It hurts, I don’t like it: Mahira Khan on criticism, controversy and social media

Your comments suggest you are confused about what line you want to take here
Ajeeb tamasha he ye aaj kaal. Chor ko chor na bolein, katil ko katil na bolein, kanjri ko kanjri na bolein. Mujay apka logic ne samaj ara.
:lol: yara ye fazool behas choro I need suggestion for a good cell phone in the range of 20K to 25K PKR , Kindly help. I have posted in the smartphones sticky thread. Leave mahira

Jana ji, with respect, 20-25K is too much to spend on a phone.

In about 7-8K you get everything you need. At least I do.

Cheers, Doc

For me it is a simple case of a selfish mother ...... by now she should have enough money to settle for a respectable business of her own. But it appears she values her own fame and stardom over everything else. This should hurt her more than anything else.

Regarding her private life, a pretty looking girl who married at 23 and got her divorce at 31, and she is pictured smoking in some revealing dress with another male ........ well such a woman is hardly successful and is hardly living a prosperous, peaceful life in my view.

What is a good cause? In todays world any cause thats accepted by western world is a good cause!! Anything they practice becomes a good cause!! So should we just blindly follow these celebrities who are following "good causes" of western civilization? Or should we look at our history our culture and atleast call these bs good causes as cancer to our society!!

We Muslims ruled the world why? Not by following good causes of other cultures not by acting inferior! We ruled because we followed rules,rules not made by men but made by creator!! We were progressive and powerful when we were proud of word of Allah and Prophet (SAW) proud of our culture! Our society was not based on hypocrisy but based on eauality! We dressed based on our culture and religion we traded according to rules of Islam and we progressive and developed powerful and mighty!! And look at us now (atleast i can talk about myself) we want to become somethung we are not suppose to! We want to follow men and not God!

You want to talk about treating humanity kindly read Akhri Khutba of Rasul Allah and please tell me if that khubta doesnt give everyone equal rights and freedom or not!

In western world its okay to reveal your skin but its considered barbaric if you were burkah! Where is freedom of expression now?

You can abuse Muslim and Islam but dare not say anything about jews! Youll be labeled an anti semite a redical!!

See this whole principle of freedom of expression is bs! We have let few people control our culture our way of life and dare go against their idea and you are labeled a radical an extremist!! Their ideas are flawed we all know that but yet we follow them blindly and that is why we are where we are...freaking garbage in society and not where we are suppose to be kings of society!!

I donot follow the western freedom of expression bullshit . I'm not the follower of freedom of expression so u getting it wrong .
In this thread , I only had one thing in my mind .. that is the tolerance nd humility islam taught to us . No where I' spread the western formula , western morality is biased as it's more leaned toward favoritism so take this thing out of your mind that I follow west .
It's sin in islam to wear such dresses I know but isn't it a sin in islam to accuse her of adultery , prostitution , whore ? People here beat their chest accusing her nd remembering her islamic morals , do they forget that they've no right to dictate unless they're her mehrums.
This soceity has some screwed up interpretations of Islamic teachings so let me speak about it .

If u feel free commenting on her nd accusing her cause u think she's a public property then let me disagree with your views regarding the rights this soceity gave u .

Your comments suggest you are confused about what line you want to take here

Lol ..

I agreed with him that muslim girls r pretty as they've a nice genes nd at same time I believe hindu girls r also pretty lmao .

Ajeeb tamasha he ye aaj kaal. Chor ko chor na bolein, katil ko katil na bolein, kanjri ko kanjri na bolein. Mujay apka logic ne samaj ara.

Baat sirf itni si ha .. concentrate on the betterment of your life .
Be good nd nice to everyone .
Don't indulge yourself in things that doesn't concern u . Aagay ap ki marzi .

Why do you say so??

It was a very stupid programme .
Too much dramas , lies , fighting , irrelevant things ..
It's waste of time , u should watch some decent programmes .

I donot follow the western freedom of expression bullshit . I'm not the follower of freedom of expression so u getting it wrong .
In this thread , I only had one thing in my mind .. that is the tolerance nd humility islam taught to us . No where I' spread the western formula , western morality is biased as it's more leaned toward favoritism so take this thing out of your mind that I follow west .
It's sin in islam to wear such dresses I know but isn't it a sin in islam to accuse her of adultery , prostitution , whore ? People here beat their chest accusing her nd remembering her islamic morals , do they forget that they've no right to dictate unless they're her mehrums. This soceity has some screwed up interpretations of Islamic teachings so let me speak about it .

ILols i was never pointing at you! Was talking about society and hypocricy!

I hope my comments dint "HURT" you :D

I agree with you.

Check Redmi range of Xiaomi.

The cameras could be better (when compared to the leaders like IPhone). And the speaker on mine distorts when I record live concerts (my son plays the drums in a band ...). I don't know why or if I'm doing some setting wrong. But its crazy value.

Cheers, Doc

While I don't necessarily like Mahira Khan, but people calling her a " whore " for wearing what seem to be a fairly normal dress in 2017, and criticizing her for smoking is BS.

Here are some photos from a long gone era, of which I'm certain that if these were to be released today would cause massive uproar and controversy; goes to show how open minded Pakistan was before Zia fucked it up.

552544fac6dec.jpg

Johnnie Talking: An Urdu ad of johnnie walker whiskey from an urdu weekly published from Karachi in 1959.

5525435240c54.jpg

Fishing for food: A painting of a mermaid at a street restaurant in Lahore in 1952.
5526349a2c414.jpg
A 1964 press ad about Filipino and Moroccan dancers performing at the ‘007 Club’ at Karachi’s Beach Luxury’s Hotel. The Club is now a conventional restaurant
552636e1479cf.jpg
A 1975 press ad of the then famous Pakistan cigarette brand, Red & White.
5526381478ae0.jpg
A still from Pakistan’s first ‘X-rated’ film, ‘Dhulan Aik Raat Ki’ (1975) that starred ‘Pakistan’s Charles Bronson’, Badar
5526381bcf654.jpg
The April 1977 cover of popular Urdu fashion and show-biz magazine, Dhanak.
5526381615ecb.jpg
The inside flap of a 1976 issue of Ishtraq – Pakistan’s Urdu equivalent of Playboy magazine. The magazine was shut down in 1978
55263c49c6069.jpg
Shaming the dictator: Activists of the Women Action Front (WAF) burn their dupattas (long sacrfs) in Lahore in 1983. The WAF was on the forefront of opposing the Zia regime that it accused of being ‘anti-women’ and ‘regressive.’

From this to today.

Oh how we've fallen as a nation :pakistan:

@newb3e , hurt .. my foot ! :sniper:
Haha nai ajj kal log zarra sensitive zyada hogaye hain na chooti chooti baaton peh hurt hojatay hain!

Aur app qta ki hain please ya barri barri guns na dikhaye hum khi wallay qta wallon say wesay bhut dartay hain!

Haha nai ajj kal log zarra sensitive zyada hogaye hain na chooti chooti baaton peh hurt hojatay hain!

Aur app qta ki hain please ya barri barri guns na dikhaye hum khi wallay qta wallon say wesay bhut dartay hain!

Sensitive me nhi karachi wale log hain .. becharay kch khhaate nhi . Patli Patli taangen ..
I'm this kind of balochistan girl ..
images (5).jpeg

Here's a very beautiful piece I found about judging others in islam .
Hope u guys like it , please read all . @lastofthepatriots @newb3e @Moonlight @padamchen @jamahir @Dem!god @AUz
.. and all other participants in this thread

Judging a person is to have a certain perception about him or her within our minds, which could be beautiful or rather ugly. The fear of being judged or misjudged is often felt in many members of a community and can sometimes end up affecting a person’s actions.

Islam not only addresses how believers are to act towards one another, but even to the extent of how they should secretly think about one another! Truly, the emphasis of Islam is not just on the superficial acts but more so towards the spirituality and deep intention behind the acts.

How Does Islam Expect Believers to Think of One Another?
“O you who have faith! Avoid much suspicion. Indeed some suspicions are sins.” [Surah Hujurat:12]

A suspicion being a negative thought or feeling about a believer is discouraged, in fact even prohibited in this verse. Furthermore, the Holy Prophet (saw) has said,

“Certainly Allah has made sacred the blood, property and respect of a Muslim (from another Muslim) and he must not even entertain bad thoughts (about the other Muslim).”

A believer must feel secure from not only physical harm but also from the bad judgment of another believer – how beautiful and far-reaching is Islam’s scope of guidance for us!

It’s natural to ask: “So if I see a person commit open haraam (sin), how can I possibly not think badly of them?” The answer is simple; we just don’t have the tools to make judgments. There are thousands of parameters that make a person act a certain way, perhaps we could be worse if we were in their shoes. To think or claim that we truly know someone’s deep-down intentions is far from the truth. The conclusion is simple – a believer protects his/her mind from being polluted with pessimistic thoughts about another believer.

The One Who Judges
Perhaps the greater harm of harboring negative thoughts and feelings about another believer is to one’s own self. It tarnishes the soul and according to traditions, is a sign of lack of ‘aql (intellect). On a side-note, it is important to realize here that the ‘aql (reason or intellect) is not synonymous with intelligence and smartness of an individual. One may be the most intelligent and accomplished individual (in the worldly sense) but may or may not possess ‘aql (intellect): a higher merit thoroughly described in the Holy Quran and traditions of the Ahlulbayt. We can seek explanations from our respected scholars on this subject.

In an important and famous tradition, Imam Baqir (as) has said, “For God’s worship there is nothing superior than the reason (‘aql). A believer is not wise until and unless he possesses the following ten characteristics.” The tenth and final characteristic pertains most to this topic,

“The tenth characteristic which is more important than all is that while seeing others he must say: ‘He is much better and more pious than me.’

There are several scenarios that come to mind when reflecting on this tradition. For example, if someone sins openly, how can we consider them to be pious? However, the bottom-line and spirit of this tradition is that humility is the goal when it comes to how we think of one another. Without this type of humility, one cannot reach wisdom and true servitude towards the Creator!

The Fear of Being Judged
Sometimes, when a person tries to perform the obligatory duty of advising against evil or bad actions, people take it to mean that they are being judged. Thereby they get offended and upset. There is a fine line between judging someone and advising them to do the right thing – however they are not the same. We are not allowed to judge, however we are also obliged in Islam to counsel one another! This obligation is not something exclusively assigned to the scholars but is expected to be fulfilled by everyone in the community. It is in fact also one of the rights of a Muslim upon his believing brother or sister (as defined by the Holy Prophet (saw) in his famous tradition of thirty rights of a believer).

We need to make sure we realize the difference between judging versus advising and not deter growth in the society through refraining from counseling and helping one another spiritually. If a person tries to advise a brother or sister to correct a certain fault, provided the right rulings and etiquettes in doing so are abided by, this act should be taken as a blessing and not a sign of being judged.

If we find ourselves sometimes judging others negatively, we can help ourselves to get rid of this habit through focusing more closely on our own deficiencies. With practice and strong will, it will become possible to be one of those who the Imam (as) describes as owners of ‘aql and wisdom!

The ultimate change that we like to see within our Ummah must start right from within each one of us. We have the most excellent examples and ethical role models in the Ahlulbayt (as) and have no other path of reaching ultimate perfection save through them