Indian deputy consul general arrested in US on visa fraud charges

Indian diplomat's arrest in public is an insult: Khurshid - The Times of India

FARKUHABAD (UP): Union external affairs minister Salman Khurshid has termed the arrest of deputy consul general Devyani Khobragade in public as an "insult" and said the US's reaction is awaited on the matter.

"We consider it as an insult. US has been apprised about our stand on this and we are awaiting its response.. and do the needful after it is received," he told reporters yesterday when asked about the arrest of the Indian diplomat.

In a major diplomatic embarrassment, 39-year-old Khobragade, a 1999-batch IFS officer, was taken into custody on a street in New York as she was dropping her daughter to school on December 12 and handcuffed in public on visa fraud charges before being released on a $250,000 bond after pleading not guilty in court.

Replying to another question on Aam Admi Party (AAP), Khurshid said that they should take the responsibility and form the government in Delhi.

"Their (AAP) situation is that of a groom, whose preparation of marriage is ready but he is denying to take the responsibility..," he said.

The minister said that Congress has given its support to AAP so that it could take the responsibility of "married life" and understand its essence.

accha reply hai bhai, woh troll ka mooh bandh kar diya.

No matter what USA does , it cannot replace the friendship of russia with india.Russia stayed with us all the way, we have a independent foreign policy which suits our nation.
This was the same USA which sent a US carrier fleet in 1971, if they were dead serious about stopping terror they would have asked pakistan to dismantle the terror camps from where India is attacked.

US can never be India's friend ....

for that matter US can never be anybody's friend ...

US has only one friend ....that is US itself .

Self obsessed ,self centered , narcissistic country like US can never be anybody's friend ....

US can never be India's friend ....

for that matter US can never be anybody's friend ...

US has only one friend ....that is US itself .

Self obsessed ,self centered , narcissistic country like US can never be anybody's friend ....

U.S is looking after its own interests just like India or any other country. Diplomat's arrest may have left a bad taste but slamming U.S in the way above is in bad taste as well. Understand there is no strategic partnership yet with India. And it is U.S who has done favors to India than what India has to US in that it was U.S which brought India out the nuclear isolation.

U.S is looking after its own interests just like India or any other country. Diplomat's arrest may have left a bad taste but slamming U.S in the way is in bad taste as well. Understand there is no strategic partnership yet with India. And it is U.S who has done favors to India than what India has to US in that it was U.S which brought India out the nuclear isolation.

what US interest has served in publicly humiliating diplomat of a friendly country ?

Oh God ! we must be indebted for rest of the eternity to US for bringing us out of Nuclear isolation ...

I am going to join you in worshipping God US- the most benevolent , the most kind hearted , the most noble , the most righteous , the wholesome country in entire universe from today onwards ...

thanks brother , for opening my eyes and saving from utter sin and abomination of critising the only praiseworthy country ....

thanks a lot ....amen !

Peace be upon your the most noble thoughts ....!!!

what US interest has served in publicly humiliating diplomat of a friendly country ?

Oh God ! we must be indebted for rest of the eternity to US for bringing us out of Nuclear isolation ...

I am going to join you in worshipping God US- the most benevolent , the most kind hearted , the most noble , the most righteous , the wholesome country in entire universe from today onwards ...

thanks brother , for opening my eyes and saving from utter sin and abomination of critising the only praiseworthy country ....

thanks a lot ....amen !

Peace be upon your the most noble thoughts ....!!!

Bro - You do not need to join me in worshiping U.S but I do as it is my country though I carry Indian heritage. Again I do understand the outrage with the arrest. But at the same time I am pointing out everyone has their strategic interests in mind(I am not talking about any interest here in arresting the diplomat - I am pointing out your slamming) and act according to it.

The issue is about the arrest of Indian diplomat that too in the most humiliating way ....

this is the same country that was crying hoarse about diplomatic immunity for person" Raymond davis " who was not even entitled to it ( remember he was not even listed as consul member ) ....that too against serious charge of murder ...
they all along maintained that Pakistan has no jurisdiction over Raymond davis ....and in the end they took help of flimsy support of same Pakistan law of Dityyat to buy justice ....

US is the most hypocritical country on back of the world ....

It doesn't change ....even if you don't agree

Do you have any choice ???....like a slave ....you will not miss any opportunity to exhibit your loyalty to your benefactor master ....that is US !

Congrats on being citizen to the most hypocrite country in the world !!!

The issue is about the arrest of Indian diplomat that too in most humiliating way ....

this is the same country that was crying hoarse about diplomatic immunity for person" Raymond davis " who was not even entitled to it ....that too against serious charge of murder ...
they all along maintained that Pakistan has no jurisdiction over Raymond davis ....and in the end they took help of flimsy support of same Pakistan law of Dityyat to buy justice ....

US is the most hypocritical country on back of the world ....

It doesn't change ....even if you don't agree

Do you have any choice ....like a slave ....you will not miss any opportunity to exhibit your loyalty to your benefactor master ....that is US !

Congrats on being citizen to the most hypocrite country in the world !!!

If showing my loyalty to my country is making me a slave to my country so be it just like you are one for your country.

In Raymond Davis' case, don't you think we took care of one of our own in ways possible? You can call it as hypocrisy but your sentiments mean a squat to us.

I do understand the outrage about the diplomat arrest and I am not condoning it. Lets see how Indian government approaches this. I wish they can do something unlike their stance with Dr. Kalam incident which vanished without a trace.

Beyond that, I am going to ignore your further arguments as it is already in the wrong direction.

If showing my loyalty to my country is making me a slave to my country so be it just like you are one for your country.

In Raymond Davis' case, don't you think we took care of one of our own in ways possible? You can call it as hypocrisy but your sentiments mean a squat to us.

Beyond that, I am going to ignore your further arguments as it is already in the wrong direction.

No I am not slave in my country ...I love my country ...but I retain liberty to criticize it if it has made mistakes ...

Yes you did take care of 'one' of yours ....in what way ...

That is why I said in first place that US is a self-centered , self-obsessed country ...it will do anything to preserve its own interest ....no matter how flagrantly it violes any laws and conventions ....

why don't you accept this fact ....that time and again US has trampled and circumvented laws to subserve its agenda and interests ...while enforcing same laws on others ....this makes it a hypocrite....

and I did not invite you to converse with me here ....you were the one who jumped the gun defending the indefensible ....

Now you have nothing to say ...you will run

It has been well said - " Patriotism is the last refuge of scoundrel ...."

I had criticized my own country when I felt it has done wrong ...

you neither have moral courage nor conviction of conscience to point out and accept the wrongs your country has committed .....

and therefore I expect nothing better from you than running away from this debate which you joined willfully ....!!!

good luck to you and your country !!!

No I am not slave in my country ...I love my country ...but I retain liberty to criticize it if it has made mistakes ...

Yes you did take care of 'one' of yours ....in what way ...

That is why I said in first place that US is a self-centered , self-obsessed country ...it will do anything to preserve its own interest ....no matter how flagrantly it violes any laws and conventions ....

why don't you accept this fact ....that time and again US has trampled and circumvented laws to subserve its agenda and interests ...while enforcing same laws on others ....this makes it a hypocrite....

and I did not invite you to converse with me here ....you were the one who jumped the gun defending the indefensible ....

Now you have nothing to say ...you will run

It has been well said - " Patriotism is the last refuge of scoundrel ...."

I had criticized my own country when I felt it has done wrong ...

you neither have moral courage nor conviction of conscience to point out and accept the wrongs your country has committed .....

and therefore I expect nothing better from you than running away from this debate which you joined willfully ....!!!

good luck to you and your country !!!

I am not running away dude. But I could see that you can't discuss things objectively which would force me to descend to the levels where I need to take a potshot at the country of my birth and which I still hold dear to my heart.

You have been slamming U.S but have you looked at the diplomat's criminal activity? Fudging the visa to reflect a different salary(there is a minimum salary which is required for visa processing to US to live as per U.S standards. 15 years back it was $36,000 - Not sure what that is now but what is that the diplomat quoted in her visa application for the maid?) to get the visa processed is a criminal act. This exact situation happens to many Indians as well here in US. There are many Indian bodyshoppers who bring Indians to US showing a different salary while processing H1 visa and not paying them when they are not working and not providing them with medical insurance or they pay less than what they quoted or they take away the tax returns from IRS which should go the employees. I have seen lots here and it qualifies as Human Trafficking at worse and labor exploitation at best.

So stop your jingoism and taking potshots at my country and me.

I think in Italian marine issue, we are also mulling to arrest the diplomat.... Diplomat committing for fraud is very bad... It's her fault can't blame USA...

I am not running away dude. But I could see that you can't discuss things objectively which would force me to descend to the levels where I need to take a potshot at the country of my birth and which I still hold dear to my heart.

You have been slamming U.S but have you looked at the diplomat's criminal activity? Fudging the visa to reflect a different salary(there is a minimum salary which is required for visa processing to US to live as per U.S standards. 15 years back it was $36,000 - Not sure what that is now but what is that the diplomat quoted in her visa application for the maid?) to get the visa processed is a criminal act. This exact situation happens to many Indians as well here in US. There are many Indian bodyshoppers who bring Indians to US showing a different salary while processing H1 visa and not paying them when they are not working and not providing them with medical insurance or they pay less than what they quoted or they take away the tax returns from IRS which should go the employees. I have seen lots here and it qualifies as Human Trafficking at worse and labor exploitation at best.

So stop your jingoism and taking potshots at my country and me.

all said and done ...US authorities could have acted sensibly ...there could have been better ways to bring her to make her face law ....Don't you think so ?

Read External affairs minister's statement - carefully . Deep anguish is expressed about the manner in which Indian diplomat was arrested in full public glare- worse in front of her young children -and being handcuffed like petty criminal at risk of being fugitive .

Read US state department document ... Read page 9 ....which clearly underlies Principle of Inviolability of Diplomat

http://www.state.gov/documents/organization/150546.pdf

what was the need to handcuff the diplomat ?

any way hypocrites like you will not stop in justifying and defending even that ....

apparently diplomat was punished even before her ' crime ' could be proved ....

This is clear evidence of US arrogance due to which it didn't care that said person involved is diplomat of a friendly country with which it wishes to forge deeper relationship ...

US which considers itself as law abiding country ...but did not shy off breaking US laws when it freed Raymaond davis ....

Does US law accept - the paying off of the relatives of victim of Raymond Davis's rash action ....???

This is why I call US is a Hypocrite country ....It has two sets of laws ...one for itself and 2'nd set of laws for others ....

If that doesn't constitute hypocrisy ...then what else ???

Here it is not the question of which country you support whether country of your birth or country of your residence ...

here is the question of supporting or denouncing the wrong being committed by US authority .

You could not drag yourself beyond saying that you understand the outrage ....even though in heart of your heart you know that it is not just outrageous but absolutely condemnable ....

and will you continue to support and justify the same just to demonstrate your loyalty ???

You have no moral courage to stand by the truth ....

No matter what you say ...you can't justify public humiliation of diplomat in front of her children and her being handcuffed in violation of Vienna Convention and US state department guideline ...

I think in Italian marine issue, we are also mulling to arrest the diplomat.... Diplomat committing for fraud is very bad... It's her fault can't blame USA...

You are stupid enough to not to be able to make distinction between Italian marine case -

first off all how the hell Italian marine became diplomat ?

are you in your senses ???

The crime the Italian marine committed in killing the poor fisherman in cold blood can't be equated with that of alleged visa fraud ....

If you are comparing two issues ...I would say you are at zenith of stupidity !

I don't know why people like you open your mouth without knowing facts ....and make fool of yourself on International forum like this ...

all said and done ...US authorities could have acted sensibly ...there could have been better ways to bring her to make her face law ....Don't you think so ?

Read External affairs minister's statement - carefully . Deep anguish is expressed about the manner in which Indian diplomat was arrested in full public glare- worse in front of her young children -and being handcuffed like petty criminal at risk of being fugitive .

Read US state department document ... Read page 9 ....which clearly underlies Principle of Inviolability of Diplomat

http://www.state.gov/documents/organization/150546.pdf

what was the need to handcuff the diplomat ?

any way hypocrites like you will not stop in justifying and defending even that ....

apparently diplomat was punished even before her ' crime ' could be proved ....

This is clear evidence of US arrogance due to which it didn't care that said person involved is diplomat of a friendly country with which it wishes to forge deeper relationship ...

US which considers itself as law abiding country ...but did not shy off breaking US laws when it freed Raymaond davis ....

Does US law accept - the paying off of the relatives of victim of Raymond Davis's rash action ....???

This is why I call US is a Hypocrite country ....It has two sets of laws ...one for itself and 2'nd set of laws for others ....

If that doesn't constitute hypocrisy ...then what else ???

Here it is not the question of which country you support whether country of your birth or country of your residence ...

here is the question of supporting or denouncing the wrong being committed by US authority .

You could not drag yourself beyond saying that you understand the outrage ....even though in heart of your heart you know that it is not just outrageous but absolutely condemnable ....

and will you continue to support and justify the same just to demonstrate your loyalty ???

You have no moral courage to stand by the truth ....

No matter what you say ...you can't justify public humiliation of diplomat in front of her children and her being handcuffed in violation of Vienna Convention and US state department guideline ...

You are stupid enough to not to be able to make distinction between Italian marine case -

first off all how the hell Italian marine became diplomat ?

are you in your senses ???

The crime the Italian marine committed in killing the poor fisherman in cold blood can't be equated with that of alleged visa fraud ....

If you are comparing two issues ...I would say you are at zenith of stupidity !

I don't know why people like you open your mouth without knowing facts ....and make fool of yourself on International forum like this ...

Watch your language... i don't give damn about u... it is my personal opinion.. stop ranting here...

You are stupid to raise the Italian marine issue without checking facts and making fool of yourself ....that is my personal opinion . This is not ranting you are being censured so that you will be carefull next time you rant about your own country without checking the facts !

If you want to be respected ...be mindful of what you say !

I wonder if India would retaliate by arresting an US diplomat?

Speaker, NSA decline to meet US Congressional team | Siasat

New Delhi, December 16:
In a snub, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar and National Security Advisor Shivshankar Menon Monday cancelled their meeting with a US Congressional delegation to protest the arrest and handcuffing of an Indian diplomat in New York last week.
"The speaker has declined to meet the US delegation, comprising Republican and Democrat members, as a sign of displeasure over the treatment meted out to India's deputy consul general in New York," a source told IANS.
The NSA too cancelled his meeting with the US delegation over the arrest and handcuffing of Devyani Khobragade who was charged last week with visa fraud and making false statements.
Khobragade, one of India's senior diplomats in New York, was accused by Manhattan's Indian American US Attorney Preet Bharara of visa fraud and exploiting her babysitter and housekeeper. She was handcuffed in public by law enforcement authorities in New York Thursday while she was dropping her daughter at school.
India has termed the treatment meted out to the envoy as "absolutely unacceptable".
US Ambassador Nancy Powell was summoned to South Block by Foreign Secretary Sujatha Singh on Dec 13 and a strong protest lodged over the treatment.