Muslim gymnast criticised for 'revealing' costume as she wins double-gold!

off topic but really -.-
Allah Pak ki qasam, mein to rouz shev karta hoon. Haan, halki moochein zaroor hein.

Yes, I know that Purdah in Islam is necessary upon every woman who has reached adulthood. But thats in normal circumstances, no mention of dress code of women while performing different sports .

Also these affairs are in b.w that person and the God himself, who are these 3rd persons to tell others what to do?? There are always means of forgiveness and har kisi ne apni apni kabr main jaana hai ..

IMO, there are more important things to worry about than 'the revealing clothes of women' .
Bhai, are you suggesting that Allah forgot to make mention of how a Muslim woman should dress in what you describe as 'out of normal circumstances'? or Allah was unable to envision or foresee that one day Muslim women will take part in Gymnastic?

“Say to the believing women that: they should cast down their glances and guard their private parts (by being chaste)…”
“...and not display their beauty except what is apparent, and they should place their khumur over their bosoms...”

Khumur is plural of khimar "the veil covering the head". So the word khimar, by definition, means a piece of cloth that covers the head. The meaning of khimar and the context in which the verse was revealed clearly talks about concealing the head and then using the loose ends of the scarf to conceal the neck and the bosom.

“O Prophet! Say toyour wives, your daughters, and the women of the believers that: they should let down upon themselves their jalabib.

Jalabib is the plural of jilbab, which means a loose outer garment.

This means that the Islamic dress code for women does not only consist of a scarf that covers the head, the neck and the bosom; it also includes the overall dress that should be long and loose.

So, for instance, the combination of a tight, short sweater with tight-fitting jeans with a scarf over the head does not fulfill the requirements of the Islamic dress code.

Isn't it enough?

Its not a question who is saying what. Islam prohibits women to display their bodies in such a manner.

No one is being a moral police here, not certainly me. But if you claim to be following a religion then try to adhere to it too.

No Mullah ever said this. Its the book of Allah, the Quran asking women to cover their modesty.

Its not our fault. We live in a world where our values and our culture is subservient to western culture which is more prevalent and acceptable. So by that standard, Islam is a backward, repressive regime that forces women indoors blah blah blah. When this narrative is repeated ad nauseam, we too feel the heat and want to escape this perpetual inferiority. So any act, no matter how irrelevant which gives us even a semblance of conflicting this belief, we jump on it and begin to celebrate and bad mouth Islam personified as Mullah.

Her country might have applauded her. So be it. But if you look at from Islam's perspective, she has committed immorality.

“Say to the believing women that: they should cast down their glances and guard their private parts (by being chaste)…”
“...and not display their beauty except what is apparent, and they should place their khumur over their bosoms...”

Khumur is plural of khimar "the veil covering the head". So the word khimar, by definition, means a piece of cloth that covers the head. The meaning of khimar and the context in which the verse was revealed clearly talks about concealing the head and then using the loose ends of the scarf to conceal the neck and the bosom.

“O Prophet! Say toyour wives, your daughters, and the women of the believers that: they should let down upon themselves their jalabib.

Jalabib is the plural of jilbab, which means a loose outer garment.

This means that the Islamic dress code for women does not only consist of a scarf that covers the head, the neck and the bosom; it also includes the overall dress that should be long and loose.

So, for instance, the combination of a tight, short sweater with tight-fitting jeans with a scarf over the head does not fulfill the requirements of the Islamic dress code.

Isn't it enough?
A lot of Muslims today think they know more than Allah (swt) and thus can override his commands by making lawful that which Allah (swt) has made unlawful.

Allah Pak ki qasam, mein to rouz shev karta hoon. Haan, halki moochein zaroor hein.
I have a beard, and that is very very offensive the beardo part

Oh f*** these Mullahs, well done Girl for making your country proud .!!!
define Mullah, do you know what that term means, stop using terms you have no idea about. And I wonder where freedom of expression goes when they express themselves
As far as the topic is concerned the scholars were talking about it from a religious point of view which is their job, and when you can find me examples of them being wrong on this. The job of clerics is to see that society is heading in a direction which portrays pure Islamic values, but they will not impose it on you. Go to Malaysia before you go off on your rants
To be fair, she could wear a less revealing outfit and still be just as successful. But that's just her choice.
This is the right response, thank you for being the voice of reason
Why can't they just keep their sh*t to themselves?? why impose it on others?? If they have problem with that lady wearing revealing clothes, just don't watch her perform gymnastics ,simple?? Why doesn't their pea sized brains get this thing ?
before going on a rant learn the job of clerics and Mullahs as you keep calling them, Chastising is the right of a cleric, it is an equal right for her not to listen, That is the basis of freedom of expression.
And stop your abusive rants because you can use civil language adding stars does not make it okay. consider that a warning

Bhai, I am not beardo, but come on, we Muslims have a culture. I am not suggesting that she should have covered herself up in shuttle cock burqa but nowadays stretchable fabrics are available that can contain one's modesty. It is sport and people (at-least most of) are not there to see skin but again, the picture posted in the original message, religion or no religion, is less than decent. In Urdu we say "aadmi ki hiss-e-lateef par giran guzarna".

@TankMan Bhai, kya waqt aa gaya hey, liberals key dar sey hum apney mazhab aur moashrat ka difa bhi dartey dartey karney lagey hein. Prophet (PBUH) said, a time will come when people would copulate in the middle of the roads and a decent person would tell them "at-least do it behind that wall!". Khuda ki Qasam, hum us zamaney mein daakhil ho gye hein.

@syedali73 Perfect answer !!

Its not about MULLAHS. Its about our culture, our norms and Values. Demanding due respect in this regard is not MULLAH-ism.

Yuck and disgusting wht the hell is she wearing.to hell with such progress or whtever the hell u call it.
Bhai, I am not beardo, but come on, we Muslims have a culture. I am not suggesting that she should have covered herself up in shuttle cock burqa but nowadays stretchable fabrics are available that can contain one's modesty. It is sport and people (at-least most of) are not there to see skin but again, the picture posted in the original message, religion or no religion, is less than decent. In Urdu we say "aadmi ki hiss-e-lateef par giran guzarna".

@TankMan Bhai, kya waqt aa gaya hey, liberals key dar sey hum apney mazhab aur moashrat ka difa bhi dartey dartey karney lagey hein. Prophet (PBUH) said, a time will come when people would copulate in the middle of the roads and a decent person would tell them "at-least do it behind that wall!". Khuda ki Qasam, hum us zamaney mein daakhil ho gye hein.
'Jab tum haya na karo tau jo chaho karo'-- hadees.

Put it this way, I wouldn't have anyone I know wear this. But if it is out of choice, who are we to criticise, besides, I would look beyond what she's wearing if I was really that interested.

the man has a job as a cleric, and that is what he is doing. Either he was invited to a television show, or he gave his opinion where he preaches, he did not go to the lady and hit her over the head. There is no way we should start telling clerics to stop telling us what they think is right. I mean the social media has people who follow him and for them this seemed right, and if he was invited to a place to talk it was his wish what he said, as far as chastising goes, or telling her she is wrong he can do that. He no where said we will kill you or harm you, I wonder what the issue remains other then cheap publicity for a useless topic

Jungi bhai as u said if i were interested i would look beyond what she is wearing'.do u remember pakistani female footballers thread here in sports section, the thread was later locked.anyone could any time visit the thread and check the oggling happening.
So not everyone will think like u and will look beyond clothing etc. Majority dont.

To be fair, she could wear a less revealing outfit and still be just as successful. But that's just her choice.

I second that. As a kid, I used to take gymnastic lessons where many girls participated too. Those girls used to wear shorts or track pants and they used to do just fine like anybody else.

I have got nothing against women exposing their body or even going full nude as long as it is their personal choice.

I just fail to understand how that single piece swimsuit type costume helps in gymnastics.

Not really. Muslims are currently divided in more than 57 independent nation states and their culture varies extremely from each other.
Well said..Mr syed Ali is an elderly gentleman approaching his 60s..his views may not be in sync with the current values and morals ;we should just accept it