India to be fastest-growing economy globally in both 2022 and 2023: IMF

Yes showing nominal growth at 19.5%, you can discount 2% for currency devaluation. So 17.5% in dollar terms.

LOL

Current price GDP is the one posted by any government and media. Just think with logic, government always like to have good numbers. That is the standard, if Indian media saying real GDP it means it is not projection as you guys love GDP projection so much....LOL

No, currency depreciation is not counted in stating economic growth. There you can see Indonesian GDP growth in 2011-2013 with around 5 % figure but the figure in aggregate term is not added due to Rupiah depreciation.

Go check IMF GDP growth for Turkey, still showing growth despite Lira is plung. Just wait Reuters or IMF official data if you dont believe it

LOL

Current price GDP is the one posted by any government and media. Just think with logic, government always like to have good numbers. That is the standard, if Indian media saying real GDP it means it is not projection as you guys love GDP projection so much....LOL

No, currency depreciation is not counted in stating economic growth. There you can see Indonesian GDP growth in 2011-2013 with around 5 % figure but the figure in aggregate term is not added due to Rupiah depreciation.

Go check IMF GDP growth for Turkey, still showing growth despite Lira is plung. Just wait Reuters or IMF official data if you dont believe it
Nominal growth is at 19.5% in rupee terms. So you can tell me the percentage at dollar terms as you are an expert. Avarage currency in 2021-22 was $1=74.5 rupees.

India's nominal GDP grows by 19.51% in FY22 to Rs.236.65 lakh crores (up from Rs.198.01 lakh crores in FY21).

GDP at the end of March,22 is $3.18 Trillion.
IMG_20220531_194654.jpg

Six Indian member laugh on my post and here we are the real number @Bilal9

---------------------------------------------------------------

India GDP Live Updates: India's economy grew by 4.1 per cent in the fourth quarter of 2021-22, pushing up the annual growth rate to 8.7 per cent, official data showed on Tuesday.

However, growth in the January-March period was slower than the 5.4 per cent expansion in the previous October-December quarter of 2021-22. The gross domestic product (GDP) had expanded by 2.5 per cent in the corresponding January-March period of 2020-21, according to data released by the National Statistical Office (NSO).

As per the data, the Indian economy expanded by 8.7 per cent in 2021-22 against a 6.6 per cent contraction in 2020-21. The NSO, in its second advance estimate, had projected GDP growth during 2021-22 at 8.9 per cent China had registered an economic growth of 4.8 per cent in the first three months of 2022.

Meanwhile, fiscal deficit for 2021-22 worked out to be 6.71 per cent of the gross domestic product (GDP), lower than 6.9 per cent projected by the Finance Ministry in the revised Budget Estimates, according to government data released on Tuesday. Unveiling the revenue-expenditure data of the Union government for 2020-21, the Controller General of Accounts (CGA) said that the fiscal deficit in the absolute terms was be Rs 15,86,537 crore (provisional).

The revenue deficit at the end of 2021-22 was 4.37 per cent. For the last financial year, the government had initially pegged the fiscal deficit at 6.8 per cent of the GDP in the budget presented in February 2021. The government in the revised estimates in the Budget for 2022-23 forecast a higher fiscal deficit of 6.9 per cent of the GDP or Rs 15,91,089 crore for the fiscal ended in March.

What is happening here is that Indians are deluded by Modi's Godi Media propaganda machine lies.

India is in a tough spot economically - severe economic damage was done when they banned Rs. 500 and 1000 notes and their GDP had demonstrably shrunk by 1-2%. This has been discussed ad infinitum.

It will take a long while for Indian economy to recover from that and other Modi induced economic eff-ups.

Because of threats from Modi administration, not very many Indian economists like to talk about these things.

The ones that did - Amartya Sen was one example, were all ostracized, singled out, disparaged publicly for by Modi's IT cell and media propaganda machine.

What is happening here is that Indians are deluded by Modi's Godi Media propaganda machine lies.

India is in a tough spot economically - severe economic damage was done when they banned Rs. 500 and 1000 notes and their GDP had demonstrably shrunk by 1-2%. This has been discussed ad infinitum.

It will take a long while for Indian economy to recover from that and other Modi induced economic eff-ups.

Because of threats from Modi administration, not very many Indian economists like to talk about these things.

The ones that did - Amartya Sen was one example, were all ostracized, singled out, disparaged publicly for by Modi's IT cell and media propaganda machine.

Their media seems partisan, I mean the way some of the media make spin on the growth rate, even one member here believe the actual growth is 20 % LOL

Even I see one media try to make comparison with their peers country but put wrong data for Indonesia.....:laugh:

This is why we need neutral media to report it, later Reuters, Bloomberg, and IMF will explain more to Indians, what is the meaning of low base effect after getting 6.6 % contraction in 2020 and what is the break down on each Quarter

Just came out today from Reuters - read this Indians. Stop lionizing Modi and see his economic f*ckups for what they are....the only reason India will survive somewhat is the size of her economy and populace. @Homo Sapiens bhai what is your take on this? Indian Modi mouthpiece economists are coyly downgrading growth rates from 8.9% to 8.7% now, while real numbers are far more panicky.... :lol:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

UPDATE 2-India's March qtr GDP growth at one-year low as prices hit consumers​

Manoj Kumar and Aftab Ahmed
Tue, May 31, 2022, 5:58 AM·3 min read

* Economy grows 4.1% in Jan-March vs 5.4% in Oct-Dec quarter

* Manufacturing shrinks 0.2% vs 0.3% expansion in previous qtr

* Economic growth for 2021/22 revised down to 8.7% y/y from 8.9%

* Govt adviser says inflation pressure to remain elevated (Adds govt economic adviser comments)

By Manoj Kumar and Aftab Ahmed

NEW DELHI, May 31 (Reuters) - India's economic growth slowed to the lowest in a year in the first three months of 2022, hit by weakening consumer demand amid soaring prices that could make the central bank's task of taming inflation without harming growth more difficult.

Gross domestic product grew 4.1% year-on-year in January-March, government data released on Tuesday showed, in line with a 4% forecast by economists in a Reuters poll, and below 5.4% growth in Oct-December and growth of 8.4% in July-Sept.

The economy's near-term prospects have darkened due to a spike in retail inflation, which hit an eight-year high of 7.8% in April. The surge in energy and commodity prices caused partly by the Ukraine crisis is also squeezing economic activity.

"Inflation pressures will remain elevated," V. Anantha Nageswaran, chief economic adviser at the finance ministry, said after the data release, adding that the risk of stagflation - combining slow growth and high inflation - was low in India.

Rising energy and food prices have hammered consumer spending, the economy's main driver, which slowed to 1.8% in the Jan-March period from a year earlier, against an upwardly revised growth figure of 7.4% in the previous quarter, Tuesday's data showed.

Garima Kapoor, an economist at Elara Capital, said a slowdown in global growth, elevated energy prices, a cycle of rising interest rates and a tightening of financial conditions would all be key headwinds.

She revised lower her annual economic growth forecast for the current fiscal year that started on April 1 to 7.5% from an earlier estimate of 7.8%.

India's government revised its annual GDP estimates for the fiscal year that ended on March 31, predicting 8.7% growth, lower than its earlier estimate of 8.9%.

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) this month raised the benchmark repo rate by 40 basis points in an unscheduled meeting, and its Monetary Policy Committee has signalled it will front-load more rate hikes to tame prices.

Economists expect the MPC to increase the repo rate by 25-40 basis points next month.

'CLOUD OF UNCERTAINTY'

Economists said the weakening consumer demand and contraction in manufacturing activities were a concern.

High-frequency indicators showed supply shortages and higher input prices were weighing on output in the mining, construction and manufacturing sectors, even as credit growth picks up and states spend more.

Manufacturing output contracted 0.2% year-on-year in the three months ending in March, compared with expansion of 0.3% in the previous quarter, while farm output growth accelerated to 4.1% from 2.5% expansion in the previous quarter, data showed.

The rupee's more than 4% depreciation against the U.S. dollar this year has also made imported items costlier, prompting the federal government to restrict wheat and sugar exports and cut fuel taxes, joining the RBI in the battle against inflation.

"With rising inflationary pressures, the consumption recovery remains under a cloud of uncertainty for 2022/23," said Sakshi Gupta, principal economist at HDFC Bank.

(Reporting by Manoj Kumar and Aftab Ahmed, Additional reporting by Rama Venkat in Bengaluru; Editing by Ed Osmond, Jane Merriman and Gareth Jones)

Just look on IMF projection which is published in April 2022....That is general fiscal year ( Jan-December 2022, and Jan-December 2023)

LOL energy and commodity prices have been on the rise since second semester of 2021, and Russia invasion is started in February, lol even March we have seen spike in oil, gas, coal, palm oil, prices

So they dont factor those things, seems has personal bias and not professional, only admit it after the real growth appears......

If we understand the political context, that early 2022 is the election in India.... @Bilal9

Just look on IMF projection which is published in April 2022....That is general fiscal year ( Jan-December 2022, and Jan-December 2023)

Always lie lie lie!

Screenshot_20220531-225148.jpg

Their media seems partisan, I mean the way some of the media make spin on the growth rate, even one member here believe the actual growth is 20 % LOL
Real growth/ growth at constant prices (Base 2011-12) is 8.7%
Nominal growth/ growth at current prices is 19.5%.

What's so hard to understand?

This is why we need neutral media to report it, later Reuters, Bloomberg, and IMF will explain more to Indians, what is the meaning of low base effect after getting 6.6 % contraction in 2020 and what is the break down on each Quarter
I think you've gone absolute bonkers, have you looked at our media?

You know nothing about the Indian economy, so why masquerade as a prophet?

My post in first page needs to be brought here again

Real Growth ( not projection )

Q4 2021 = 5.4 %
Q1 2022 = 4.1 %

Now they will tell Excuse on Omicron ( despite Indonesia and others also has the same Omicron surge )

And keep telling 2022-2023 GDP growth at 7-8 % to lure foreign investor hype for future FDI and prevent capital outflow in their stock market
Ah you know how indians love to spin things.

Always lie lie lie!

View attachment 849824

Real growth/ growth at constant prices (Base 2011-12) is 8.7%
Nominal growth/ growth at current prices is 19.5%.

What's so hard to understand?

I think you've gone absolute bonkers, have you looked at our media?

You know nothing about the Indian economy, so why masquerade as a prophet?

What Lie ???? If we compare nations, it should be based on the same parameter. I think it is you that try to make another spin. We know India uses unusual period for their fiscal period, but when IMF make comparison between nation, they will surely use the general period ( Jan-December ) which is easy to make for India as the months in each quarter is basically the same like regular Q1 is Jan-March and India Q 4 is also Jan-March.

See APRIL 2022 PROJECTION

1654055197769.png

All nations use current price GDP when they release the GDP growth to the media

Only Indian that can be easily fooled by their media when the media talked about real GDP (which is in Indian media term is actually " not projection" GDP )

Go see Indian media that try to compare other nation GDP

This is the comparison between nations

UPDATE Q1 Data 2022

1. Saudi Arabia GDP growth : 9.6 %
2. Philipine GDP growth : 8.3 %
3. Vietnam GDP growth : 5.03 %
4. Indonesia GDP growth : 5.01 %
5. Malaysia GDP growth : 5 %
6. China GDP growth : 4.8 %
7. India GDP growth : 4.1 %
8. Singapore GDP growth : 3.4 %
9. Thailand GDP growth : 2.2 %

The number is still inflated with inflation as well

1654056882231.png

What Lie ???? If we compare nations, it should be based on the same parameter. I think it is you that try to make another spin. We know India uses unusual period for their fiscal period, but when IMF make comparison between nation, they will surely use the general period ( Jan-December ) which is easy to make for India as the months in each quarter is basically the same like regular Q1 is Jan-March and India Q 4 is also Jan-March.

View attachment 849901

Only Indian that can be easily fooled by their media when the media talked about real GDP (which is in Indian media term is actually " not projection" GDP )

UPDATE Q1 Data 2022

View attachment 849906
How can you say that Real GDP growth rate is inflated by inflation? Real growth doesn't include inflation. Our real growth this year was 8.7% and Nominal growth was 19.5% which is quite a good performance as against 3.7% (IMF data) for Indonesia.

Only Indian that can be easily fooled by their media when the media talked about real GDP (which is in Indian media term is " not projection" GDP )

Real GDP and Indian Media Real GDP is different, Got it ????

Go wait for some weeks and see IMF embarassment news when they post real growth for Q 1 for every nation....useless talk to you....

3.7 % Indonesian GDP growth is for 2021 (January-December), while Q1 2022 the growth is accelerating into 5.01 percent.

See 2020 GDP figure to understand why India can get around 8 % growth in 2021. It is because low base growth in previous year DUHHHHHH ( I have explain this many time )

Only Indian that can be easily fooled by their media when the media talked about real GDP (which is in Indian media term is " not projection" GDP )

Go wait for some weeks and see IMF embarassment news when they post real growth for Q 1 for every nation....useless talk to you....

3.7 % Indonesian GDP growth is for 2021 (January-December), while Q1 2022 the growth is accelerating into 5.01 percent.

See 2020 GDP figure to understand why India can get around 8 % growth in 2021. It is because low base growth in previous year DUHHHHHH ( I have explain this many time )
Indonesian media should rather ask their government to achieve the level of growth India achieves every year first, 3.7% growth rate in Indonesia and that too after a recession is plain funny.

View attachment 849901

UPDATE Q1 Data 2022

View attachment 849906
means contradictory to the perception they propel.. Pakistan's gdp is better than india post covid .

As per IMF, India real growth was 8.9%, higher than 8.7% I posted.