India becomes World's Third Largest Electricity Producer overtaking Japan

Still we are reeling under power cuts. :hitwall:

That is because most of it is exported. This crazy obsession with exporting even basic facilities has to go. Since we lack a strong hi tech industrial export base like Korea or Japan who export world class tech in electronics, shipbuilding, optics etc, they put these basic facilities to use for their citizens.

We on the other hand have zero manufacturing and even lesser capabilities of R&D. Even if we have them, they are not given a chance to rise.

So we survive by exporting resources instead of using them ourselves.

Also, India has enough coal to make us self sustainable. But blatant corruption of replacing files, critical information etc has kept all these coal plants locked for all along. Technically UP, Bihar, Jharkhand and Chhatisgarh should be power surplus states. But they're not, despite sitting on massive, massive coal reserves. Heck! They can even outdo us himalayan states in power generation if they use their resources well.

But they don't because of leaders like Jhitaram, Lalu, Isharat Jahan ke Pappa Nitish, Akhileshullah, mulla-i-am. etc.

I think Japan fell back because they closed down their nuclear plants, but i maybe wrong
Japanese economy was in comatose since late 80s.

In fact, Japan is rising now more than ever. They are a superpower, dude. Power, infrastructure and technology is what they live and breathe.

Remember they are one tenth our population and living on a set of islands with ZERO natural resources and the most hostile conditions (2-4 tremors a day is normal there). And still they are so powerful. Imagine if they were living in a place like our India, they would have conquered the planet by now.

In fact, in old Japan there was a saying which translates to saying 'if you have done good deeds, your birth will be in the heavenly abode (India)'

China though!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hey, how much are the figures in Megawatts? Can anyone tell? Like 5 million Gwh..how many Megawatts?

5 million G Wh in power is = 5 million GWh / (365 *24) = (5 * 1,000,000,000 )/(365 * 24) MW = ~ 570,000 MW

Isn't that obvious? A major chunk of our rural areas still don't have access to electricity, decade old transmission system and we, a nation of 1.2 billion, taking pride in overtaking a nation with population 120 million.

In the last decade 280 million Indians gained access to electricity though 300 million Indians still lack power in their homes but still we will be able to provide 24/7 electricity to all by 2022 - We recently upgraded our major transmission lines linking India’s five regional grids from 400 kilovolts to 765 kilovolts. We have around 26% power loses but the problem is not actually the transmission line but theft - 80 percent of power loss is theft!

India Promises 24/7 Electricity For All By 2022
India Fights Electricity Theft as Modi Pledges Energy Upgrade - Businessweek

We need to get right figures, like we have capacity to produce good energy by Coal, But Coal supply is poor and hence Generation is far less, so unit may have capacity to produce 1000MW but if no coal supply what would be mean of Capacity, We need to see the Total Production not the Capacity.

Coal production is increasing and coal imports declining - Though it is estimated that there will remain a gap between demand and domestic production even by the terminal year of the 12th Five Year Plan (2012-17) which will need to be met through imports!
India coal imports see first dip in three months in April| Reuters
Coal India asked to boost output, cut e-auction quantity - The Hindu
India plans coal production boost to meet power shortage - Mining Technology
India may have to continue coal imports even till 2017: Govt - The Hindu

That is because most of it is exported. This crazy obsession with exporting even basic facilities has to go. Since we lack a strong hi tech industrial export base like Korea or Japan who export world class tech in electronics, shipbuilding, optics etc, they put these basic facilities to use for their citizens.

We on the other hand have zero manufacturing and even lesser capabilities of R&D. Even if we have them, they are not given a chance to rise.

So we survive by exporting resources instead of using them ourselves.

Also, India has enough coal to make us self sustainable. But blatant corruption of replacing files, critical information etc has kept all these coal plants locked for all along. Technically UP, Bihar, Jharkhand and Chhatisgarh should be power surplus states. But they're not, despite sitting on massive, massive coal reserves. Heck! They can even outdo us himalayan states in power generation if they use their resources well.
Chhatisgarh is having surplus power. They are exporting 1000MW electricity to Telangana.

This is not a SUITABLE MEASURE........Per Capita Electricity Generation.....Anyone?
2461931.jpg

China has the largest Shale gas reserves in the world, enough to last thousands of years.

India has the largest Thorium reserves in the world, enough to last thousands of years.

And both countries have enough coal to last for hundreds of years by itself.

Not to mention some of the largest amounts of potential renewable energy in the world (hydro/wind/solar).

The question is about harnessing it. Which will take decades of hard work, no political short-termism will work.

Chhatisgarh is having surplus power. They are exporting 1000MW electricity to Telangana.

Bhai Sahab, is EVERY single village and tier-3 town having 24*7 powered? And by every I mean every single household? Okay, let me take the measure of Himachal or Gujarat. Both have zero% power supply issues.

Congrats!!

Now keep up the good work,for it means more contracts for China‘s Shanghai Electric,Dongfang Electric etc。:enjoy:

Indian electrical industry exported USD 4.9 billion worth of electrical equipment in 2012-13 - The Indian electrical equipment industry was over INR 1.30 lakh crores (USD 24 billion) in 2012-13. Times have changed the UPA government is no more. The indegenous industry is all set to get the required impetus in the years to come.....

Focus on export of 'made-in-India' electrical products: IEEMA - Economic Times
Indian electricals grow on exports | Business Standard News

China has the largest Shale gas reserves in the world, enough to last thousands of years.

India has the largest Thorium reserves in the world, enough to last thousands of years.

And both countries have enough coal to last for hundreds of years by itself.

Not to mention some of the largest amounts of potential renewable energy in the world (hydro/wind/solar).

The question is about harnessing it. Which will take decades of hard work, no political short-termism will work.

Tell me something;

Why does your government import coal from Australia? I mean in our case we have impossible corruption as the reason so as not to harness these reserves despite sitting on the 4th largest coal blocks on earth.

But why you guys don't? Your government is much more efficient than our previous governments right?

Bhai Sahab, is EVERY single village and tier-3 town having 24*7 powered? And by every I mean every single household? Okay, let me take the measure of Himachal or Gujarat. Both have zero% power supply issues.
Forget remote villages! Me being from hyderabad is suffering from 4 hr power cut daily! :mad:

Then India collectively is not even remotely close to power surplus. As I said, we export not because we are power surplus but simply because we haven't developed our high tech industries to earn foreign exchange and therefore are forced to sell what we should be giving our own people.