Kill The Dowry.

It's one of the shittiest evils that is still not punishable by law. Islam or not, it should be completely banned.

I don't know about other families, however, in ours we neither accept it nor give it away with our girls.

Its not just in your family, there is no tradition of jahaiz among all pashtuns,. In our pashtun society, in addition to haq mehar, a groom has to pay zar,gold to bride, and he also has to pay for all the expenditures of the wedding. Thats why they say about us in punjab that we sell our daughters.

in India (Most of the parts) and Pakistan (particullarly in Punjab province), the family of the groom hands over a long list of items to bride's family for provision which by the way sometimes also includes a vehicle apart from other items costing millions of rupees.

seems they are selling their sons
i agree, so in pakistan,in memons what have you seen,but i know saveral memons around who literally sell out their sons,and another term RAKH RAKHAO you all are must be well aware of it,just for RAKH RAKHOW and to show how sophisticated and classy these are the people of girl's side give much more besides dowry,i say women are women's enemy, while the man of the house usually remain silent,but once if that man of the house stand upon and strictly talk to his women for not to take dowry,and tolerate her harmless arguements then no dowry>no burden>no susides>no crime too....

^i hope such practices become a mere token. in traditional chinese marriage it is the other way around. the groom side gives money and gold etc to the bride family. (selling the bride, as andro put)

NOP its not selling bride its security in advance. Here in KP province of Pakistan, we give Gold (atleast of 5 to 6 lakhs rupees' by even a middle class family), besides land, mehr, alot of clothing to Bride and family of bride do insist on Gold and land/house for girl as security of her future :) so in case of divorce she gets Gold, land, for her future. In soem areas the walima expenditure for Girl's side is also paid by the groom side

i'm not one to question people's beliefs and traditions. in any case, in today' world where working girls are not dependent on their husbands I don't see a major need for such security nets.

to each his own. :tup:

Refusing to take dowry was one of my, engagement conditions. This insanity makes me sick to my stomach.

Great. same here...

just to remind you about your leader: Imran was to get 300 million pounds according to British law from divorce settlement but he said "mein bagairat nahi kay biwi kay paisay lon".

Great. same here...

just to remind you about your leader: Imran was to get 300 million pounds according to British law from divorce settlement but he said "mein bagairat nahi kay biwi kay paisay lon".
it should be like that both ways. girls are becoming independent which is excellent imo

i'm not one to question people's beliefs and traditions. in any case, in today' world where working girls are not dependent on their husbands I don't see a major need for such security nets.

you guys had been minting money from girls' families. Its time the tide should reverse. And there is every reason to get the groom paid for her future be she is working or non-working lady.

In India and Pakistan NOT every girl is a working lady. so Security nets are needed.

you guys had been minting money from girls' families. Its time the tide should reverse. And there is every reason to get the groom paid for her future be she is working or non-working lady.
In India and Pakistan NOT every girl is a working lady. so Security nets are needed.
like i mentioned, to each his own.
i for one, expect husband and wife to be equals (since that is what i saw growing up). neither is dependent on each other for financial means.

In our pashtun society, except few respectable jobs like teaching, doctory etc, women are not allowed to work outside.

Great. same here...

Pardon I didnt get your point ?
i meant, girls shouldn't be baighairat to depend on husband's money either. both should be financially independent in my humble opinion

In our pashtun society, except few respectable jobs like teaching, doctory etc, women are not allowed to work outside.
it is your society, run it the way you like. :tup:

i meant, girls shouldn't be baighairat to depend on husband's money either. both should be financially independent in my humble opinion

it is your society, run it the way you like. :tup:

I wont put it that way. but surely they shouldn't "depend", but a man must put his money on his girls hand, like a man IMO !!

^paaji, yahan toh ye aalam hai ki shaadi se pehle hi joint account bana diya tha for depositing our salaries :P
resource pooling changa je, bass dependency naa ho teh vadiya :tup:

^paaji, yahan toh ye aalam hai ki shaadi se pehle hi joint account bana diya tha for depositing our salaries :P
resource pooling changa je, bass dependency naa ho teh vadiya :tup:

thek kita payyan, khush ravo tusi dowain, hamesha... !!

Dowry is outlawed in india, but its pervasive in culture.
Although I know some people now a days dont take it as such.
In my view, the girl should get her part of share of property fairly (was not part of hindu law till recently) and dowry is a poor substitute for that.