India did it all Eons Ago Cars, Stem Cell research & All that

Let @SarthakGanguly reiterate what i really wanted to convey, only a bengali can understand what a fellow bengali wanted to say.

Abe bong bro bhai-bhatija-wad aur kshetar-wad mat suru karo.

Let's acknowledge
- India had no air crafts - no evidence
- India had no stem cell research facilities - No evidence

But we were a good civilisation and had contributed a lot to progress of mankind!

Most of the Vimanas had flapping wings like that of a bird. So it's fairly easy to know where they found their inspiration from.

did you seriously take the whole Vimana thing seriously ? its like someone taking that lunatic Zaid Hamid seriously.

Let's acknowledge

BuT we were a good civilisation and had contributed to progress of mankind!

No one denied that, Vedic civilization was ahead in mathematics, metallurgy and medicine. I was just punching holes in the bloated ego of some who thought ancient India had flying aircraft, did stem cell therapy.

@sms

About the progress of mankind? I seriously doubt that. Much of the development was lost, and we had to wait till the dawn of the western civilization for the progress.

. I was just punching holes in the bloated ego of some who thought ancient India had flying aircraft, did stem cell therapy.

Which people ? because i don't see anyone believing in that ? all i saw was certain members glorifying western history and dishing at Indian history

Let's acknowledge

But we were a good civilisation and had contributed a lot to progress of mankind!
I agree :agree:

But the designs of the vimanas in the Vaimanik Shastra are ridiculous and a fabrication. It was done in the previous century. Some of the text of the old are however too close for comfort. I am not saying we had flying machines, but folks did rack their brains a lot over them. :P

About the progress of mankind? I seriously doubt that. Much of the development was lost, and we had to wait till the dawn of the western civilization for the progress.

actually not , much of the development remained and were carried forward by Greek ,romans , Britishers and Arabs . Certian knowledge was lost but most was retained. if you look at my earlier post the big *** one you will see how much the Greeks had taken inspiration from India ..

There was no vimanas? So my whole childhood was based on lies? :o::o:

Konsa school gaya tha ?? :o:

actually not , much of the development remained and were carried forward by Greek ,romans , Britishers and Arabs . Certian knowledge was lost but most was retained

I'd be glad to know more about it. Any surgery techniques, or physics, metallurgy principles that got carried over to the modern civilization.

Konsa school gaya tha ?? :o:

Hum thehre gaon ke gawad, padhai likhai nahi janat hai babu. :cry:

I question some of these conclusions. They are expressions of optimism and hope rather than authentic historical analysis.

There is a debate on that. The reason we were invaded frequently was because we had zero unity and our focus was never on territorial expansion beyond Bharat. Inward looking so to speak.

Which period, and which invasion are you looking at? Whichever it was, if you examine it and the origins of such invasions beyond Indian borders, you will find, without exception, that these were military expansions which swept away other civilisations and cultures and states as well.

Whether you are talking about Alexander, or the Indo-Greeks, or the Scythians, or the Saka-Pahlava, or the Kushana, or the Ephthalites, or the Huns, or Sino-Tibetan alliances, or the Ghurids, or the Ghaznavis, or the Turkish Sultanate, or the Mughals, or the Portuguese, or the Ahoms, or the French or the British, I would be happy if you could point to a single instance where the invader tried elsewhere and failed, but tried in India and succeeded.

Only the Mongols did not sweep through the country, for which we need to thank Balban and his generals, including his eldest son. This was a rare episode, and with it rank the resistance of the Ghakkars, and the Rajputs' defiance of the Ghaznavis and the Sultanate, and an internal war, the Mughals against the Ahoms, ending with the disintegration of the Mughals under the combined impact of the Marathas, the Sikhs, the Afghans, the British and their own refractory nobility.

And that is exactly what I am saying. We were quite good in the ancient era, we as a civilization and as a culture entered a period of decadance and decline post that in the medieval age.That was when we were successfully invaded.. And it kept going downhill since then.

I would like to know your definition of the ancient era. I would also like you to give up treating history like Grimm's Fairy Tales.

On the flip side, those who invaded us could never forge an identity strong enough to retain their empires and large kingdoms and fragmented into small countries whereas India with its various states agreed to join together to form one of the largest countries in the world.

Oh, please. Spare us. Islamophobia and Pakistan-bashing has its limits in terms of historical analysis.

And history always comes full circle, in the modern age, we have been gaining strength each passing decade vis-a-vis the rest of the world and certainly those that once colonized us - whether it be the Central Asians or the British.

I doubt that there's much circling involved here. It's about democracy.

BTW, there is no category called central Asian; you might be referring to Bactrian Greek, Scythian, Parthian, Yueh Chi, Ephthalite, Turks with Persian manners and culture and language, Afghans but not central Asian.

Where exactly did you find insanity in the first place?

No comment. I am not sure what this part of the discussion is about, and would like to stay out, if it is all the same to everyone.

Did any member even remotely suggest that we must keep looking to the past and not advance now? No. Each one of us knows that the key to our success and future is to ensure we are on the cutting edge of science and technology today - by building and funding universities and having a vibrant private and production enterprises.

It is only the presumptuous minds who believe that those who look to the past with a sense of pride will never look to the future as pragmatists.

The difficulty here is with false pride, inflated collective egos, and a determination to retain the social evils which continue to retard us, behind a smokescreen of nationalism. This is not nationalism, if nationalism is a virtue in the first place: I beg leave to point out that it is not necessarily so. We are threatened with schism and divisive tendencies, because there are those who are stuck to the past like flies in amber, to use your words, those who "keep looking to the past" and do not allow us to advance now, because of their rejection of the Scientific Method (as even a nincompoop should know, this is a process not limited to science alone, but is applicable to any field of enquiry) and their bellicose adherence to tradition and their supposed past - an imaginary construct which is stimulated by ideology and by theology, not by the scientific spirit.

There is little pragmatism here.

I am surprised and angry. How could he miss Aeroplane (vimana) and nuclear bomb (bramhastra)?

There are deicated books on viman shastra. Even National geography has documentary on same. You can search it. I have watched that documentary. Even IIT (I forget which) had one interaction with one scholar of ancient Indology scholar on Viman shastra.

Brahmastra is known to everybody. No need to say anything more.

However I have never heard of Car in ancient India.

There are deicated books on viman shastra. Even National geography has documentary on same. You can search it. I have watched that documentary. Even IIT (I forget which) had one interaction with one scholar of ancient Indology scholar on Viman shastra.

Brahmastra is known to everybody. No need to say anything more.
Actually it was NOT based on the fake Vaimanik Shastra but on older authentic sources. And it was also not to prove that they existed but had a probability to exist. :)

I'd be glad to know more about it. Any surgery techniques, or physics, metallurgy principles that got carried over to the modern civilization.

Hum thehre gaon ke gawad, padhai likhai nahi janat hai babu. :cry:
Many survived, many were lost. But even then it's an irony that the West were the first to rediscover it. :P Ajanta Caves was there - who would have known...not to mention the Indus Valley Civilization.

Read post number 158

On the Glass part, the origin of non transparent glass making dates back to 3500 BC in ancient Egypt-Mesopotamian civilization, while the modern hollow glass manufacturing dates back to 1000 BC in Mesopotamia, centered around Alexandria.

I don't know much about the other subjects, but i'll dig into the university library in spare time to look at them.

Bro you may be wrong here.... there are few things we must acknowledge....
  • Surgery - they exist in past and the process and equipment used today are mere evolution of actions taken in past. Please note that Ayurveda is a very good medical system almost killed by our own people. FYI I had a Allergy from dust and Pollen spend lot to cure at big hospitals and finally cured by Indian traditional medicines.
  • Metallurgy - the process of extraction of basic metals remains more and less same what we had in past. Extraction of iron from ore did not change much except for better equipment - again evolution process