Votes: 34 20.6%
  • 4-7

Votes: 76 46.1%
  • 8-10

Votes: 15 9.1%
  • >10

Votes: 13 7.9%

• Total voters
I am more hopeful about the young boxers like Shiva Thapa and L Devendra Singh. Vijender is not in good form recently and that Cuban boxer always come in his way. Mary Kom was world champion in 48 kg but these time she has to face taller and heavier girls in 51 kg as there is no 48 kg category. Good news is that she has beaten Ren Cancan of China, No. 1 in this category in Asian Championship (but lost to her in Asian Games).

Saina Nehwal and Dipeeka Kumari are peaking at right time. Hope they will continue their good run.

Bhupati-Bopanna pair will have good chance to win a medal.

There are many in shooting who can make us proud-like Brinda, Narang, Sodhi...

There is no need to bash government every time. All our atheletes in the Olympic squad are getting best possible facilities; most of them train in foreign countries and get enough exposure. But there is need for improving infrastructure in grass root level and of course encourgement from Public.

High Hopes are there from archery in London as India will now compete in all four events of the sport in London after Men team also made the cut in the qualifiers.

Events:

Men singles
Women singles - Deepika Kumari world no. 1 :yahoo:
Men team event - Men's team is ranked fifth.
Women team event - women's team is ranked second.

with such a line-up, one can expect more than 1 medal from archery for India :tup:

seems more like wet dream :bunny:

sorry mate, but with just a hockey team participation, which at best has a chance of a bronze & just 1 participation each in swimming & shooting (no medal hopes), you are not the right person to decide how India will be performing in olympics.

Indian boxer Thapa eager to clinch a medal

At an age when youngsters usually prepare to take admission in colleges, Shiva Thapa, the youngest Indian boxer to qualify for the Olympics, has a much bigger task to handle.

When the quadrennial sports extravaganza begins in London next month, Thapa, 18, will be one of the boxers touted as a strong medal prospect, that too in a category (56kg category) which is considered as the most competitive in the sport.

Thapa is aware of the enormity of the task he is expected to handle in London. But he says philosophically he will deliver his 100 per cent and the rewards will automatically come his way.

"Every Olympian goes into the Olympics with an aim to win a medal and my target is also the same. Whenever in the ring, I give my 100 per cent and that has always helped me achieve whatever I have so far. I'll do the same thing at the Olympics and I believe if I play up to my potential I can get a reward in form of a medal," Thapa told Mail Today.

Does he feel nervous going into the Olympics at 18? "It's going to be my first Olympics, but there's always a first time in whatever you do. I'm not nervous, but determine to do my best and leave the best impression," he said.

"Before the qualification my father used to say that 18 is too young an age to qualify for the Olympics. But I told him that at this age boxers have won Olympic gold. I take inspiration from young achievers in order to keep my morale high," he said.

Thapa first hogged headlines when he won the silver at the Youth World Championships and the Youth Olympic Games in 2010. Then, in his first senior tournament in 2011 in Belgrade, Serbia, he created a bigger flutter by showing the door to world champion Delakliev Detelin of Bulgaria on way to clinching the gold.

The victory made him a sensation. When seasoned boxerAkhil Kumar failed to make it to the Olympics in the first qualifying tournament, the Indian Boxing Federation selected Thapa for the second and the final qualifier. In one of his most inspiring display of talent, he upset a stellar field and qualified for the Olympics with a gold medal.

Thapa says he will not let such victories go in vain and will take an inspiration from them. "I have beaten some of the toughest boxers and that has given me a psychological edge at a young age. I am sure I won't feel nervous if I fight against them in London. But I am not complacent. I know those who I beat are eager to take revenge. So, I'm doing my level best to prepare."

With less than 40 days to go for the Games, he is trying to avoid all kind of distractions. "Qualifying for the Olympics is bound to attract a lot of attention and a lot of people want to communicate with me. But, for the time being, I want to have limited interaction with the outside world as it will help me keep the preparations on track," he said.

To give his preparations finishing touches, Thapa, as part of the India team, is now in Dublin, Ireland, on a training-cum-competition trip. After spending a few days at home, the team will go to London. "Ireland and London trips are very timely. Since both the places have cold weather, the trips are expected to help us adjust to the local conditions that we are expecting during the Olympics," he said.

It will be interesting to see if Thapa becomes the youngest Indian medallist in boxing - and make history

Indian boxer Thapa eager to clinch a medal : Run up to the Olympics, News - India Today

Michelle Obama to lead US Olympic delegation

First Lady Michelle Obama will lead a US delegation to the London Olympics next month featuring the famed double gold medalist woman footballer Brandi Chastain, the White House said today.

“This summer, I'll be cheering on Team USA at the Olympic Games in London with this distinguished group of champions who truly represent the best of our country,” Obama said.

“Olympians and Paralympians are true American heroes and role models for all of us, especially our young people.”

Chastain is best known for an iconic moment when she scored the winning goal in the Women's World Cup Final in 1999, and she pulled off her shirt to reveal a sports bra underneath.

Also on the US delegation were Paralympian Gabriel Diaz de Leon, who has won medals in the javelin, discus and shot put, and swimmer Summer Sanders, who won four medals, including two golds in the 1992 Games in Barcelona.

Gymnast Dominique Dawes, who won gold in 1996 and is now the co-chair of the President's Council on Fitness, Sports and Nutrition, and US Ambassador to London Louis Susman are also on the delegation.

NBA star and former Olympian Grant Hill will also make the trip.

Obama said she would use the Olympic visit to highlight her “Let's Move” campaign for fitness and healthy eating.

“I know that this delegation will help inspire a generation of young people to get into the Olympic spirit by getting active and healthy so they can reach their fullest potential and reach their dreams,” she said.

Michelle Obama to lead US Olympic delegation - Indian Express

MY QUESTION - WHY ANY RENOWNED POLITICIAN FROM INDIA DOES NOT DO THE SAME (RAHUL GANDHI - YOUTH ICON??)

Three golden girls from India who can make us proud in Olympic-

DeepakKumari_Getty.jpg
saina-nehwal.jpg
MC_Mary_Kom_main_final.jpg

Aswini Akkunji also had the potential; unfortunately things complicated after contamination of suppliments issue. Hope Gita Phogat (wrestling), Hina Sandhu (shooting) etc will do well in London.

realistically i would be happy with 5 gold and few silver/bronze. ( 1-2 in SHooting+ 1-2 in Boxing+ 1 badminton+1 archery+ wrstling+weight lifting) aur milega to achha lagega nahi to chalega :)

3 golds and 10 medals in total is more realistic view in my opinion. However, if all our top atheletes like Binhildra, Narang, Sodhi, Dipeeka, Mary, Saina, Thapa, Vijender, Sushil can match their own best performance, there is chance of more medals. May be some of the less known atheletes will make it the stage to come in limelight. My calculation based on the recent performances- (however it is not possible to predict gold, silver or bronze as all depends on that particular days)

Archery- 2
Shooting-3
Boxing-3
Badminton-1
Wrestling-1

We won more Gold medals than England (nor Great Britain) in CWG 2010. In Olympic2008 UK was in fourth position with 19 golds. We shouldn't be very far behind.

My younger brother will perform in the opening ceromony with his classmates, we live like 5 miles away from where it's going on.

Good luck to all nations on PDF and of course Great Britian.

Edit: And Asian countries like philipines vietnam etc.
Edit: And Island countries, they seem nice too.

India's dream of the Olympic Games and China's dream of the World Cup, i see the uncanny similarity here. :coffee:

3 golds and 10 medals in total is more realistic view in my opinion. However, if all our top atheletes like Binhildra, Narang, Sodhi, Dipeeka, Mary, Saina, Thapa, Vijender, Sushil can match their own best performance, there is chance of more medals. May be some of the less known atheletes will make it the stage to come in limelight. My calculation based on the recent performances- (however it is not possible to predict gold, silver or bronze as all depends on that particular days)

Archery- 2
Shooting-3
Boxing-3
Badminton-1
Wrestling-1

We won more Gold medals than England (nor Great Britain) in CWG 2010. In Olympic2008 UK was in fourth position with 19 golds. We shouldn't be very far behind.

mate, you have done precise estimate of medals that Indian contingent can win this olympics, I was also counting on 10 medals ( don't know which colors) but if there can be a surprise medals from tennis & hockey Indian medal list will rock :tup:

also see the link below to get the better assessment of rankings based on medal projections:

2012 medal projections