When he became the Chief of the Army Staff, the country's most prestigious position, wasn't he a 'muhajir' then?
History suggests Musharraf and MQM have had great ties because MQM was revived after it was presumably considered dead in the 90s. During the reign of Musharraf, MQM was in Power all along and was getting armed to teeth. Furthermore, the support didn't stop even when Musharraf came back from UAE. He had trusted MQM's security in Karachi over Army's security in Rawalpindi. It was not until the Courts interfered and moved him to Islamabad for charges. You don't need to be surprised. After all this, i think he can become the next MQM chief, perhaps the moment when Altaf will get arrested in London.
Yes he was and Ayub was a Pakhtun, Yahya was a Qizilbashi Pakhtun, Zia a Punjabi so what is the point? Did others hide their ethnic background? Even if he does, which he did not, say that he is a muhajir, how is that a bad thing? When we have buried all other ethnicities, then one can make the case that the term Muhajir should not be used. As a Punjabi I am proud, a Pakhtun is brave, a Baloch is honourable, a Sindhi is gracious, but no, one can never use the word Muhajir! Hope you see the idiotic insanity in all of this.When he became the Chief of the Army Staff, the country's most prestigious position, wasn't he a 'muhajir' then?
History suggests Musharraf and MQM have had great ties because MQM was revived after it was presumably considered dead in the 90s. During the reign of Musharraf, MQM was in Power all along and was getting armed to teeth. Furthermore, the support didn't stop even when Musharraf came back from UAE. He had trusted MQM's security in Karachi over Army's security in Rawalpindi. It was not until the Courts interfered and moved him to Islamabad for charges. You don't need to be surprised. After all this, i think he can become the next MQM chief, perhaps the moment when Altaf will get arrested in London.
What is the specific proof behind this claim? And is the assumption here not being made that because Musharraf was a Muhajir CoAS, so he did what all others expect him to do, which was to arm to the teeth the MQM. I have never known Musharraf to be provincial minded and in the Army, specially at this level, such things don't happen.and was getting armed to teeth.
Secondly, Musharraf did NOT get "Army" security contrary to what you state. No former CoAS is given Army security. At best Musharraf was offered a Police security team with Rangers as back up because he was the former President of Pakistan.
What is the specific proof behind this claim?
It was in power , sure , but it wasn't getting armed to the teeth . I would really appreciate a certain source/proof/evidence for that claim and a serious allegation , which would mean that the President was arming a political party's militant wing .
If one wants to gauge the success of a political party , one must look at the election results
Kiya khuch ghalat kahaa ?
Agar aap Hyderabadi nasal ke nahin tou phir kissss nasal ke haiiin ?
Hyderabad se koi taluq nahi hai yaar .......
and I told you earlier in Naswaristan .......
Yes he was and Ayub was a Pakhtun, Yahya was a Qizilbashi Pakhtun, Zia a Punjabi so what is the point? Did others hide their ethnic background? Even if he does, which he did not, say that he is a muhajir, how is that a bad thing? When we have buried all other ethnicities, then one can make the case that the term Muhajir should not be used. As a Punjabi I am proud, a Pakhtun is brave, a Baloch is honourable, a Sindhi is gracious, but no, one can never use the word Muhajir! Hope you see the idiotic insanity in all of this.
We should understand minority dynamics. Minorities will always be much more sensitive to perceptions of being singled out. When only a general from the minority ethnic group is picked upon to pay for the sins of all the past military takeovers, well then obviously questions related to ethnicity will be raised. Why is the former CJP and his bench that validated the takeover not on the hook? Why are hundreds of politicians who abetted his takeover not being taken to task? These questions are feeding a sense of being singled out:
Hassan Nisar is right on the mark with this point:
What is the specific proof behind this claim? And is the assumption here not being made that because Musharraf was a Muhajir CoAS, so he did what all others expect him to do, which was to arm to the teeth the MQM. I have never known Musharraf to be provincial minded and in the Army, specially at this level, such things don't happen.
Secondly, Musharraf did NOT get "Army" security contrary to what you state. No former CoAS is given Army security. At best Musharraf was offered a Police security team with Rangers as back up because he was the former President of Pakistan. He decided to reach out to former members of his SSG CP team to get his own security. Police is compromised and using them would have led to another Salman Taseer like situation.
Innuendo is the bane of Pakistan.
Koi Pashtun angle zaroor ayaa thaa !
Pataa nahin kahin aap woh Rohillas jo theii unn mein sei tou nahin !
Ya phir kahin aap Irfan Pathan kei cousin tou nahin !
But this Muhajir from India is the most rabid anti India basher! The Pakistanis should love him for this. So why is he being targeted?
Funny world!
I respect your thoughts and want to be just Pakistani, but your analogy is actually not true, i would say. Infact, if you see last 35 years, most of the COAS, Presidents, PMs, CJs were Mahajirs, sindhis, Pathans, Baluchis or Siraiki Speaking. Infact Punjabis are 33% of total Population, can you share the names who were Punjabis in those positions? I only remember three names General Kiyani (5 years), Ch. Shujat (1 month PM), & Justice Sheikh Riaz Ahmad (1 year).
Ps: i know Being Majority, Punjabis have extra duty towards institution, understand why they don't speak much on issue of discrimination.