Maharashtra: Beaten, forced to wave saffron,MUSLIM cop says his force let him down

INDIAPOSITIVE

Sheikh said the attack began at 8.30 am on February 20, when over 100 youth assembled outside the police chowky, after he and Awaskar had stopped a group of 25 from hoisting the saffron flag the previous night.

Yunus Sheikh, the Assistant Sub-Inspector who was assaulted, forced to carry a “saffron flag” and paraded through a town in Maharashtra’s Latur by members of a fringe right-wing group, has said that he was let down by his own colleagues who failed to save him.

The 50-year-old’s family has demanded a departmental probe into why reinforcements from Renapur police station failed to arrive in time to tackle the mob at Pangaon, around 15 km away, on Saturday. Sheikh, who is posted at the Renapur station, was on duty at Pangaon chowky.

Police on Sunday arrested 16 youths, including a minor, for assaulting Sheikh and forcing him to chant ‘Jai Bhawani, Jai Shivaji’ after he and K Awaskar, a head constable, tried to prevent them from hoisting the flag near Ambedkar Chowk, officially labelled as a “sensitive area”, to mark Shivaji Jayanti.

On Monday, speaking toThe Indian Expressfrom his bed at the Latur Civil Hospital, Sheikh said, “I phoned the control room and appraised them about the situation. Using my mobile, I called the in-charge of the Renapur station on his cellphone. But still, they failed to send reinforcements in time. The policemen reached Pangaon by 10.10 am. By then, the mob had assaulted me brutally and humiliated me by parading me.”

asi-yunus.jpg

Latur SP Dyaneshwar Chavan, however, said reinforcements had reached Pangaon within 9.50 am that day after two calls were received from Sheikh at 8.30 am and 8.45 am. Maharashtra DGP Pravin Dixit said the Aurangabad IG has been asked to “visit the spot and submit a report”.

Sheikh said the attack began at 8.30 am on February 20, when over 100 youth assembled outside the police chowky, after he and Awaskar had stopped a group of 25 from hoisting the saffron flag the previous night. Police said the group belonged to the little-known Shivaji Jayanti Mandal.

“I begged them to let me go but I was mercilessly beaten until I collapsed. The mob took me to the same spot where I had stopped them from hoisting the flag. They made me hoist the same flag there and forced me to chant ‘Jai Bhawani, Jai Shivaji’,” said Sheikh.

“I was just doing my duty. Ambedkar Chowk is marked as a communally sensitive area. We even assured the group the previous night that we would find a better place for them to hoist the flag,” said Sheikh.

yunus-sheikh.jpg
ASI Yunus Sheikh being paraded with the saffron flag.
Sheikh’s 28-year-old son, Farooq Yunus Sheikh, alleged that his father was “singled out” by the mob.

“The other constable who had also restrained the crowd from hoisting the flag the previous night was not paraded or attacked the way my father was. They spared him but not my father. What are we to make out of this?” asked Farooq, who works for an IT firm in Pune.

“If reinforcements had be sent on time, my father would not have been attacked. In every case, a departmental enquiry is ordered, we hope that this case is no different,” he said.

yunus.jpg
Admitted to a hospital in Latur, Maharashtra.
Farooq, who is tending to his father in hospital, said he was not satisfied with the arrests made so far.

“The other policeman has been made as a complainant. We fear this will weaken the case. He cannot provide an accurate account of what happened that morning. My father was the one who was assaulted and paraded, he should be made the complainant,” said Farooq.

“Also, the FIR has been registered against 125 people but only a handful have been arrested so far. The main accused that police identified from video footage has not been arrested so far. We feel that police are not aggressive enough in protecting one of their own,” Farooq said.

Sheikh, who has served Maharashtra Police for 38 years, has been on duty at the Pangaon outpost for the past two years. He stays in Latur with his wife while both his sons stay in Pune.

All 16 arrested, including the juvenile, have been booked under sections 307 (attempt to murder) and 353 (use of criminal force to deter a public servant from discharging his duties). The juvenile has been sent to a correctional facility while the other accused have been remanded in police custody until February 24.

Responding to allegations levelled by Sheikh and his family, Latur SP Chavan said, “Sheikh called the station around 8.30 am to inform that a violent mob was closing down shops. He made another call around 8.45 am after which we sent a police team on a jeep to the chowky. The team saw Awaskar, who was also injured, brought him to the outpost and attended to him. They reached the spot where Sheikh had been taken by 9.50 am.”

Chavan also said that it was not mandatory that only the victim of a crime be made the complainant.

“The provisions of CrPC allow a case to be registered by anyone who is a witness or victim to a cognizable offence. Awaskar has narrated the entire episode and we have also recorded Sheikh’s statement. It is a strong case,” added Chawan.

Asked about the main accused, Sandeep Chavan, the SP said there were “three to four more people who were heading the mob” and they would be arrested soon.

- See more at: Maharashtra: Beaten, forced to wave saffron, cop says his force let him down | The Indian Express

what a shameful incident,book all the d**k heads and none of them come out of the jail,they are a threat to the soceity.

It is a complete shame and utter break down of law and order. The right wing Hindu elements in India really think they have a free pass - it is high time they are brought down to earth.

Do the muslim elements in the police force think they have a free pass to grow beard and defy service rules ?

You do not want to follow rules, defy convention, brandish your religion in a "sensitive area" and then play the victim card ?

If that area was "sensitive" enough that even a flag cannot be put up, then how come he was walking around with IN YOUR FACE Islamic beard ? Even though Maharashtra police force service rules forbid it ?

Its high time they too are brought down to earth.

Extremely Shameful, WTH is the police doing.... There will be serious repercussions for this, cops as a fraternity are quite strong and usually payback is quite a btch when it comes Mapo.

What part is shameful ? the part where he had to carry Shivaji's flag ?

or the part where he got assaulted ?

who will stop them ??? our PM is in "manmohan" mode

Boo Hoo. Maybe Pappu can step up and deliver ?

mirchi lagi kya ??
pappu kare ya koi aur, apna PM to bilkul chupp ho gaya. aur uski jagah 10th fail waale bahut chilla rahe hai....

mirchi lagi kya ??
pappu kare ya koi aur, apna PM to bilkul chupp ho gaya. aur uski jagah 10th fail waale bahut chilla rahe hai....

:lol: .... yet the only one wailing here is you. Butthurt ?

Even though Maharashtra police force service rules forbid it
link ?

but even so, its not like this rabid mob single him out for 'breaking police rules'

this was a most shameful incident, the guilty should be punished and have the rulebook thrown at them.

link ?

but even so, its not like this rabid mob single him out for 'breaking police rules'

this was a most shameful incident, the guilty should be punished and have the rulebook thrown at them.

I have provided a link before, you can google it

The Mob was furious that a Muslim would prevent a Hindu group from putting up the flag of shivaji in a "sensitive" locality when he himself showed no such sensitivity.

The mob anger was justified.

What moral right does a Communal person have to prevent others from displaying their chauvinism ? If you play with fire you run the risk of getting burnt. That cop just learnt it the hard way.

Such rabid communal policemen needs to be shown their place. If the administration will not do it then the public will.

I do not think the incident is shameful at all. In fact it shows why cops needs to win the public trust, and not bully them under the mistaken belief it is still the British Raj.

A cop getting beaten black and blue by thugs, and insult of Shivaji Maharaj's Flag, by idiots who do not know what Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj stood for.
Lets not conflate issues, if the mob wanted to do something and a cop disagreed they have other means to to amicably solve the issue, but beating a cop is absolutely not acceptable. In the process they have tarnished the flag of the greatest leader this nation has ever seen. Do not associate Shivaji Maharaj and his great name with such idiots, who would corner and beat an outnumbered man, just out of a disagreement.

A cop getting beaten black and blue by thugs, and insult of Shivaji Maharaj's Flag, by idiots who do not know what Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj stood for.
Lets not conflate issues, if the mob wanted to do something and a cop disagreed they have other means to to amicably solve the issue, but beating a cop is absolutely not acceptable. In the process they have tarnished the flag of the greatest leader this nation has ever seen. Do not associate Shivaji Maharaj and his great name with such idiots, who would corner and beat an outnumbered man, just out of a disagreement.

Shivaji stood for freedom of Hindus from Islamic Rule. Did YOU know that ? He fought for Hindavi Swaraj. His kingdom was called Hindu Samrajya.

But as you said, let us not confuse issues here.

The Mob did not see a Cop, they saw an Muslim Cop trying to deny Hindus freedom to host Shivaji's flag. Something Shivaji fought for. See the Irony ?

You know WHY they saw a "muslim cop" ? Because the cop wanted to show everybody that he was not just a Cop, he was a Muslim Cop. His wish was granted. He just learnt that you can't have the cake and eat it too.

The Only idiot I see here is the cop who decided to have double standards, one for himself, another for the Mob.

The people in the Mob did what Shivaji would have done. Acted against injustice. Shivajji would be proud.

Do the muslim elements in the police force think they have a free pass to grow beard and defy service rules ?

You do not want to follow rules, defy convention, brandish your religion in a "sensitive area" and then play the victim card ?

If that area was "sensitive" enough that even a flag cannot be put up, then how come he was walking around with IN YOUR FACE Islamic beard ? Even though Maharashtra police force service rules forbid it ?

Its high time they too are brought down to earth.

Utter rubbish. If he defied the uniform code of the MH police - it is upto the police to pull him up. Sikh cops wear turbans. Hindu cops have tilaks. And how do you define an Islamic beard? What part of it is shameful??????? That a cop was beaten up by a lynch mob for doing his duty. He is not playing the victim card. He is in the freaking hospital. You maybe okay with India rapidly becoming a banana republic with scant regard for law and order. I am not.

Shivaji stood for freedom of Hindus from Islamic Rule. Did YOU know that ? He fought for Hindavi Swaraj. His kingdom was called Hindu Samrajya.

But as you said, let us not confuse issues here.

The Mob did not see a Cop, they saw an Muslim Cop trying to deny Hindus freedom to host Shivaji's flag. Something Shivaji fought for. See the Irony ?

You know WHY they saw a "muslim cop" ? Because the cop wanted to show everybody that he was not just a Cop, he was a Muslim Cop. His wish was granted. He just learnt that you can't have the cake and eat it too.

The Only idiot I see here is the cop who decided to have double standards, one for himself, another for the Mob.

The people in the Mob did what Shivaji would have done. Acted against injustice. Shivajji would be proud.
Yawn. Did Shivaji come in your dreams and tell you that? Like God spoke directly to George Bush?