Man fined, jailed over second marriage without first wife’s permission

Rule of law. It is indeed Pakistan law and I have always supported supremacy of law and Pakistan law is supreme. Good decision.

You cannot marry again without the consent of your first wife or wives period!

Rule of law. It is indeed Pakistan law and I have always supported supremacy of law and Pakistan law is supreme. Good decision.

You cannot marry again without the consent of your first wife or wives period!

God's law is supreme, everything else vanishes into the dust from whence it came...

Pakistani laws here contradict Islam and we should respect them but don;t glorify them to a delusional level.

He should have divorced his first wife first. Can't do the time, don't do the crime.

He is a Muslim and Islam allows men to marry more wives as long as they meet certain criteria.

You need more education.

Nature of Islam you dont go around hitching women. A man's permitted given the first wife(s) is infertile, sick, or can't attend to her duty.

Unfortunately, it's you who needs education mate.
A man is allowed to marry another wife as long as he is certain he can balance his attention towards them both and has the economic means to support the second wife.

P.S: Most people won;t be able to meet this criteria.
I for one can;t imagine having more than one person linked to me at any point in my life.

Shut up idiot. Islamqa is banned in Saudi Arabia. Don't quote websites.
I've always had some doubts on this site islam.qa .
Why r they banned in saudia?

Ughgh second wives, second marriages .. While keeping the first wife in your life and forcing her to share her husband.
This woman did great thing, all women should follow her.
And we need these laws in other provinces too .

if man agrees to keep justice between 4 wives then there is no need for permission
what if first wife think that husband will not be able to do justice and husband think he will be able to do justice just in the love of another women?
Pakistani Laws are made with so much practicality and consent of people from all walk of life and if it is law to take permission there must be some reason for that and all citizens should follow it period.

BTW this law applied to non Muslims as well? i dont think other religions like Hinduism give too much liberty and protection to womens.

God's law is supreme, everything else vanishes into the dust from whence it came...

Pakistani laws here contradict Islam and we should respect them but don;t glorify them to a delusional level.

Polygamy is a permission and not law , it hasn't been made compulsory for Muslim men. Please.

It is not some divine order that Muslim men need to follow in true spirit, its a permission, granted according to circumstances and situation of that time ............. the apparent reason being increased number of widows and orphan children, because of the continuous fighting. Islam is here to promote and help with betterment of humans and their society and not their individual desires. Today in our Pakistani society we don't need to practice polygamy ..... there is no shortage of able men and hence State can go to the extent of banning Polygamy unless there is a dire need for it.

@TheBlackCoat @Mitro

This woman did great thing, all women should follow her.
And we need these laws in other provinces too .

Don't think it will be a happy marriage after this though. Seldom people rush towards the arms of those that sent them to jail.

Is Kay bad maintenance ka bhi kar day. :p

Huh this is Muslim family ordinance 1961. Its all over Pakistan. Its everywhere. You can do this in Baluchistan as well.

The mullahs loose their minds on three points of this law mainly and foolishky.

1. That consent is required in front of the council and written in that second marriage is allowed by first wife. This peeves the moulvis due to obvious reasons who would be keeping harems of hundreds if law didn't forbid. Koi haal nahi hai.

2. That all marriages must be certified with a nikah nama that must be registered in the council. All marriages not registered are not considered marriages but for reasons you know they work things out in late registration. This actually brings to case the first law of second marriages. Bcz all are documented. You can do crap.

3. Is inheritance law. Islamic law doesn't have grandchildren inheritance. They are not mentioned thus they are not allowed. The grandson or grand daughter cannot inherit from the property of grand father but Pakistan MFO allows inheritance of grandchildren.

These three peeve the moulvis off but these laws were passed with the consent of the ulema. The current crop is just too whiny.

So word of advice. You make sure your nikah nama is registered, that you reserve the right of divorce ( khula doesn't grant you haq mehr. Reserving right of talaq will), that the maintenance per month is not pittance like 2000rs. Adequate maintenance for a person. Keep an eye on that box and the has Mehr is not 32 rupees or even 10k. Lolzz :p :p :p

Anyway. This law is applicable in all of Pakistan and its territories. And Baluchistan is Pakistan. Don't think its in FATA, gilgit and Kashmir.

Don't think it will be a happy marriage after this though. Seldom people rush towards the arms of those that sent them to jail.

Huh this is Muslim family ordinance 1961. Its all over Pakistan. Its everywhere. You can do this in Baluchistan as well.

1. That consent is required in front of the council and written in that second marriage is allowed by first wife. This peeves the moulvis due to obvious reasons who would be keeping harems of hundreds if law didn't forbid. Koi haal nahi hai.

2. That all marriages must be certified with a nikah nama that must be registered in the council. All marriages not registered are not considered marriages but for reasons you know they work things out in late registration. This actually brings to case the first law of second marriages. Bcz all are documented. You can do crap.

3. Is inheritance law. Islamic law doesn't have grandchildren inheritance. They are not mentioned thus they are not allowed. The grandson or grand daughter cannot inherit from the property of grand father but Pakistan MFO allows inheritance of grandchildren.

These three peeve the moulvis off but these laws were passed with the consent of the ulema. The current crop is just too whiny.

So word of advice. You make sure your nikah nama is registered, that you reserve the right of divorce ( khula doesn't grant you haq mehr. Reserving right of talaq will), that the maintenance per month is not pittance like 2000rs. Adequate maintenance for a person. Keep an eye on that box and the has Mehr is not 32 rupees or even 10k. Lolzz :p :p :p

Anyway. This law is applicable in all of Pakistan and its territories. And Baluchistan is Pakistan. Don't think its in FATA, gilgit and Kashmir.

Thinking of such second marriages just burn me .
If I was that lady , I would've divorce him and married another person . Sorry, no place for such deceiving creeps.

These all girls when tyre married should sign an agreement that he'll not marry another woman otherwise his all wealth n children is hers.

If I was that lady , I would've divorce him and married another person . Sorry, no place for such deceiving creeps.

Khula. No haq Mehr but yes that would have been desirable bcz this marriage won't be happy. Maybe they have kids and she doesn't want to go through the mess a divorce brings. Baran sans chahiye khula Kay liye especially for the uneducated and less experienced women ( by experience of the real world). This is why I actively support education and worth degrees for girls so that they can carve their own path rather than stuck in a well.

These all girls when tyre married should sign an agreement that he'll not marry another woman otherwise his all wealth n children is hers.

You can actually do that. Nikah nama is a contract and the male can remove his right but believe me, its not going to work out. I can see how that discussion will go. You can set High maintenance and even attach receipts of jaheez given bcz afterwards you can file " wapsi saman jaheez" application.

Listen you can do all of that. Nikah nama is not a registration document. Its a contract. Think it like a contract. Two people making a contract with each other in the presence of two witness ( your parent's and tribe's consent is not required in law if you are major for marriage). Now that your mind is seeing it like a contract, you can add any point in it and the nikah nama actually has space for addition of any other agreed upon point.

This is law.

Reality is that the conversation will be horrific. It would be fun for third party spectators but it would be horrific.

People with lack of knowledge about deen make them say what ever they wanna say without knowing that he is totally allowed to marry another women without her concent.
This law needs to be changed.

Good that the man was jailed.
Incorrect.
You can take a 2nd wife without the permission of the 1st. Islam allows it.
This is not me being argumentative with you. Just look it up. You are a smart guy.
Personally I think taking a 2nd wife would cause problems as you cannot treat them equally and no wife would give you permission to marry again unless she was ill or something

fck off Hindu....According to Quran and Hadith one needs consent of first wife for second marriage...and second marriage is allowed only if he can do justice with both of them...! Should I tell we don't burn wives with death of husband? So next time, stay shut up in matters of different religion!

Bro I am Muslim and I am asking you to educate me with refernec from quran and sahih hadith that you need permission of the 1st wife to marry again. If you can do that I will openly say on this forum that I was wrong and accept your argument.

Khula. No haq Mehr but yes that would have been desirable bcz this marriage won't be happy. Maybe they have kids and she doesn't want to go through the mess a divorce brings. Baran sans chahiye khula Kay liye especially for the uneducated and less experienced women ( by experience of the real world). This is why I actively support education and worth degrees for girls so that they can carve their own path rather than stuck in a well.

You can actually do that. Nikah nama is a contract and the male can remove his right but believe me, its not going to work out. I can see how that discussion will go. You can set High maintenance and even attach receipts of jaheez given bcz afterwards you can file " wapsi saman jaheez" application.

Listen you can do all of that. Nikah nama is not a registration document. Its a contract. Think it like a contract. Two people making a contract with each other in the presence of two witness ( your parent's and tribe's consent is not required in law if you are major for marriage). Now that your mind is seeing it like a contract, you can add any point in it and the nikah nama actually has space for addition of any other agreed upon point.

This is law.

Reality is that the conversation will be horrific. It would be fun for third party spectators but it would be horrific.

This third party always makes a mess. Pakistan has a screwed up soceity which means everyone has right to interfere in your life n marriage .
Nikah naama in such is a contract to buy a sex slave for your entire life .

Khula. No haq Mehr but yes that would have been desirable bcz this marriage won't be happy. Maybe they have kids and she doesn't want to go through the mess a divorce brings. Baran sans chahiye khula Kay liye especially for the uneducated and less experienced women ( by experience of the real world).

c.
True :(
I have many females in my relatives whose husbands did secobd marriages n they all r bad to their 1st wife , beat them like hell , treat them like dirt but these women cant take divirce cause they r uneducated nd have no support . They bear this for whole life.

This third party always makes a mess. Pakistan has a screwed up soceity which means everyone has right to interfere in your life n marriage .
Nikah naama in such is a contract to buy a sex slave for your entire life .

True :(
I have many females in my relatives whose husbands did secobd marriages n they all r bad to their 1st wife , beat them like hell , treat them like dirt but these women cant take divirce cause they r uneducated nd have no support . They bear this for whole life.
That's so sad. Truly this isn't Islam.
This is why the 1st lesson of Islam was iqra. We are all still jahils. All wives have their rights. And husbands father's should be the ones ensuring each has her rights for he is the head of the house. But frankly in marriage in Pakistan it's the women that generally wear the trousers

what if first wife think that husband will not be able to do justice and husband think he will be able to do justice just in the love of another women?
Pakistani Laws are made with so much practicality and consent of people from all walk of life and if it is law to take permission there must be some reason for that and all citizens should follow it period.

BTW this law applied to non Muslims as well? i dont think other religions like Hinduism give too much liberty and protection to womens.[/
if man fails to do justice the woman feeling unjustice toward her can get divorce but if we implement the mentioned law men will involve in adultary and other wrong acts