India faces Afghan test, as ally calls for military aid

At no point should we put Indian troops in Afghanistan. India should support the development of Afghanistan , not because it will be a counter weight on the eastern front to Pakistan, but, because, it will provide India a launch pad to Central Asia. A developing Afghanistan, self sufficient via its own troops (supported by India and NATO) and equipment through soft loans that we are not going to directly interfere in regional games.

Development of roads, hospitals and educational institutions is where we should provide majority funding. Create programs where all Afghan children have schools to go to and complete at-least till class 5 and then slowly move it up to class 10 and then graduation, is what we should attempt. Help in developing the rustic environments to a tourist destination via security enforcement by its own troops is what is required.

I would go with troops on the ground as well. would be ideal training ground for our troops against the guerrilla tactics employed by the Taliban. We shouldn't commit long term but some SF's should be deployed there on regular basis.

We should be there in the scene to make sure that Af. should not go back to 90's. Should work with more important stake holder, IRAN there. Afterall why are we building a seaport at Iran and connecting the same to Afgan thru well connected roads.

We should go for this and provide military hardware help which ANA request for, strong ANA is in our Interest.

We are not going to arm taliban like someone else will, we will just help the armed forces of a sovereign country to fight Taliban terrorists and those who wish to create instability in this war torn country.

We should not miss this opportunity.

Khochaa teriii ANA ke liyee tou hamaraaa Tribal hii kaafiii hai ! :D

Bhai Aid nahin Trade...hamariii aid Zardari khataa haii tumharii aid Karzaii khaiii ga; stop sending us 'dry fruit' & make something that can grip the Pakistani market by the throat - gas, natural resources, more limestone for our raw material starved cement industry or even iron ore for our foundries...perhaps even finished products ! :tup:
Bhai saheb dukaan kholane se pahale loan bhi lena padta hai aur aid bhi.Trade to bahut dur ki baat hai.jab dukan jam jayegi to trade bhi khoob karegi.Abhi to pahale dukan kholni hai .

Didn't want to state the obvious for obvious reasons. :)
And for not stating the obvious you got the only zardari's cliche'........Saar use cliche' from standard people.

As for concessions from India - never going to happen for the reason I said before - emotional quotient and Benedict Arnold.
Concessions from India are already happening but then any concession from pakistan have got struck in mud like IMF status for example.(one day you get it other day you dont):cheesy:

You seem ignorant of the fact that the US of A is NOT going to leave a vacuum in Afghanistan after their 'withdrawal'. 30,000 US troops or three divisions worth would be stationed permanently in Afghanistan - Kabul, East and South West.

Afghanistan is strategically and economically too important to be left to the wiles of the Taliban wolves. It is the center of gravity for trade and natural resources that have been estimated to be over a trillion dollars. And the US of A will ensure it always has its hand in the lucrative pie.

So you are saying usa will leave 30 000 troops to face the wrath of taliban? taliban wont agree to any deal or peace accord unless every single us/nato soldier leaves afg. Instead the world powers should help us out in playing a part in afg rather then back stabbing us with these tzp terrorists. BTW russians also have a close on afg.