salarsikander
and you should start making the ancient vedic intergalactic space vehiclesu should go for f-22 raptor.....
New Recruit
I hate this aircraft more than anything else... na shakal na akal aur na use... just to full fill old retire fleet place..... Such a kiddy aircraft while facing IAF which is core enemy of Pakistan. Better to go for more F16s along with A10 for ground hunter + J31 for aggression against SU30.... this JF bas chowk wok pe latka deen jesay poranay skybolt laga rakhay hain uskay liye fit rahayga .. bachay sachay ja kar bhaeet kar selfiyaan kichwaya karengay
Looking at the operating (cap+op) budget of PAF, and the size of the defence budget of Pakistan, what PAF has achieved with the JF17 program is nothing short of brilliant.
One single multirole system to replace 3 platforms (5 variants) Nachang A-5, Mirage III/V, and F7 and F7PG.... If anything the men behind the project should be hailed as National Heroes of Pakistan. At 1/5th of the price, they have successfully done what a 100 million dollar aircraft is struggling to do for the US....
Additionally , JF17 doesn't just replace the aging fleet of dedicated legacy jets, but creates a surprise element within a F16 strike package. One thing we often tend to forget is India-Pakistan border is Huge, looking at the Map we sometimes make the folly of loosing the perspective. A Lo-Lo strike package of JF17 can penetrate Indian defenses along hi-lo F16/Jf17 mix, all IAF forward bases are at risk, now JF 17 much like the F16 lets you use the same platform withn a strike package to be armed with a Air Sup config/ a strike config/ and combination config. That is a game changer, much like what the F16 brought to the table.
Next is ability to tweak open arch com bus and make it read Link 16 tags, JF17 gives pakistan open architecture mission computers, which can be immensly helpful to integrate both Western/Russian/indigenous munitions. You can do whatever you want to do with the systems and know that your on engineers can fix it without any issues. The system provides to capability to serve as test bed for engineering projects, improvement projects, having control over the Bill of material structure, you can change, optimize, re-engineer and validate different materials, different actuators/servos/valves/MFD's/control systems/mission comps/cooling systems/radar/flirs/ EW suite/maws/rwr's, on the component level you can qualify different suppliers to make the aircraft more reliable, cheaper, have lesser down time/ easier maintenance, change local suppliers/ increase local content and more...Which other system in the history of Pakistan has provided such options to Pakistan?
@MastanKhan sahab is worried about carrying more Maritime strike munitions or more munitions in general, which is actually valid concern. But one of the key concerns that we often neglect is with a higher payload you will be sacrificing a significan amount of aerodynamic performance, so if you are willing to fly a hog of an aircraft with fully loaded aerodynamic structure, there is no reason why JF17 could fly with 4 - C802 Antiship missiles in clean configuration with a Air superiority configuration Jf17 accompanying it, because if you were flying a JH7- you would be needing a Air-sup cover anyways. Yes JF17 takes a payload/range hit when compared to say a tornado or a JH7, but the advantages it brings to the table outweighs the limitations by huge huge margin.
I think JH-7 B can be great option but 4th Jet in PAF if needed for now along with F-16 and JF-17 we need either SU-35 or J-11 D. JH-7 B in large numbers can be good for PAF in fact can be our main jet for nuclear strike and bombing the hell out of enemy.Darn @MastanKhan You've done it now -- On a lighter note its funny how we call out Mastan Bhai when he says something like "JFT is a wrong aircraft for Pakistan" -- while not many of us were as enthusiastic to do the same, when he quoted an article which said something along the lines of "If an F-16 can get a kill on F-35 in WVR, so can a JFT" --
However, for some of our angry members, atleast read his posts with a cool head-- they are not a jab or a diss at the JFT -- they are more inclined towards pointing out the FACT that JF-17 as great as it is and as much as it provides us as indicated in many posts from @Viper0011. to @araz -- It does not however "project power" -- In other words its more of a jab/criticism on our defensive doctrine then on the jet itself ..
I believe we still make our conventional strategies like PAF's defensive doctrine based on our nuclear doctrine of first use and the assumptions that the Indian conventional forces won't cross a certain line ... Now that might be effective with sane minds in the top hierarchy of your opponent -- but every once in a while there are a few individuals who determine the lines by crossing them .. Hence to deter those type of maniacs we need to possess equipment through which we can project power and deter them ...
With regards to the JF-17, we've only seen a little of what its true capable of ... and in its current form it can go toe to toe with the Migs and Mirages of the IAF ... with force multipliers on its side it can possibly do alot of damage against the MKI's as well -- but with the slated upgrades of block III with HMS and 5th gen WVR with HOBS, along with AESA,an internal IRST and upgrades on the SD-10 we are looking at somewhat of a beast ... either we go to the west or Chinese or possibly both remains a decision that PAF will have to take soon enough ...
Bottom line, to really deter your opponent one needs to have the means to project the statement of "mess with us and we'll F*ck you up" as crude as it maybe--- and with IAF struggling with acquisitions its time where we started looking at options that let us achieve that psychological effect over our opponents ...
What it will be ultimately -- more second hand F-16's with MLU's -- possibly a Russian option --- or one of the Chinese high end options -- or bombers like JH-7B -- we will have to wait & see -- and that too is dependent on if PAF thinks that its doctrine needs a make over or not --- or how the new fighters would fit in the current one if the are indeed pursued -- One thing is for sure with the CPEC and the EEZ the need an aerial arm for the navy is there .... and a specialized version of JH-7B along with JFT for support will be the ideal fit ...
Read @Oscar 's post....opar jo story liki hey usmay asay lagta hey jesay agli side Afghanistan hey jab JF17 ayeengay tu wahan loog neechay bhetay chanay kha rahay hoongay oo bhai look what Mastan Khan point... his perspective for JF17 facing IAF... and I agreed with him while facing Indian side with SU30 Mig 29 .... JF17... oo mama wapis chaliyee....
What do you mean ? JF-17 is good but we need one more 4.5th Generation beast at leastopar jo story liki hey usmay asay lagta hey jesay agli side Afghanistan hey jab JF17 ayeengay tu wahan loog neechay bhetay chanay kha rahay hoongay oo bhai look what Mastan Khan point... his perspective for JF17 facing IAF... and I agreed with him while facing Indian side with SU30 Mig 29 .... JF17... oo mama wapis chaliyee....