India launches its 1st indigenous aircraft carrier INS Vikrant

You had to ruin a perfectly fine post with the mention of Tejas!

However, lets consider for a moment that a PAF/PN Jet is indeed spotted around 400km's out and is engaged 200km's out......isn't 250km's the advertised range of the ACCK? Would not the missile be launched even at 250km's? And what do you have in your arsenal that can shoot down something that is moving at MACH 4 in flight and over MACH 5.5 in terminal range (where most of the CIWS are activated)????

Why not?
Naval Tejas is bound to be ready around the time Vikrant is commissioned, so I don't see where I was wrong.
Its your bias that makes you say that.

This has been discussed till death in many other threads you might wanna check up on them.
But I'll repeat it for your sake, speed is hardly a factor when AKG is coming head on, and it is not a cruise missile that it'll take fancy maneuvers to dodge past defense systems.
And imagine 10 ships launching defensive missiles all over the place.
But disregarding that, IN will have AWACS other than the present Ka-31 heli-borne awacs which will again aid in detection more than conventional ship based detection.

AWAC systems like these along side naval fighters traveling at a distance from the carrier group will automatically have greater chances of detecting and engaging enemy aircrafts before they even get to fire your godly AKGs.

Steel from india? Read this:

Why don't you read it.
The delays happened coz Russia were not able to provide the ABS steel; no where does it say that they did provide the steel in the end.

Navy floats out first Indigenous Aircraft Carrier - The Hindu

Why not?
Naval Tejas is bound to be ready around the time Vikrant is commissioned, so I don't see where I was wrong.
Its your bias that makes you say that.

This has been discussed till death in many other threads you might wanna check up on them.
But I'll repeat it for your sake, speed is hardly a factor when AKG is coming head on, and it is not a cruise missile that it'll take fancy maneuvers to dodge past defense systems.
And imagine 10 ships launching defensive missiles all over the place.
But disregarding that, IN will have AWACS other than the present Ka-31 heli-borne awacs which will again aid in detection more than conventional ship based detection.

AWAC systems like these along side naval fighters traveling at a distance from the carrier group will automatically have greater chances of detecting and engaging enemy aircrafts before they even get to fire your godly AKGs.

Why don't you read it.
The delays happened coz Russia were not able to provide the ABS steel; no where does it say that they did provide the steel in the end.

Navy floats out first Indigenous Aircraft Carrier - The Hindu

Read the quoted link on post 325

Now this from your extract above:

In this hellish battleground, defence indigenisation has won a significant victory. Bhilai Steel Plant and its sister plants of the Steel Authority of India (SAIL) — at Rourkela, Durgapur and Bokaro — have manufactured 26,000 tonnes of high-grade “warship steel” that has gone into INS Vikrant, India’s first indigenous aircraft carrier that will be launched into water at Cochin Shipyard on Monday.

as mentioned above which is contradictory to the source from the following quote, steel is not the problem as claimed, then what has caused the project to delay for FOUR years?

If you said the delay is due to the gear box or other systems as quoted below then this makes the reason for delay more absurd!

The whole gigantic ironing board looks nothing but all steel with a hollow body! Can it float without the "problematic" gear box? can it float without the "other subsystems"? If the answers are YES, then why not the launching of it four years ago ?

Quote from post 325:

The IAC was originally slated to enter service in 2014. Through last year, Indian officials insisted it could be commissioned in 2017. But a number of factors led to construction delays, including lack of adequate and appropriate steel from Russia and technical issues in the gearbox and other systems, a defense ministry official says.

http://www.defence.pk/forums/indian...-indigenous-aircraft-carrier-ins-vikrant.html

@Retired Shuttle

The Steel is manufactured in India. Now that you have been proved wrong. At least give an apology, instead of continuing to troll and digress.

@Retired Shuttle

The Steel is manufactured in India. Now that you have been proved wrong. At least give an apology, instead of continuing to troll and digress.

It is not just about the origin of steel

the more your people are talking the larger exposure of problems here!
Who is proving who's wrong? You guys dont seem to use your brains!

no you are wrong, it is just one .... flame is out of control, keep burning yet...

danger bhai beech beech me aur saare bhi aa rahe hai jinki news dekh ke hi Jal ja rahi hai....lols

I hope they already got chinese version burnol oh sorry gurnol like gulser.... leave him dude.. he is in frustration... just enjoy his cry...:flame::flame::flame::flame:

Read the quoted link on post 325

Now this from your extract above:

as mentioned above which is contradictory to the source from the following quote, steel is not the problem as claimed, then what has caused the project to delay for FOUR years?

If you said the delay is due to the gear box or other systems as quoted below then this makes the reason for delay more absurd!

The whole gigantic ironing board looks nothing but all steel with a hollow body! Can it float without the "problematic" gear box? can it float without the "other subsystems"? If the answers are YES, then why not the launching of it four years ago ?

Why are you trying to change the subject?
Your point was that steel was not from India which I proved you wrong.

As for the original delay was because CSL didn't get the steel in time(Russia was unable to make them) and had to then give the contract to SAIL and DMRL and that was a challenge in itself, they weren't ready as it is and stuff like DH36,EH36 et cetra aren't easy to make at a moment's go. As for the gearboxes and diesel generator problems, we are building it for the first time such problems are bound to happen. First have the audacity to build one before critiquing.

Vikrant was laid down in 2009 and has been launched 4 years after they got the steel, that doesn't seem to me like a long time.
So in all its essence it is Russia's fault that they weren't able to give the ABS steel in time, coz as proven CSL was able to lay the ship down after SAIL and DRDL provided the steel, if the Russians had provided the steel in time, CSL would have still completed it after laying down the keel.So I don't see what your qualm is?
The stipulated time is 9 years after being laid down, this is good if not better than most experienced nations out there. The Charles de Gaule took 12 years to be commisioned after being laid down.

So effectively, with the delays we are still doing better than expected.

Well atleast our ironing board will be ready in time if not it is still running in a nice pace, lets see if your floating casino can fly slot machines to attack ur enemies.