Man fined, jailed over second marriage without first wife’s permission

This third party always makes a mess. Pakistan has a screwed up soceity which means everyone has right to interfere in your life n marriage .
Nikah naama in such is a contract to buy a sex slave for your entire life .

Laws are there but awareness is needed. You need to approach courts and seek justice. At least in Punjab rural people are registering their marriages so that's a blessing and women do approach for divorce and yes there is mass interference. Pressure and interference.

These things need to be taught. Education and awareness.

True :(
I have many females in my relatives whose husbands did secobd marriages n they all r bad to their 1st wife , beat them like hell , treat them like dirt but these women cant take divirce cause they r uneducated nd have no support . They bear this for whole life.

Well yes. Its not easy and I can't imagine conditions pure rural conservative backward areas.

I have seen tricks of husbands. Aik husband and moulzam. Bakwas Jo yeh boltay hai.

In many cases of divorce. Women file maintenance case for themselves and children and believe me they struggle to give even a thousand. They are willing to go to jail for a year but not pay her right. The excuse is simple.

" hum kyo dain. Khudi bacho ka aur apna bhooj paray ga os par or us Kay maa baap par tu dimagh theek ho jaye. Paisay De diye tu woh set ho jaye he wahan",

That is the most common line.

The thing is its exceptionally harder for women bcz they have to fight their own insecurity, then the pressure of in laws and their own family members who place pressure, then the pressure of society, then the pressure of lawyers bcz the common concept is that uhh what a sin and there is no greater glory than stopping a divorce couple so yes you have to fight your own lawyer, then the courts also provide time, mediation bcz its not considered good. For men its easy bcz of a male dominant society. For an uneducated woman facing insecurities, threats, emotional blackmail and very little support. Its very hard.

I am not saying all men are had. In some cases women are at fault. I have seen it and I have seen great husband's and fathers who always pay but the story of a majority is different.

Baat yeh hai. All of these are rights and I have advocated that we need these more than the God forsaken theorems. We need right classes in schools. Would be better than the stupid karate class where people did jack shit.

Men and women in Pakistan are simply not aware of their rights.

Polygamy is a permission and not law , it hasn't been made compulsory for Muslim men. Please.

It is not some divine order that Muslim men need to follow in true spirit, its a permission, granted according to circumstances and situation of that time ............. the apparent reason being increased number of widows and orphan children, because of the continuous fighting. Islam is here to promote and help with betterment of humans and their society and not their individual desires. Today in our Pakistani society we don't need to practice polygamy ..... there is no shortage of able men and hence State can go to the extent of banning Polygamy unless there is a dire need for it.

@TheBlackCoat @Mitro

My comment was not about Polygamy but your comment that says "I have always supported the supremacy of law and Pakistan law is supreme."

And no, there is nothing in Islam that was a permission or law or rule for "that time only" except what is clearly mentioned to be for that time.
Islam is a complete way of life until the end of times. And Islam covers everything from the betterment of people, society, and to the very micro level of individual desires and what to restrict and what not to restrict within yourself.

As for the availability of able men. God's wisdom behind things is not as easy as the availability of able men or number of men. There are women in our society who no one would marry. There are orphaned girls who people would ignore because they can't get any dowry from them. There are other women who can't find any spouse for various reasons.
And if in all of that there is a man who God has made able enough and blessed him with a heart which can include more than one person at a given time. And he meets rest of the criteria then, by all means, he can marry another woman if he wishes to.

But not all of us can fulfill that criteria, 90% of men won't. At least I don't because imagining having two partners who you want to spend your life with is an unimaginable thing for me given the way God made me.
And if a person does not fulfill the criteria and yet seeks another partner while not having the ability to keep the first one or both happy at the same time. They have no right to seek additional spouses.

This third party always makes a mess. Pakistan has a screwed up soceity which means everyone has right to interfere in your life n marriage .
Nikah naama in such is a contract to buy a sex slave for your entire life .

True :(
I have many females in my relatives whose husbands did second marriages n they all r bad to their 1st wife, beat them like hell, treat them like dirt but these women cant take divorce cause they r uneducated and have no support. They bear this for whole life.

Don't let third parties ever interfere between you and your spouse. Find a person who understands this and understands Islam. someone whose main quality is his link with Allah. Everything else comes after it.
A man who loves and fears Allah and whose main objective of life is his journey closer to Allah, he will never mistreat you, or do anything that puts you at a disadvantage.

The biggest problem happens when in our society we look for men who have everything but a good link with Allah, and then we wonder why things went wrong.

. . . . .
According to Quran and Hadith one don’t need permission in the first place so this ruling is against the teaching of Islam .
Mate in Pakistan people are sleeping with their mothers and worse. Pakistan has got a bigger problem than a man taking a second wife without asking his first.

By sleeping with their mothers and worse I mean "Ar Riba"!

How can you hide a wife from your other one
You'll be committing sin everyday lying to the other about where you been what you up to

Hey sweety I'm going to play basketball when your really off to see your other wife .

Lie = sin

consent not needed, law is recipe of more divorces.

Anwyays its not popular in our culture. I dont think even 1% of Pakistani men marry more then 1 wives.

Well this guy was just poor that is why
otherwise each politician has atleast 2 wives in Pakistan

Would be better than the stupid karate class where people did jack shit.

Men and women in Pakistan are simply not aware of their rights.

Karate class teaches people discipline and a better way of life, so do all martial arts. They enlighten us spiritually and teach us how to control ourselves.
Better than what they teach you in school or the limitation they put on your mind through what we call the education
So please don't refer to something you might not be aware of.

As for women and men in Pakistan not aware of their rights. Actually, I would say Women and Men in Pakistan are not aware of their obligations both towards God and people linked to them. If they could take some time to enlighten themselves through Wisdom of God, life would be easy and simple and blessed.

Okay, I will admit I do not know if the husband need the 1st's wife permission to marry for a second wife.

But Islam talks about fair rights for women.

Only one being an idiot here is you.

There is no mention of taking permission from first wife in Islam..whether in Quran or Hadith. So he is correct.

Secondly, Islamqa is banned in Saudi Arabia bc the scholar running the site has openly lambasted Saudi government and their actions...and hence he’s exiled and his website is banned in KSA. It’s a political issue rather than a theological objection on his works.

Shame on you fo blindly pushing your Western feminist agenda. We all see it clearly and openly
I have no western feminist agenda here. I am for fair rights for women according to Islam.