India selects EF, Rafale for MMRCA shortlist

Who is now the Favorite?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Aah... thats an interesting banner on EFT... Dassault seems to be maintaining a low key atleast for now. Let see how they use this news to help their advertisements.

Don't expect too much, they were more than quiet during the whole competition and I don't think they will start doing much now, at least not for the public.

Paala mat badal yaar..Dont change the side..
SPECTRA is good but so is DASS+PIRATE...

Jha bhaiya,I think you forgot to mention the Optronique Secteure Fróntal (OSF) on the Rafale which comprises several passive sensors integrated into it like an Internal IRST,Sagem Sigma-95 GPS,INS and other features like flight managment,data fusion and man-machine interface.So whenever you talk about Raffy's sensor suite you should mention the SPECTRA+OSF. Anyways,good mrning every1 here in PDF and wish that you have an awesome day today.

@ Sancho ji , Rafale people Are truly professional ,they simply show their product effectivness infront of those where it really matters like in front IAF.I must say even eurofighter were quiet except in later stages of shortlisting such as Aero India 2011.

Bad choice. India should position itself to acquire F-35. The Europeans are ready to share yesterday's technology with India as they are ready to acquire the 5th generation fighter. In 10-15 year, all 4+++++++++++++++th generation fighters will be obsolete because of the widely available 5th generation fighters such as F-35.

^^ You prepare for the threats you face. We are getting a 5th generation fighter for our needs anyway.

Bad choice. India should position itself to acquire F-35. The Europeans are ready to share yesterday's technology with India as they are ready to acquire the 5th generation fighter. In 10-15 year, all 4+++++++++++++++th generation fighters will be obsolete because of the widely available 5th generation fighters such as F-35.

yesterdays technology ???
How many of these yesterdays technology (4+++++++++++++th) fighter you have in your air force ???

With no source codes and rubbish tech transfer? and not sure of the costs even of the fighter which is only single engine, does not suit MRCA at all

Here comes the US arms salesman!!

yesterdays technology ???
How many of these yesterdays technology (4+++++++++++++th) fighter you have in your air force ???

Have you check the kill ratio between F-22 and F-15. No matter how many 4th generation fighter we have, once the 5th generation fighters become widely available, the 4th generation fighters would be obsolete.

With no source codes and rubbish tech transfer? and not sure of the costs even of the fighter which is only single engine, does not suit MRCA at all

Why spend so much on something that will be obsolete in 15 years. By 2025, all US planes will be 5th generation. Others will follow suite as well.

Sancho

Is there any aggrement to cover the expense for the flight trial during evauvation process between vendors & Govt?

Have you check the kill ratio between F-22 and F-15. No matter how many 4th generation fighter we have, once the 5th generation fighters become widely available, the 4th generation fighters would be obsolete.

F35 is not even as good as EF in air superiority and you saying it will become obsolete? are u crazy

just read this from a US pilot whos flown both the F22 and the EF:

In March 2005, Jumper, then the only person to have flown both the Eurofighter Typhoon and the Raptor, talked to Air Force Print News about these two aircraft. He said,

The Eurofighter is both agile and sophisticated, but is still difficult to compare to the F/A-22 Raptor. They are different kinds of airplanes to start with; it's like asking us to compare a NASCAR car with a Formula One car. They are both exciting in different ways, but they are designed for different levels of performance. …The Eurofighter is certainly, as far as smoothness of controls and the ability to pull (and sustain high g forces), very impressive. That is what it was designed to do, especially the version I flew, with the avionics, the color moving map displays, etc. — all absolutely top notch. The maneuverability of the airplane in close-in combat was also very impressive.

---------- Post added at 07:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:16 AM ----------

Why spend so much on something that will be obsolete in 15 years. By 2025, all US planes will be 5th generation. Others will follow suite as well.

obsolete? you dont know much about things like future blocks or upgrading

Dnt talk about USA .

No country after USA have operational 5th gen fighter

Why China developing J10b and other fighters ???

For next 2-2.5 decade 4.5++ gen fighter will be used by almost all airforce include all major ones Russia, China, India, UK, France

Even USA can't afford an all 5th gen air force.

India is much more limited by available resources along with most countries in the world.