you'll need.

If your serious about going then I can guide you allot. I can help you plan your trip and give you contact numbers for guides as well. The minimum you'll need to spend is 15-25. You can plan and manage the whole trip and logistics yourself or you can have a guide give you a complete package and all you'll need to do is get to place A. I bought an eight day package for 6 guys from Gilgit to fairy meadows then all around Nangaparbat then back to Gilgit for 20k each. We went to Gilgit by NATCO.

ps: Like I said the jeep track is f**ked. You will have to trek. Nothing with wheels can pass through there. You can hire horses but at many places you'll have to get off of them too.

One place to visit before dying is Siri Paye, in Kaghan. As the saying goes, you can hear the grass growing.

siri+paye.jpg

Sir WJ I have loads of pics from my trips up north. Do i have your permission to post them here?

Post #7 with the BBC video is one of the most amazing videos of high altitude wild-life I have ever seen. Not only you see the 'Markhor' (the Ibex?) but also snow leopards hunting them. Wolves can be seen as well. Never knew there were wolves in the high mountains of Pakistan. Amazingly beautiful places, safely tucked away from the prying eyes of world tourism.

I think Pakistan would be better off by regulating its pristine places like Bhutan does. I know, there is potential loss of revenue but there are some places which are just too beautiful to be 'developed'. Charge premium for those who still want to go there.

Thanks for starting this topic.