Sir, I can't share the threats to Turbat here, but I was part of the initial study for developing this airfield back in 2000.
But 2000 was quite a while ago. Airfield Perimeter security at PNS Siddiq is likely to far more easily secured vis-a-vis PNS Mehran. There is an operational "listening station" at Turbat already.
Physically, the surrounding areas can be 'sanitised' much more easily than in Karachi.
Yes I know 2000 was quite a while ago.
This project was initiated much earlier then even 2000.
Does it mean PN would raise few squadrons of fighter jets to counter Indian naval threat and base them here ?
Agreed, but first things first!!I just asked a question for I thought the seclusion of an Island would perhaps be the best option to have our assets secured. I do agree with you but when it comes to defense expenditures, nothing is cost-effective. Regarding the ambitions... we should have huge ambitions, why not? I know we are cash-strapped for now (and God knows for how many years to come) but there is nothing wrong with having plans to develop a potent and aggressive naval force, capable of not only securing our shores, the naval trade lanes, but also of inflicting heavy damage in the case of inevitable. Offense is always the best defense.
yes we have many like astola island - churna island and many more at costline like bundle island and its neighborsDo we have some large enough islands which could be used to construct a naval airbase?
all P-3C's will be stationed there along with other assets. only detachment of Helo's will be stationed at Mehran
we have manora island. which is enough for navel airbase and aviation. etcNo, we don't.
We don't actually need an island, as we have plenty of options along the coast.
we have manora island. which is enough for navel airbase and aviation. etc
ATR to bhai babu logoon ka hai wo krachi main rahy gaAll P-3C‘s along with other fixed wing aircraft (ATR) ?
we have manora island. which is enough for navel airbase and aviation. etc
Is this a greenfield station or just an expansion of the Turbat airfield?
Pakistan may do but the question is is is affordable for the PN's shoe string budget? Think about it, all logistics required for constructing and then supporting an airbase wold have to be either flown or shipped in- a highly expensive prospect. Until the PN starts receiving some proper attention and a fairer share of the defence budget you can't even contemplate such things...Do we have some large enough islands which could be used to construct a naval airbase?