I was 13-14 years old when i came across his books for the first time. I had always been an avid book reader whether from urdu fiction or english. So i found a pile of some mantos books sitting on my cousins desk. My cousin is few years older to me, perhaps he was recommended mantos crap by some of his friends to get the erotica fun or maybe just like myself he too is an avid urdu literature follower. Infact, to label mantos shyttiess as literature will be a cruel insult to expression urdu adab cause all he wrote was bull crap.
Anyways , when i found several of mantos short novels and books on his table i started reading them. By that age i had already many famous urdu writers and i had found some bits and stuff here and there vulgar in their writings ,BUT i had NEVER read anyone as vulgar, cheap, classless and with the vibe of being mentally sick as i did in manto.
The guys writings only reflected weird sexual imaginations and fantasies in his work. One of the things one would always notice willbe that when you tell those people who are manto supporters like some of my friends or random people i came across that how vulgar manto wrote , they would laugh at it and would euphemistically try to brush his vulgarity off by saying " lolzz ya he was a bit bold but his writings have deeper meaning which if understood doesnt feel bold"
Whats even worst is that in some sort of self defenese mechanism way people from our showbiz and other circles who are advocates of spread of vulgarity , on their own and without any mention of criticism towards manto , start mocking manto critics by stating oh in this age people would have lynched manto or jitni intolerance hai manto bardasht na hota bla bla. Just a mental tactic kay is say pehlay koi manto ko kuch kahay hum khud hee is tarah kay mocking remarks day kay manto kay critics ko chup kawra dain.
I dont know why our showbiz industry has been hijacked by people who are supporters and propagaters of all kinds of vulgarity. I had never called showbiz ppl mirasis , as i felt many are educated ppl with point of views, but now seeing the povs of showbiz ppl i would label 99 pc of them as mirasis cause just as their job is a non serious business of enterating people in the similar fashion their thoughts and views are also non serious and proponent of everything which is wrong and twisted. I dont believe such people need to be taken seriously and as anything beyond mirasis.
Now why i mentioned showbiz here was because of sarmad khoosat the man who is the director of film / biopic manto as well as the drama which was the extended version of film.
One thing i should mention here is that nature has its way of revenging on people like manto. This man had spent some good years of his life in a mental hospital. No wonder with this kind of messed up mind u wud end up there.
Sarmad khoosat not only directed the film on manto but he also acted the title role. When i found out about this film i was really surprised that how these people are going to work on mantos image fix when his writings are all sitting put there for any one to read and understand? Plus why is manto even worthy of it?
Many people tried to cover up his almost constant pervert elemant in writings by calling it an apt depiction of deep human emotions, miseries and what not. Some people credited him for showing miseries of women and depicting womens emotions quite well. Sorry but so far in all his writings that i had read i found one constant thing and that was picking stories from lower income groups and then penning them in a sexualized form. Nothing more nothing less. I never got why he earned the credit for humanizing women or expressing their suppressed emotions.
So when i was watching the drama manto i instantly knew that those people who had worked on banning his work will be portrayed as vicious villains with lose morals and plotting natures involved in all sorts of moral and financial corruptions. I wasnt really wrong. It was very pathetic that how manto was constantly shown as a victim in the movie and blame for his state was volleyed around at others. In the drama they showed taht mantos work was banned because he was a communist.
What is more shameless is that while the movie director was tossing the blame around he was also showing manto as a drinking , non stop smoking guy admitted to mental hospital while his wife and young daughters were suffering behind. I mean who was responsible for this state of manto? No one but himself and when u have a wife and young kids and home , it doesnt suit u to waste urself life on ur fantasies and random shenanigans.
Coming to sarmad khoosat i had recently watched a new drama directed by this man , the drama was a short series called akhri station and it was made on oppressed women. The issues shown about womens suffering were real but the play was sadly shot in a highly vulgar manner, like for instance almost all the women shown in the drama sharing their stories without any reason shown lying flat on their backs while narrating stories and camera unnecessarily covering theirwere upper halfs of the body, such scenes were shot in so much excess and that too without any reason that u went on to question urself that ,is this drama about womens rights or is it about focussing on their bodies? Plus another actress sanam saeed a brit national with a face no one will give her a role of a kaam wali maasi, who likes to bad mouth pakistan that how in pakistan she cant live her life cause of people etc etc , was shown lying or sitting with legs kept open for no reason. It was as if the director sarmad wanted to show his actresses in such state because he felt showing women in this way celebrates their "womanness"
And i am not surprised the same guy sarmad khoosat too is enough a mess in his head that he tried committing suicide some years back.
The article u had shared about chaudhaey mohammamd hussain mentioned iqbals daughter muneera and her hsuband salahuddin. Muneera and salahuddins son Yousuf salahuddin is one of the most influential and rich people in pakistan at the moment. I think he is an industrialist plus he is considerd a play pboy. He is always present at every showbiz function infact he is invited as he is considerd that sugar daddy who can help u shoot to stardom and u will always find models and actresses hanging by his shoulders. Hate this man and i find him repulsive.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yousuf_Salahuddin
Plus this guy ypusuf who is the grandson of "Allama iqbal" has great contacts with indians and bollyshytwood and he acts as a bridge in getting pakistani talent hired by indians. Shaan the pakistani actor was offered the role of a villain in indian film gajini , the roles offer came from aamir through yousuf as yousuf is friends with amir and nadiawalas etc. in short jos shakhs nay pakistan ka idea diya tha us ka pota aaj khud un indians ka dost hai aur unki industry may kaam karnay kay leeay he really tries to convince our actors , singers etc. And yousuf salahuddin is a filthy rich guy btw.
What is the problem here? You said this excerpt is fine so i said ,ok its fine , its even cool when ur sisters will study such material with male classmates around.
Now whats is wrong in my mentality ? I am just supporting your views. Why acting os sensi?
As of english literature i dont recall ever coming across such type of english literature being made a part of our curriculum.
Its funny that jokers and cuckolds on this forum will support dating and inclusion of vulgar materials into course books but when one will ask them u are okay with ur mothers, sisters, daughters engaging in same dtaing stuff or reading such material in coursebooks they take instant offence.
Be open minded. Kya ho jaey ga agar tumhari behnain ya betiyan yeh sab parh lain gee class may beth kay chill karo.