Indian Political Corner | All Updates & Discussions.

Cost of "Arhar Daal" matters because most of the people are poor. And BTW Daal was one of many issues. Reservations did not help either. Neither did foreign tours.

Yeah yeah yeah, otherwise Biharis always vote for BJP and development. If only Modi was as progressive as Lalu and Nitishwa.

I don't think you understand, I don't really care. Reservation MUST go and anyone who wants reservation and those who support it should get their heads checked. If they voted for MGB due to reservation then they can go stick thier heads up in Lalu's and his kids A$$

Arre bhai, I am a Maithil Brahmin. Would I not like to see reservation go away ?We are one of the most economically backward community in Bihar and we dont have any support from anyone. But reality is reality. It can not wished away. BJP govt is 1000 times better than Lalu and thats why better tactics were needed. Which included not raising any such issue.

Reservation played very little role, its all about Caste, that is all they care about. I,d say maximum 10-20 seats would have been effected by reservation. But numbers MGB has says those in rural areas are not bothered about progress.Truth is ... development plank does not work in Rural heavy areas like Bihar and U.P

Yeah yeah yeah, otherwise Biharis always vote for BJP and development. If only Modi was as progressive as Lalu and Nitishwa.

In last election, Bihar gave more than 30 seats to Modi not to progressive Lalu and Nitish.

I don't think you understand, I don't really care. Reservation MUST go and anyone who wants reservation and those who support it should get their heads checked. If they voted for MGB due to reservation then they can go stick thier heads up in Lalu's and his kids A$$

Reservation is a bit complicated. Either for real or false, the perception has been built by the higher castes themselves colluding in building this up, that all problems in India is due to caste system. This perception is not something lower castes built up. Check our political leaders, 95% of them are upper castes. It is they who promoted this nonsense. Now that they have built up this caste discrimination edifice it is not going to go away that easily. It will take a few more year of ground work by RSS. Bihar has not much RSS presence, so RSS just needs to work there harder.

Reservation played very little role, its all about Caste, that is all they care about. I,d say maximum 10-20 seats would have been effected by reservation. But numbers MGB has says those in rural areas are not bothered about progress...

many of the seats Nitish's party won, is by margin of 1-3%. OBCs ( other than Yadav and Kurmi ) are substantially more than that.

Yadav, Kurmi's , Muslims and Biharis in general vote for their strongest local caste candidate or the political party supporting the caste. As Bitter Melon said, it is the result of 70 years of caste poisen

Same story will be repeated everywhere. Why target only Bihar then ?

Same story will not be repeated everywhere. Maharashtra, Rajasthan, MP, etc are states where this formula will never work. They are through and through in the BJP camp. This kind of regionalism (more than secularism) will only be seen in backward states like Bihar and WB.

This morning a Bihari co-worker of mine, a Maithli Brahmin like you, was having a long face. When asked why, he said "arre....what is this yaar...BJP is leading in the count". Later when I told him MGB has taken the lead, his face lit up and he ran to his cubicle to check it for himself. Just wondering....Upper castes support MGB too? Why? Some kind of sadomasochism?

Yadav, Kurmi's , Muslims and Biharis in general vote for their strongest local caste candidate or the political party supporting the caste. As Bitter Melon said, it is the result of 70 years of caste poisen

There is some truth in that. But there also was almost complete transfer of votes among MGB allies. Something which NDA could not achieve.

Vedic wisdom for BJP to ponder upon: "If you hang on to the tail of a cow for too long, you'll end up with cow dung in your hands ".

Same story will not be repeated everywhere. Maharashtra, Rajasthan, MP, etc are states where this formula will never work. They are through and through in the BJP camp. This kind of regionalism (more than secularism) will only be seen in backward states like Bihar and WB.

MP is a different case. In Maharashtra if BJP does not tie up with Shiv Sena and Congress-NCP fight together, BJP will be in lot more difficult position.