KPK RTI progress report: 0 Conviction

Zaneesh852

RTI Commission in KP yet to penalise violators
ISLAMABAD: Despite receiving over 300 public complaints during the last 14 months, the Right to Information (RTI) Commission (RTI) Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (KPK) has not handed down a single sentence to violators of the landmark law. Resultantly, several public bodies in KP are continuously blocking access to information with impunity.

According to information available on the website of RTI Commission, it received 321 complaints after the enactment of RTI Act 2013 of which 113 are still unresolved but not a single official of the government has been penalised for concealing the information.

The official data shows that the commission received 290 complaints in 2014 against government officials for blocking access to information. As many as 89 complaints still remain pending, as the required information has not been provided by the respective government departments. Similarly, in 2015 so far the commission has received 31 complaints against public bodies for violating RTI law. Only two of 31 complaints have been resolved through commission’s intervention, the official data shows. The commission resolved the remaining complaints by directing the officials to comply with the law but no official was punished for hampering the free flow of information.

According to its official website “the Commission can, while inquiring into a complaint, impose a fine on a Public Information Officer. The amount would be a daily fine of Rs250 up to a maximum of Rs25000.” Also under the KPK RTI Act, any one who willfully destroys or otherwise obstructs access to information that is subject to an RTI request, or complaint to the Commission, is committing an offence punishable by imprisonment of up to two years and /or a fine not less than Rs50000”.

According to KP residents and RTI activists, the commission has turned into a mere post office owing to its failure to enforce the law.

However, the Chief Information Commissioner KPK Maj(R) Sahibzada Muhammad Khalid claims that the commission is effectively working to ensure people’s access to information through awareness and persuasion.

But Muhammad Naeem, a leader of Pakistan Tehrik-Insaaf (PTI) youth wing in Mardan strongly rejects these claims saying his RTI complaint is pending with the commission for the last seven months.

“I sought information about number of employees in Abdul Wali Khan University (AWKU) in Mardan about seven months back and the matter landed in the commission but I am yet to get the correct information despite a hearing conducted by the commission on the issue,” Naeem said.

He said the AWKU provided two contradictory figures about the number of employees in its written response so the commission was requested to penalise the management for delay and misinformation under RTI Act 2013.

“But the commission again only directed Public Information Officer (PIO) of the university to provide me the correct information instead of imposing penalty on him for deliberately providing wrong information,” Naeem said adding that the leniency towards PIO is encouraging government officials to withhold necessary information.

According to official document of the commission on the issue, a copy of which is available with The News, “the two letters conveying the total strength of employees in the university are in conflict with each other. The PIO promised to provide correct details to the complainant, complete in every respect, within three days.”

The order was issued on January 13 but the complainant is yet to receive the information.When contacted, the spokesman of the RTI Commission KPK Mohammad Atif said he was aware of the complaints about delay in provision of information by public bodies.

“We have informed the Chief Information Commissioner about the issue in writing and we are waiting for his response,” he said.Atif said the commission has been unable to formulate its rules regarding the penalties and that is why no punishments have been awarded to violators so far.

Talking to The News, Sahibzada Muhammad Khalid said it would take time to change the culture regarding provision of information.“We are taking slow but steady steps towards complete implementation of the law. There are several issues like frequent posting of PIOs, lack of awareness etc that are hampering the progress on RTI,” he said.

The Chief Information Commissioner said the Official Secret Act was introduced in 1923 and it remained enforced for almost a century resulting in strengthening a culture of secrecy.

“It will take some time to change the culture. We are doing our best to convince the PIOs and government officials to change their attitude on information sharing,” he said.He applauded the RTI Act 2013 as a game changer in improving governance in the province.

RTI Commission in KP yet to penalise violators - thenews.com.pk

Naya KPK? PTI has not improved in even one area of KPK. They are a failed party, and deserve to fade back into irrelevancy. Thankfully, they are fading into nothing by their own actions.

At the rate your memory is fading away, I doubt you will remember anything or retain anything past 5mins.. lmao!

Interesting this same guy who is pmln supporter his party dnt even give access to info have problem with someone that kpk dnt punish people for RTI

Agreed

We need honest and dedicated leaders like Nawaz Sharif and Asif Ali Zardari. In the past 8 years, they have taken a failing nation and made the country into an Asian Tiger.

Agreed

We need honest and dedicated leaders like Nawaz Sharif and Asif Ali Zardari. In the past 8 years, they have taken a failing nation and made the country into an Asian Tiger.
May not be honest but still not all out baboons like Imran.

Aap ki iss baat pay khushi say meri aankho say aansso nikal ayay. Kuch nhi honay wala hamara.We really deserve Zardaris and Nawazis.
PS: Aap ki soch ko tu ma 21 topo ki salami dena bhool hi gaya.

@Zaneesh852

As per the claims of Noonies, Punjab also has a RTI in place. Some even go ahead and claim that Punjab's RTI is in place since 2011 or so (way before KPK).

Care / dare to post the progress of Punjab's RTI, if its not implemented in dreams of Khadim-e-Naala and good books of nooni tunes like you?

At least, a real RTI is implemented in KPK and its progress is being monitored and shared with public. What about fantasy-land of Nooras and Showbazs?

PS: Aap ki soch ko tu ma 21 topo ki salami dena bhool hi gaya.

Go ahead, and mark their aims right at the middle of his b-u-tt before firing.

Aap ki iss baat pay khushi say meri aankho say aansso nikal ayay. Kuch nhi honay wala hamara.We really deserve Zardaris and Nawazis.
But at the cost of them we need better people than an Idiot like Imran. Aapki akhon main to aanso aa jatay hain magar dimagh par pari mitti nahi uthti. Imran is a media star. NS ko zardari se wohi compare karsakta hay jisko orange aur apple main farq na samagh aata ho. But anways, abhi elections main jo haal PTI ka hua hay usskay baad bhee agar Imran ko aqal na aaye to phir Khuda uss par rehm karay.

So you're admitting that they are corrupt? At least you're being honest, and i respect that.
They may be corrupt, but definately tagging them as corrupt to justify electing an all out idiot is not gonna work for PTI.

So you do agree, they are corrupt and you support corrupt people. You support people who have stolen billions of dollars from the poor people of Pakistan. That's fine, at least you're honest about it and that's something we should respect.

At least in my opinion, corruption is worse than killing someone. By killing someone you put them out of their misery, by committing corruption you commit those people to a lifetime of hardship by stealing their rights. And you're correct, IK is an idiot and Asif Ali Zardari and Nawaz Sharif are the smartest people on the planet. The economy has been growing at a rate of 10%, and all of Pakistan's Social Problems have been solved by these Fine Corrupt Gentlemen.

God Bless You

We have lot in our nation like you who prefer supporting corrupt on honest due to race and ethnicity, This solves the mystery of our failed and handicapped society which is at the brink of collapse. Stop writing at forum, start reading some historical records you are no more living in dark ages, Internet is available to you please enlighten your self from facts and ground realities, first face the truth available, compare it to your logic and then pass comments here at this forum.

You have to keep in mind, most of these people are corrupt themselves or are benefiting from the corrupt system. Either they are serving in positions which allows them to take bribes such as Police or Patwari. Or they have been given Government Contracts or Jobs from these Corrupt Leaders. Most of the people i know serving in the Civil Service support PML-N, because they know that PTI would bring hammer on their corruption. This has backfired for PTI too, as Civil Servants in KPK Government are afraid to issue tenders or contracts because they fear if there is even a slight problem with the contract, they might get caught.

So you do agree, they are corrupt and you support corrupt people. You support people who have stolen billions of dollars from the poor people of Pakistan. That's fine, at least you're honest about it and that's something we should respect.

At least in my opinion, corruption is worse than killing someone. By killing someone you put them out of their misery, by committing corruption you commit those people to a lifetime of hardship by stealing their rights. And you're correct, IK is an idiot and Asif Ali Zardari and Nawaz Sharif are the smartest people on the planet. The economy has been growing at a rate of 10%, and all of Pakistan's Social Problems have been solved by these Fine Corrupt Gentlemen.

God Bless You
Again, rants rants and nothing more than rants. I said before, Imran Khan's biggest hurdle to PM house are not NS and Zardari but his own stupid self. I mean its really an absolute shame for the PTI that it couldn't even secure a second position in Punjab and worse a third in Sindh. And whats more is that they will lose a huge chunk after teaming up with Jamaties in Karachi for third phase, my friends who had been pro-PTI from Karachi have been telling me that they won't vote for PTI-JI alliance, their question now is whether to or not to vote for MQM. For Imran, staging a politicial circus everyday on camra may win him an applause of couple of anchors but people have started to take him as a non serious politician and as a result, a non serious option to vote for. I hope this goes through your brain well enough, though I doubt it.

You have to keep in mind, most of these people are corrupt themselves or are benefiting from the corrupt system. Either they are serving in positions which allows them to take bribes such as Police or Patwari. Or they have been given Government Contracts or Jobs from these Corrupt Leaders. Most of the people i know serving in the Civil Service support PML-N, because they know that PTI would bring hammer on their corruption. This has backfired for PTI too, as Civil Servants in KPK Government are afraid to issue tenders or contracts because they fear if there is even a slight problem with the contract, they might get caught.
Never knew everybody is given a government post or bribes:cheesy::cheesy::cheesy::cheesy: What a dingo! Like the leader, like the follower :lol:
Parhay likhay Jahils.