• Agreed,Security is Important

Votes: 28 66.7%
  • Disagreed,Eduction is important for society

Votes: 14 33.3%
  • Do'nt Know

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Your facts are woefully wrong.

1962 was the era of cold war. USA offered help to India to crush communist China. The sight of US fighters landing in India and the very REAL threat of US fighting China to "defeat communism" is what made the Chinese run back. Also Chinese faced logistical problems, those days you cannot drive a truck over the Himalayas nor can Chinese fighters fly so high over the Himalayan mountains to provide air cover to Chinese troops.
But India was with Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) then sitting with US would have turned soviets against India,China was not aggressive at that time...

It is wrong to compare in this way...... Education spending is also done by state govt and those expenditures are accounted in state budget...... Where as Defense is sole responsibility of Centre.....
Not to mention the large investment done by the private sector. There are more private schools, colleges, and universities than govt ones in most places. There is no such private investment in defence.

But India was with Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) then sitting with US would have turned soviets against India,China was not aggressive at that time...

If you have heard about the Korean war you would not make this statement.

NAM was not a communist bloc contrary to what the US thought. It was what it said, a NON-ALIGNED group of countries who did not want to end up like the pawns of the two superpowers like a certain country in South Asia has become.

US hated communists. Being a communist in USA during 60s was a criminal offence and could even carry death penalty. The defeat in the Korean war of the 50s was still fresh and US wanted to settle the score. And yes, USAF fighters did land on Indian air bases to lend support if China refused to retreat. The Chinese retreated.

Yes, China was not aggressive. They send their soldiers because they heard India is a very beautiful country and they can click some good pictures.

Not to mention the large investment done by the private sector. There are more private schools, colleges, and universities than govt ones in most places. There is no such private investment in defence.

I had that in my mind too..... and these days private institutions are opened every where......

Poor peoples are unable to bear expenses of private Uni and Colleges...

I had that in my mind too..... and these days private institutions are opened every where......

The decrease is in accordance with the recommendation of finance commission centre's share will obviously decrease as the states have a whopping 10% more revenue added to their kitty from this fiscal onwards. The state's share will increase and the edu spending will either increase or remain as it was earlier

Poor peoples are unable to bear expenses of private Uni and Colleges...
So they go to govt schools, universities and colleges.

The point is that the spedning on education seen in the Union budget is only a small fraction of India's total spending, which includes spending by 29 states as well as the private sector.

But the military is only funded by the central govt.

I will always admire increasing defense budget :D
2% decrease in Education budget won't be a matter to worry, govt. Knows better than us, whats better for country :P

There's no decrease the centre's share decreased as States have been given more revenues, so obviously States from now on will have to bear increased burden of Central schemes

So they go to govt schools, universities and colleges.

The point is that the spedning on education seen in the Union budget is only a small fraction of India's total spending, which includes spending by 29 states as well as the private sector.

But the military is only funded by the central govt.

Indeed the above facts coupled with increased state revenues to unprecedented levels actually that is the reason we don't see any analysts/critics even those die hard modi hater type guys on tv panels not criticizing the govt for edu cuts

Also to be honest the defence budget has got only a very modest bump unlike someone would have expected from a right wing govt. So all in all pretty balanced pragmatic budget by jaitley ji

Well I have found on internet that Indian govt. decreases the education budget which is already very low compared to military budget,so it seems your radical hindu govt. want to keep indian masses ignorant and piss poor to ensure there grip on power.

Education is mainly a state matter. Defense is not. Thats why see such use differences in matters of education between different states.

Besides, the defence budget is around 2 % of our GDP, which is perfectly fine in comparison to the rest of the world.

40 billion dollars for the defence budget for a country that has more poor people than entire African continent?Really Indian govt. are out of touch to the day to day reality of India.
India is spending 1.78-1.8% of its GDP on defence, a very low level when compared to international standards.

USA 3.8%
Russia 4.1%
China 2.1%
France 2.2%
UK 2.3%
Turkey 2.3%

Poverty rates are still dramatically reducing in India and funds the welfare and poverty alleviation schemes get is FAR more than this relatively modest defence budget.

Well I have found on internet that Indian govt. decreases the education budget

A very ill-informed analysis, whilst the central government's allocation for education expenditure hasn't increased this year this is because the Govt is giving more revenue to the states but India's spending on education is in reality far higher because the states are producing much larger education budgets.

To counter Pakistan you don't need 40 billion dollars budget.20 billion will do the job
Thank you for your input but I think the Indian military is in a better place to make such decisions.

And for china India could never achive parity on military terms for a long term peroid
What stupid logic, so because the gap is large right now India should just accept it? In the long run India will dramatically close the gap to China as its GDP growth rate takes off and thus its spending will reflect that, as I say at 1.78%-1.8% of GDP this is already less as a proportion of GDP than China spends on defence.

So Pakistan budget last year was 7Billion dollars+1.6Billion dollars=8.6Billion dollars.

So the difference between Pakistan and India defence budget is something more than 4 times,not as believe by indian members of 10times difference between our defence budget.

still not 10times as quoted by many indians in the forum.

we also get a billion csf and related funds.

I didn't included it in the beginning,Beside expect bigger increase in our Defence budget in the coming years because of increase in our GDP growth rate.

including everything,our defence budget is more than 11Billion dollars

Pakistan defence budget for 2014-15 $11.30 billion

Good for you! All this means is your govt is spending more (proportionally) on defence and not other areas like social issues and infrastructure.

40 billion dollars for the defence budget for a country that has more poor people than entire African continent?Really Indian govt. are out of touch to the day to day reality of India.

Wrong. As per the World Bank's $1.25 PPP income, India has less than 100 million below poverty line, far less than Africa's, just google for updated info.

Budget 2015: Over 2% cut in education budget; new IITs, IIMs to be set up | Latest News & Updates at Daily News & Analysis
Budget 2015: Over 2% cut in education budget; new IITs, IIMs to be set up
Saturday, 28 February 2015 - 9:22pm IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: PTI

The education sector saw over a 2% cut in the outlay announced in the Union Budget on Saturday, even as the government proposed to set up new IITs and IIMs in some states. The slash in the education sector as compared to the revised allocation in 2014-15 is 2.02%.
  • 314779-education-rna-crop.jpg
    Representational Image dna Research & Archives
The education sector saw over a 2% cut in the outlay announced in the Union Budget on Saturday, even as the government proposed to set up new IITs and IIMs in some states. The slash in the education sector as compared to the revised allocation in 2014-15 is 2.02%.

In all, school education and higher education sectors have got Rs 69,074 crore. The revised estimate for 2014-15 was Rs 70,505 crore. The cut is, however, about 16.54% if compared with the actual outlay the 2014-15 fiscal.

Notwithstanding the cut though, HRD Minister Smriti Irani described the Budget as "pragmatic" and said she was "extremely grateful to the allocation of funds for higher learning and also about the thrust on innovation through funding".

While the school education sector has got an outlay of Rs 42,219.50 crore for 2015-16, the higher education sector has got Rs 26,855 crore.

The thrust has been on the higher education sector with the announcement of an IIT in Karnataka and upgradation of Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad into a full-fledged IIT, capping a long standing demand for the people in Jharkhand.

"I propose to set up an IIT in Karnataka, and upgrade Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad into a full-fledged IIT," Finance Minister Arun Jaitley had said in his Budget speech. "IIMs will be setup in Jammu and Kashmir and Andhra Pradesh," he added.

The Minister also announced setting up of Institutes of Science and Education Research in Nagaland and Odisha.

A Centre for Film Production, Animation and Gaming in Arunachal Pradesh and Apprenticeship Training Institute for Women in Haryana and Uttarakhand has also been proposed.

Jaitley also announced the setting up All India Institutes of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) in Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Himachal Pradesh and Assam.

Education is provided by Centre, States, and private educational institutes, out of that states have the largest share of school education. States are getting more fund from the centre.

30 crore people still live in extreme poverty in India: UN report - The Times of India

30 crore people still live in extreme poverty in India: UN report
TNN | Feb 4, 2015, 07.36PM IST
Poverty-line.jpg

About 30 crore people still live in extreme poverty in India even as the Millennium Development Goal (MGD) programme will expire in December, a United Nations report has said.
NEW DELHI: About 30 crore people still live in extreme poverty in India even as the Millennium Development Goal (MGD) programme will expire in December, a United Nations report has said.

"Still nearly 300 million people live in extreme poverty in India and face deprivation in terms of access to basic services, including education, health, water, sanitation and electricity," the report - India and the MGDs: Completing the Task - said.

India, which has a population of over 125 crore, adopted the United Nation's MGD in 2000 with an aim to free millions from extreme poverty and hunger, illiteracy, poor health.

READ ALSO:India is home to world's 1/3rd of extreme poor population — UN study

The eight-point MGD among others targets promotion of gender equality and women empowerment, reducing child mortality, improve maternal health, combating HIV/AIDS and environmental sustainability.

"India has made a great progress on MGDs, but there is no room for complacency, because there are gaps relative to the goals and targets.

"There are enough opportunities and there is a lot of scope to catch up, and it is critical that by the end of the year when the MGD expires, we really accelerate momentum during this year so that we start the Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) agenda," said Shamshad Akhtar, UN Under Secretary General and Executive Secretary UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and Pacific (ESCAP).

India has an opportunity to become a leader in sustainable development. It has achieved the poverty reduction target, but the progress is uneven, said the report.

READ ALSO: 'Removing poverty is true swachhata'

"Being home to one-sixth of the world's population, the world is not going to achieve the SDGs if India does not (achieve them)," Akhtar said.

After MGD expiry, the UN will begin its SDG programme. India has halved incidence of poverty from 1990s. Still over 27 crore people in 2012 remained in extreme poverty, making the post-2015 goal of eliminating extreme poverty by 2030 challenging, but feasible, it said.

It is significant that countries across the globe have made social development a public policy through MGD, said TCA Anant, Secretary, Ministry of Statistics and Planning and Chief Statistician.

"We ourselves bring our report. From our report I can say that we have achieved progress on number of indicators," he said.

Seeing MGD an opportunity, he said, it allows India to sharpen its capability of data mining. "We realised we faced enormous challenges in our capabilities to measure. There are many indicators in the goal on which we still have limited information," said Anant.

Check the World Bank's new figures.

My point is your fanatic hindu govt. allocated Rs. 68,968 crore in education but are spending 4 times that amount in feeding of your pot-bellied generals by selling super power dream to poor citizen.I know bjp,rss gang don't want the majority dalit children to become educated and prosper in life,but the common deprived citizen like yours should not defend this gross injustice openly.You should rebel.

Military has only central budget, education has central, states, and private funds.

There are private educational institutions filling some of the gaps, not so in defence. Silly comments like this don't help. the previous government run by a different part spent pretty much the same amount. Crap about Hindu govt. etc are pointless.

Don't forget the states' budget on education, that's far bigger than centre's as states run more schools.

Your 29 state govt. receive their funding from central govt.Unless your state is autonomous, revenue are collected nationaly and then distributed to the subordinate state.This is the common rule everywhere.So 68,968 cr. rupee is the total budget.

HDI Index is very similar of Bangladesh and India.Both are in medium human development state.India have somewhat higher per capita income than Bangladesh but in HDI index it is very similar.Bangladesh's point is 0.558 and India's 0.586.If you only ignore per capita income than Bangladesh is ahead of india in every other measure of HDI like sanitation,health,education,income equality,Gender equality and others.

Each of the states have their own revenue and own budget.

Of course the troll is an #\$sshole. However he is sadly right on some things

@DRAY maybe 2500 crore is better spent on education than statue.
Budget 2015: Over 2% cut in education budget; new IITs, IIMs to be set up | Latest News & Updates at Daily News & Analysis

Could you please let me know if the statue was made from centre budget or state budget? Rest I have explained above. :)

For an economy that has had annual average growth of some 5% for the past 5 years or so,7.9% is a huge increase。:D

You should be happy, rise of Asia, you know! :)

The last time I checked,China's annual defence budget is less than 1.5% of its GDP(10.4 trillion USD in 2014)。

Don't give me the western estimates,for they are nothing but craps。

And If you believe in what the West feeds you,you are an absolute fool。

A brainwashed retard。:enjoy:

PS China can easily afford annual growth in military expenditure of 10-15% for the next 20 years。
First try to find jobs to your citizens, GDP growth rate of china is becoming low.