Is Nehru misunderstood?

Nehru was in jail many times and for many years (11 years in all ) during independence struggle..if he was really power hungry why would he face such a painful life when he had all the wealth and comforts at his disposal?

There are people who never once went to jail and became leaders (and later held titles such as great leader and founding father of a country) just by inciting people in name of religion.Such leaders never left their luxuries.

Couldn't Nehru afford to lead such a life pretending to be working for our country's independence? If we read his book discovery of India, we get to know his love for India(which in fact is a compilation of letters written to his daughter by him.not a book written to show off his knowledge or love for India).

Off course he might have made some policy blunders but can we doubt his love and devotion for his country?

yes ! Nehru is misunderstood to be a great leader ! he was the original bigot and ahole of first order. is legacy : Unsolved J&K issue, taking the matter in UNO, China Border, Surrendering UNSC Seat are the major problem india is facing.

When did that happen? India never had a security council seat.

The Hindu : `Nehru declined offer of permanent U.N. seat'
add to that snooping on the relatives of Neta Ji .

Please try to understand: the seat was that of China, that is, KMT China, in 1945. This arrangement dates back to the Cairo Conference. When China went through her own revolution and threw out the KMT, forcing them back into one tiny island off the coast, the seat should have legitimately gone to the successor regime, as it did, ultimately. Instead, the US, totally hostile to the Communist regime of China, held off a decision in favour of Peking until very recently.

This piece of very suspect history is highly unlikely, because the US disliked India only next to China.

Please try to understand: the seat was that of China, that is, KMT China, in 1945. This arrangement dates back to the Cairo Conference. When China went through her own revolution and threw out the KMT, forcing them back into one tiny island off the coast, the seat should have legitimately gone to the successor regime, as it did, ultimately. Instead, the US, totally hostile to the Communist regime of China, held off a decision in favour of Peking until very recently.

This piece of very suspect history is highly unlikely, because the US disliked India only next to China.
so u agree with the rest ?

First of sorry for disagreeing with you.
How was he more secular than Gandhi ?
He was the one who opposes his daughter Mrs Indira Gandhi marriage with a Parsi Firoz Gandhi, and allow only when inteviene by Gandhi who gives his own name as Gandhi, this is how firoz becomes Firoz Gandhi. Mrs Indira Gandhi wrote a letter which gives the state of mind of her in which very confussed and unhappy and said the whole india is against her marriage.

The perception is that he was the great visionary, and set up IIT and understood the importance of education and development, but actually he was benifited from the fact that he was the first prime minster and the leader who took all the credit. He was benifited with the great leaders and visionary leaders who contributed toward the benefits and industralization of India, because they had seen slavery and the conditions of India closely under the leadership of MK gandhi in the quest of independance

Power Hungry -- Definately -- He dislike Subhash Chander Bose for his popularity. In one rally when both were present, A strong rain starts falling and people gathered there starts running to shelter, than Subhash Bose, called the people, if you are worried from the rain for getting wet, how you will get independance, and people returns and sat in the wet dirt. Nehru was shocked. His reaction when Subhash Chander Bose forming Azad Hind Fauz -- I will be the first man who will face bose with the sword.
Jinnah wants pakistan, but when mk gandhi asked jinnah to become first pm and form the goverment as he like to avoid partition, Nehru prompted, that Hindu are bending too much.

Love for the Country -- No doubt, but I have no doubt that in the heart special love for the kashmiri Pandit, after all he was Kashmiri Pandit. Heard that special IAF planes carry water from Chashma-e-shahi from Kashmir to New Delhi for his consuption. I have tasted that water, and no doubt its a AMRIT, You can full your smotch up to the brim, put cannot fulfill your desire to drink more. But he wants Kashmiri Pandit to remain the enjoyable and upper class in the kashmir, thats why got ready for the Rule-370, and giving J&K special previllage. Rule 101 if a king who have no other choice, and the Kabaili and pakistani soldier dressed as the mujaheed are roaming in Barahmullah just 20 KM away from the capital City Srinagar, could demand India to accept his demand. Rule no. 2, if Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel would have PM at that time would he accept such deal. Rule no. 3 Kashmiri Pandit were the upper class, more intellectual , more rich, more educated, have better land, houses, farms etc. So if other people from other states started coming and settle in the state specially from Punjab, who are better farmer, better businessman, comparatively rich, they would loose such upper state.-- Biggest Blunder done by Nehru, in Kashmir.

Muck throwing. How do you know that the only reason why he opposed the marriage was because Feroze was parsi? That might be because of some reason he didn't publicly state. Why should he or anyone automatically like Subhash Chandra Bose? Bose supported the Nazis and Japanese, both of whom considered Indians inferior, If RSS/ Veer Savarkar etc. had been 1st Indian PM, instead of IIT they would have set up Vedic space research agency. 'nuff said.

The Hindu : `Nehru declined offer of permanent U.N. seat'
add to that snooping on the relatives of Neta Ji .
There was no such offer. What Bulganin said, as the minutes of the meetings suggests was, "While we are discussing the general international situation and reducing tension, we propose suggesting at a later stage India's inclusion as the sixth member of the Security Council."

This Nehru rejected for two precise reasons that it would entail revision of UN charter making India a subject of controversy and he emphatically opposed the idea of replacing China in UNSC which would create undue animosity between the two neighbors. Bulganin replied "We proposed the question of India's membership of the Security Council to get your views, but agree that this is not the time for it and it will have to wait for the right moment later on. We also agree that things should be taken one by one "

The Nehruvian approach

There was no such offer. What Bulganin said, as the minutes of the meetings suggests was, "While we are discussing the general international situation and reducing tension, we propose suggesting at a later stage India's inclusion as the sixth member of the Security Council."

This Nehru rejected for two precise reasons that it would entail revision of UN charter making India a subject of controversy and he emphatically opposed the idea of replacing China in UNSC which would create undue animosity between the two neighbors. Bulganin replied "We proposed the question of India's membership of the Security Council to get your views, but agree that this is not the time for it and it will have to wait for the right moment later on. We also agree that things should be taken one by one "

The Nehruvian approach
wow ! clapping slowly . I am 100 % sure that china would have done same for us. isnt it !

And I'm offering you a simple solution - RTFM.
PLEASE SUGAR ON TOP GET LOST!

wow ! clapping slowly . I am 100 % sure that china would have done same for us. isnt it !

PLEASE SUGAR ON TOP GET LOST!

So, with nobody to bite, he takes to snarling and foaming at the mouth. What a specimen. A pathological kind.

Would have and could haves do not count here. A feeler (not offer) was loosely thrown (which over the years had been horribly and deliberately misinterpreted) which was soundly rejected. What China would have done is completely meaningless in this.

we should have grabbed the offer or even a hint of it. but Nehru was marinating in the nonsense of panchseel and dreaming of leading the Asian nation .