Indian doctor tweets on poor healthcare infrastructure

masterchief_mirza

https://www.thehindu.com/news/natio...e31154115.ece?homepage=true#comments_31154115

NATIONAL
Coronavirus | Haryana doctor tweets on poor healthcare infrastructure
1x1_spacer.png

Ashok Kumar
MARCH 24, 2020 17:59 IST
UPDATED: MARCH 24, 2020 18:09 IST

Scathing remarks have garnered a large following
GURUGRAM

Her Twitter handle @drkamnakakkar describes her as “100%sarkaari dactarni (government doctor)” who writes “poetry and other s***”, and now her emotional outburst through a series of tweets on the lack of protective gear for doctors at the forefront of the fight against the COVID-19 pandemic, and the pathetic condition of the health infrastructure in the State, have earned a growing online following.

'War without weapons'

Pursuing MD Anaesthesia and Critical Care at Pandit Bhagwat Dayal Sharma Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences (PGIMS), Rohtak, Dr. Kamna Kakkar, in one of her scathing tweets, tagging the Prime Minister’s Office, says: “Please don't send me to war without weapons @PMOIndia. Please arrange #PersonalProtectiveEquipment for us doctors ASAP. We need #N95masks #HazmatSuits to defeat #Corona. Sincerely yours, an Indian Doctor”.

Accompanying a video where a doctor is seen putting on protective gear before presumably going for his work, another tweet by her says: “This attire ensures we doctors, nurses, healthcare workers go back home alive. If you care about #coronawarriors, please ask the policy makers to provide us #PersonalProtectiveEquipment as shown in the video at the earliest. #CoronaIndia #StayHomeIndia @PMOIndia@WHO.”

Her tweets, posted mostly over the past 24 hours, have been retweeted hundreds of times and earned thousands of views, and her followers have increased from around 4,000 to 10,000, and counting, within the span of a few hours since Tuesdaymorning.The media is vying for her comments and senior Congress leader Rahul Gandhi has endorsed her views in a tweet.

Another tweet highlights the delay in procurement of protective gear with: “When they arrive, please send N95 masks and gloves to my grave. Taali aur thaali b baja dena waha! Regards, frustrated sarkari doctor narendramodi @anilvijminister @DrRebellious @cmohry @drharshvardhan @UMY_35”, prompted a reaction from Mr. Gandhi, who tweeted that he was feeling sad and that the “situation was completely avoidable”.

In another tweet, she said, “Plz tell if I should intubate a Corona patient if my lachaar sarkari hospital has not provided me personal protection items like N95 mask or gloves? (P.S. I have life plans & no suicidal intent!) @anilvijminister @PMOIndia @DrRebellious @PMOIndia @drharshvardhan @anjanaomkashyap”.

Celebrities tagged

Tagging film stars Salman Khan, Shahrukh Khan and Amitabh Bachchan, and Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli, she wanted to know whether "these rich people could help medical personnel procure protective gear".

She also put a disclaimer as a pinned tweet saying that she was only a doctor and did not endorse the views of any political party or religious organisation. She also urged that her tweets not be misused for "any agenda" and added that her only concern was for her colleagues and patients.

Her posts have drawn attention to the Haryana government's state of preparedness in containing the COVID-19 outbreak, with officials unwilling to comment.

This doc sounds terrified...intubating covid patients without the right gear. No wonder she's scared. When doctors tell us they're the "front line" in this war, it isn't some poetic metaphor... they are LITERALLY dying in countries all over the world trying to save the lives of their patients. Modi needs to clap less and do more.

"Modi needs to clap less and do more."
Pakistan government needs to do same.
I saw a talk show yesterday where representatives of PTI/PMLN/PPP were present and a doctor was one of the guests too. The host presented a statement that the doctor was able to afford to order 200 of the N95 masks costing 1200 PKR now (up from 100PKR) before the outbreak, for his fellow colleagues working in the field. The political jokers were asked to comment.
All 3 of them spent <10 seconds commenting on the issue and just brushed it aside and were hasty on returning to their political agenda/gibberish that they were spinning prior. Sorry state of affairs for Pakistan public for allowing these jokers to continue playing with their lives.
I apologize for not remembering the name of the show. I rarely watch talk shows on Pakistani channels now as I find myself humbled before the exceptional quality of the hosts comparing and guests alike.

Someone created a fake profile on Twitter to spread such mindless propaganda. The profile ceased to exist after a while but not before eminent fact checkers and opposition politicians retweeted the fake message to embarrass themselves on social media.

Another fake and misleading picture went viral, very surprisingly from my alma mater. That picture was shared by an opposition politician masquerading as a doctor. When the truth eventually came out, he retracted his statements but not before eating a humble pie. The credibility of these dimwits in India are at an all time low.

Someone created a fake profile on Twitter to spread such mindless propaganda. The profile ceased to exist after a while but not before eminent fact checkers and opposition politicians retweeted the fake message to embarrass themselves on social media.

Another fake and misleading picture went viral, very surprisingly from my alma mater. That picture was shared by an opposition politician masquerading as a doctor. When the truth eventually came out, he retracted his statements but not before eating a humble pie. The credibility of these dimwits in India are at an all time low.

Fake profile or not, this is the truth of what is the situation at government hospitals. There is a huge shortage of PPE and the goverment is doing nothing. There was even an article a few days ago that manufacturers of PPEs in India have been waiting for government orders, but not a single contract has been signed. There is a reason why rich people dont go to government hospitals. If you think this is misleading or propaganda, you are delusional.

There is a huge shortage of PPE and the goverment is doing nothing.
I don't know about the entire country but atleast in the tertiary centres in my state all arrangements have been made with ample numbers of PPEs for the healthcare professionals.
There was even an article a few days ago that manufacturers of PPEs in India have been waiting for government orders, but not a single contract has been signed.
Public health and sanitation is included in the State list of the Constitution. Even if what you say is somehow relevant, the respective states are equally complicit.

In my state, the health executives have been empowered to take all decisions in good faith without any repercussions. Crores of funds have been allocated for the same. I am sure that applies to the rest of the country too.

Fake profile or not
It matters when the incompetent scion of a decimated dynasty retweets fake messages in this hour of crisis, made all the more shameful when there's no resemblance to the ground situation. By indulging in false propaganda they are demoralising and demotivating scores of healthcare workers working incessantly in the face of this global pandemic. Shame on those who try to justify such abhorrent thuggery.

There is a reason why rich people dont go to government hospitals.
Entitled folks like yourself can never comprehend that public health care is the backbone of health services in India. Those doctors chugging along silently in the PHCs and FRUs are our real assets. You are probably the type to consult a pulmonologist for a runny nose, and will be the one to break the quarantine at the first chance on account of boredom.

https://www.thehindu.com/news/natio...e31154115.ece?homepage=true#comments_31154115

NATIONAL
Coronavirus | Haryana doctor tweets on poor healthcare infrastructure
1x1_spacer.png

Ashok Kumar
MARCH 24, 2020 17:59 IST
UPDATED: MARCH 24, 2020 18:09 IST

Scathing remarks have garnered a large following
GURUGRAM

Her Twitter handle @drkamnakakkar describes her as “100%sarkaari dactarni (government doctor)” who writes “poetry and other s***”, and now her emotional outburst through a series of tweets on the lack of protective gear for doctors at the forefront of the fight against the COVID-19 pandemic, and the pathetic condition of the health infrastructure in the State, have earned a growing online following.

'War without weapons'

Pursuing MD Anaesthesia and Critical Care at Pandit Bhagwat Dayal Sharma Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences (PGIMS), Rohtak, Dr. Kamna Kakkar, in one of her scathing tweets, tagging the Prime Minister’s Office, says: “Please don't send me to war without weapons @PMOIndia. Please arrange #PersonalProtectiveEquipment for us doctors ASAP. We need #N95masks #HazmatSuits to defeat #Corona. Sincerely yours, an Indian Doctor”.

Accompanying a video where a doctor is seen putting on protective gear before presumably going for his work, another tweet by her says: “This attire ensures we doctors, nurses, healthcare workers go back home alive. If you care about #coronawarriors, please ask the policy makers to provide us #PersonalProtectiveEquipment as shown in the video at the earliest. #CoronaIndia #StayHomeIndia @PMOIndia@WHO.”

Her tweets, posted mostly over the past 24 hours, have been retweeted hundreds of times and earned thousands of views, and her followers have increased from around 4,000 to 10,000, and counting, within the span of a few hours since Tuesdaymorning.The media is vying for her comments and senior Congress leader Rahul Gandhi has endorsed her views in a tweet.

Another tweet highlights the delay in procurement of protective gear with: “When they arrive, please send N95 masks and gloves to my grave. Taali aur thaali b baja dena waha! Regards, frustrated sarkari doctor narendramodi @anilvijminister @DrRebellious @cmohry @drharshvardhan @UMY_35”, prompted a reaction from Mr. Gandhi, who tweeted that he was feeling sad and that the “situation was completely avoidable”.

In another tweet, she said, “Plz tell if I should intubate a Corona patient if my lachaar sarkari hospital has not provided me personal protection items like N95 mask or gloves? (P.S. I have life plans & no suicidal intent!) @anilvijminister @PMOIndia @DrRebellious @PMOIndia @drharshvardhan @anjanaomkashyap”.

Celebrities tagged

Tagging film stars Salman Khan, Shahrukh Khan and Amitabh Bachchan, and Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli, she wanted to know whether "these rich people could help medical personnel procure protective gear".

She also put a disclaimer as a pinned tweet saying that she was only a doctor and did not endorse the views of any political party or religious organisation. She also urged that her tweets not be misused for "any agenda" and added that her only concern was for her colleagues and patients.

Her posts have drawn attention to the Haryana government's state of preparedness in containing the COVID-19 outbreak, with officials unwilling to comment.

This doc sounds terrified...intubating covid patients without the right gear. No wonder she's scared. When doctors tell us they're the "front line" in this war, it isn't some poetic metaphor... they are LITERALLY dying in countries all over the world trying to save the lives of their patients. Modi needs to clap less and do more.
Another Fake handle[impostor], created in Mar2020, got 10K+ followers with just 38 tweets. Media stars followed it, Rahul Gandi retweeted the content. Infamous FAKE fact-checker 'Altnews' retweeted the content..

Now handle is deleted, Media guys put a tweet with apology and accepting that they went overboard without verifying.

This is case of crisis vulture media activity

I don't know about the entire country but atleast in the tertiary centres in my state all arrangements have been made with ample numbers of PPEs for the healthcare professionals.

Public health and sanitation is included in the State list of the Constitution. Even if what you say is somehow relevant, the respective states are equally complicit.

In my state, the health executives have been empowered to take all decisions in good faith without any repercussions. Crores of funds have been allocated for the same. I am sure that applies to the rest of the country too.

It matters when the incompetent scion of a decimated dynasty retweets fake messages in this hour of crisis, made all the more shameful when there's no resemblance to the ground situation. By indulging in false propaganda they are demoralising and demotivating scores of healthcare workers working incessantly in the face of this global pandemic. Shame on those who try to justify such abhorrent thuggery.

Entitled folks like yourself can never comprehend that public health care is the backbone of health services in India. Those doctors chugging along silently in the PHCs and FRUs are our real assets. You are probably the type to consult a pulmonologist for a runny nose, and will be the one to break the quarantine at the first chance on account of boredom.
Yup alot of misinformation around,,,couple of days ago i posted a jugaad hazmat suit made out of BMW plastic bags,,,it was being circulated as to be frm AMC Dibrugarh,,,,,,well turns out that some medicine pg was having a go at making a hazmat suit of his own,,n it was clarified tht hazmat suits are provided to AMC.

But afterall i still feel we r not prepared.
Dibrugarh is prime city in upper assam.Total ventillators in Dibrugarh(including private hospitals)
is 60.Man it is going to be bad,,,,dont mind the bhayya Pakistanis,,unki bhi yahi ya phir is se bhi badtar halat honge.
U take care of urself,,,nijor kotha sinta koriba.

Its a pity that we Pakistani and Indians are commenting on each other health system as if ours is the state of the art. People health care in both countries are piece of shit. This is because we were more interested in fighting each other rather than saving our own people.
Atleast now talk peace. Hope both of us resolve our differences in post cornona age

Not sure why Indians are taking this so personally, rolling out the victim card inferiority complex yet again.

Pakistan, Europe, USA have ALL reported problems with supply chains. We know PPE and ventilators will be seriously compromised in terms of supply and potentially quality all over the world.

Nothing to be defensive over. Far better to be asking questions of your "mumkin hain" democratic government.

Regarding the Twitter handle, sure it's easy to ban it and dismiss it as fake. I see no reason whatsoever to doubt what is being said. Are we to believe India has magically got everything in place that no nation in the world has managed hitherto?

Some poor terrified doc has been summarily silenced and reprimanded over this no doubt.

Not sure why Indians are taking this so personally, rolling out the victim card inferiority complex yet again.
Seriously man, this hospital is one of the best research hospitals in the state, even lab techs wear PPE like Hazmat on a regular basis. Someone could've posted a genuine concern. Instead created a fake profile to air fake news, there is a lack of facilities in many government hospitals around the country. Instead, they chose a pioneer research hospital in these tough times. If that's not shameless wonder what else could be.

The message is a simple one. Whether it's adhered to or not is up to Modi, not some twitterati types. It's still early in the outbreak, so there's still time to get capacity sorted for all third world countries who are about to be hit by a tsunami.

Modi has nothing todo with health. Maximum he can give direction. Healthcare is state(province)subject

I'm surprised now people attribute everything to Modi. He can't micromanage a country, one that's extremely federal like India. Public health, law and order is up to the state government, although it's a coordinated effort, Modi is powerless in this situation. All he can do is advise his Chief Ministers, they did listen to the request given the gravity of the situation.
Then again, it's not simply Modi's job either. If only entire South Asia can be virus-free, then only we can be safe. We know how connected people are in South Asia up to the ME and Iran.

But afterall i still feel we r not prepared.
I feel that at this point we are still playing a guessing game about ventilators and ICUs based on the situation in other parts of the world(and other Indian states). Every state/region has its own unique sets of challenges and that too has to be factored in. Nevertheless, we have already shored up our supplies and looking for more.

As for the second part of your question (and i agree that nije basile aan'ok bosabo pora jabo), very few genuinely complaining about PPE understand that that alone won't be enough to safeguard our health care workers.

We need something along the lines of what Taiwan did during the original SARS outbreak. Triage of the patients outside of the main hospital complex by dedicated staff and their segregation into different zones each having distinct infrastructure and personnel. Isolation, rather than mere quarantine was the norm.

And, as for the N95 and HAZMATS, the standard procedure was to equip only those involved in triage or in direct contact of confirmed/strongly suspected cases based on clinical symptoms, and those microbiologists/pathologists/radiologists involved in the diagnosis process. Though, that would change if there is widespread community spread.