Naval chief wants Gwadar deal cancelled

Hi, the Gwadar port is a great port and is needed by Pakistan. Karachi already is overloaded and has many bottle necks. It is the government of Pakistan who is to poor and corrupt to cough up the money to make it viable. More importantly also to stupid to use it effectively. A country of 180MM definitely needs more that one large port.

In regards to the naval fleet, I think Pakistan is making a mistake investing in surface ships. They will be sunk the minute a war starts with Yakont and/or Brahmos missiles. Pakistan should build up its air arm, and its submarine fleet and also use tactical nukes to deal with the Indian Navy. Using nukes in the ocean does not pollute and does not induce a land based retaliation.

Also I wonder if Pakistan is buying the improved Yuan class submarine from China? Thanks!

Chinese Navy

the articles sounds a bit fishy.
admiral is quoted saying that the U214 deal of four boats have been scraped however, as far as i know, there was never any such deal going on!
we were looking for three U214 boats!

the land issue is also quite dramatic but yes, it do have some background!

the good thing is that he is admitting Gawadar to be a high potential hub for the country and is not dumping it rather is asking for improvemens!

regards!

Gawadar port should stay with the Singapore Authority , and Navy should kindly move their assets out

Singapore authority has lease for 40 years end of story

Babar Ghauri is a sheer crook and a thug much like his Quaid Mr. Altaaf. He does not even have the awareness of port and shipping development. No wonder An asset like Gwadar is being wasted big time.

Naval chief wants Gwadar deal cancelled

ISLAMABAD, Sept 23: Chief of the Naval Staff Admiral Noman Basheer said here on Thursday that the Gwadar Port was not serving the purpose for which it had been build and, therefore, an agreement with the Port of Singapore Authority (PSA) for management of facilities and development of infrastructure should be cancelled.

“The agreement is one-sided and a lot of incentives have been given to the PSA,” he said while talking to reporters after presiding over a book launching ceremony at the Bahria University.

He said the government should review the concessionary deal because the PSA had not been able to develop the port up to its potential.

Admiral Basheer said the PSA was to be given 2,500 acres of land under the deal, while the navy was being accused of illegally possessing 500-600 acres of it.

“The (ministry of) ports and shipping should stop finding excuses and levelling allegations and focus its attention on the national asset the potential of which is yet to be exploited.”

CHINESE SUBMARINES: The naval chief said talks were under way with China for six to eight submarines and the quality and cost were the basic factors behind the move.

He said the talks were launched after a deal with Germany for four submarines could not be finalised because of exorbitant cost. :cry:

However, he said, both countries were still negotiating to resolve the issue. :D:agree:

Admiral Basheer said Pakistan badly needed submarines because four of the six submarines in the fleet had passed their life and the other two needed to be refurbished.

He said China was a time-tested friend of Pakistan and the only country in Asia which had developed expertise in building submarines.

The delivery schedule and cost also suited Pakistan’s needs.

“We can seek soft loan from China to fund the submarine project,” he said, adding that the time factor in acquisition of the submarines was of paramount importance.

The naval chief said eight used frigates would be acquired from the United States and they would have to be refurbished before their induction into the fleet. He said Pakistan Navy had to build its capacity to tackle multiple challenges ranging from piracy and terrorism to drugs and human smuggling.

Sounds like the naval Staff Admiral Noman sticking his nose where it doesn't belong someone should tell this dude to shut his mouth and do his job leave the business running to the company we have given contract to this is exactly the reason most investors run from us as our military is always willing to take over and make it better accept they only wanna create whats better for them personally and not Pakistan sick and tired of these generals trying to run the country while we have a civilian government in place.
How about all these generals start paying taxes on there income so we can afford all the goddies they want.

Babar Ghauri is a sheer crook and a thug much like his Quaid Mr. Altaaf. He does not even have the awareness of port and shipping development. No wonder An asset like Gwadar is being wasted big time.

House cleaning is required in all crown corporations all these generals and politicians running these crown corporations into ground should face the firing squad but in reality should be fired and we should start to hire people who no what they are doing.

If the deal is canceled who we are considering ??

Please dont say US cos

If canceled then I hope the deal goes to China or Japan USA because they wanted this project. When Gen. Musharraf launched this project America was very upset with Gen. Musharraf that he did not give this project to them and he did the right thing by doing that, even now this project should not be given to the Americans but with this corrupt govt running Pakistan all USA will say here take this money and give us the project they(ppp) will immediately say yes sir. ALLAH save Pakistan from all these evil Govt. from USA and Jewish lobbies.

Sounds like the naval Staff Admiral Noman sticking his nose where it doesn't belong someone should tell this dude to shut his mouth and do his job leave the business running to the company we have given contract to this is exactly the reason most investors run from us as our military is always willing to take over and make it better accept they only wanna create whats better for them personally and not Pakistan sick and tired of these generals trying to run the country while we have a civilian government in place.
How about all these generals start paying taxes on there income so we can afford all the goddies they want.

Watch ur mouth.
He was replyin coz media person asked him about it and he wanted to clear the rumor of navy illegaly occupying some land.
When did they signal tht they were going to take over since the tenure of PPP govt??
Military pays its income taxes infact they get their pay after the tax is cut from it.

Civilian company? a singaporean company is lookin after the port and failing at it miserably..
Do some research before vomiting.

Because it have to face much larger navy.......

india's strategic location in IOC area, large coastline, and global ambitions force it have maratime supremacy. pak, with a small coast, has no such obligations or requirement rit?

I beg to differ here.

How many more assets are we going to let go and give others? When on Earth are we going to grow a spine and deal with our problems?

Now is the time. Gawadar has a lot of potential. This is the do and die situation. If we managed this task (of Making Gawadar working) we will then be able to face much bigger stuff. If we resort to the means(you mentioned) we will never stand on our feet ever.

Unfortunately, Pakistan doesn't have the money and resources to bring Gwadar Port to its full potential on its own. The most trustworthy friend of Pakistan who has the money and resources is China.

The deal with Port Singapore Authority (PSA) should be cancelled immediately. PSA doesn't care about Pakistan's national interests and will take bribes, if they haven't done already, from countries that want Gwadar Port to be a failure.

China is the only country that wants Gwadar Port to be a success like Pakistan does.

To be honest we have weak Navy.

Pakistan should have folowing minimum fleet its Navy.
11 - Submarines (3 Agosta B and 8 modren Subs)
8 - F22P Frigates alongwith 12 Harbin Z-9 helicopters
9 to 12 - PNS Alamgir Friagtes (USS McInerney (FFG-8))
6 - Tariq Class Frigates (Type 21 frigate)
40 - Missile Boats, mine Hunters
8 Auxiliary
6 Modren Corvettes
20 to 40 Mirages.
20 to 40 JF-17/J-10B
_________
Still it looks weak :(

Mzubair yaar you seem to always look down on our navy we know what we are facing and will face and the navy is doing its best in the funds provided you should hope for the best inshallah in due time it will be a force that can hold its own ground and face challenges it faces be greatful , hopeful and be proud of our navy things take time not a over nite deal boss.:coffee:

Hi, the Gwadar port is a great port and is needed by Pakistan. Karachi already is overloaded and has many bottle necks. It is the government of Pakistan who is to poor and corrupt to cough up the money to make it viable. More importantly also to stupid to use it effectively. A country of 180MM definitely needs more that one large port.

In regards to the naval fleet, I think Pakistan is making a mistake investing in surface ships. They will be sunk the minute a war starts with Yakont and/or Brahmos missiles. Pakistan should build up its air arm, and its submarine fleet and also use tactical nukes to deal with the Indian Navy. Using nukes in the ocean does not pollute and does not induce a land based retaliation.

Also I wonder if Pakistan is buying the improved Yuan class submarine from China? Thanks!

Chinese Navy

The SSK you mention about is not Yuan class, there is no info published by official(no name/no number, officially it not exist). And it just get in to water less than 2 weeks(show by picture. During early Sep I see another pic show it is on the ground). I don't think PLAN has test it yet.

By the way, I don't think 214 class is really fit for PN because its design put a lot cylinder at the side of sub. During the maintenance work, worker need lift sub to the ground to check the cylinder pipeline and valve, it take long time to finish. You can google Korean navy to see how it looks like.

It is not a problem for country like German because of NATO air defence power. But the maintenance work is a significant disavantage for all other country.

And 214 class AIP system is more effectiveness in theory but it require liquid hydrogen as fuel. It is another big limitation for 214, as few port have such facility.

Watch ur mouth.
He was replyin coz media person asked him about it and he wanted to clear the rumor of navy illegaly occupying some land.
When did they signal tht they were going to take over since the tenure of PPP govt??
Military pays its income taxes infact they get their pay after the tax is cut from it.

Civilian company? a singaporean company is lookin after the port and failing at it miserably..
Do some research before vomiting.

I can tell by your response the level of intelligence you have and i cant bring myself to that level even if i try .but for future i am not you so i am not stupid or blind what these generals have done to Pakistan is not exactly a secret.

It doesn't matter who he was responding to it was a decision made by then prime minister of Pakistan right or wrong doesn't matter he has no authority to question a decision made by elected government period.

PSA will run the port for 40 years, during which time it will be exempted from corporate tax. Pakistan has also abolished all duties on any equipment and machinery imported to develop the port for 20 years. PSA has estimated investment at $5 billion to $8 billion in the project over 40 years. It expects the port will generate revenue of $17 billion to $31 billion over the same period. "Gwadar will be an important and significant addition to PSA's global network of deep sea ports, which globally provide employment for over 22,000 people across Asia and Europe," said Eddie Teh, Group chief executive officer for PSA Yeah sure sound like a dumb company to run the port :rofl:

@Cheetos.... Hes an admiral not a General.... tells alot about ur I.Q!
Doesnt it> ROFL...BUHAHAHAH
Also see the full interview rather then some selective picks.

1101059237-1.gif

I have got to agree with each and every word of this interview. From Gawadar to funds for procurement of new ships he is correct.

The contract with PSA should be canceled as soon as possible and lease it to china as we discussed in some other thread.