IMF shock therapy continues. Electricity tariffs to be 'revised' quarterly

PTi bacha logs aren't tired of comparing our petrol prices with India, would they like to give comparison of electricity tariff with, say, New Delhi ---- I invite PTi's unofficial spokesperson on economic matters on PDF to give comments @ziaulislam

I also invite our @Dubious to shed some light on the exorbitant utility prices (which are supposed to be necessities) + Jagga taxes on them.
lol, if you look at the electricity bills you will find funny types of taxes for example, extra tax and further tax.

Sure you can get your electricity tariff comparison but it has to be including the mountain of accumulating circular debt. After all that is due to the electricity consumed. So tell me where does India's circular debt figures stand?
Is circular debt my problem?
the govt has vowed to end this by 2020, it's past mid 2019, what has the govt done to date to tackle this issue?

Circular debt arises due to electricity theft+ defaulters ---- electricity thieves are mostly the power elite+ those who have connections with this elite --- The defaulters are mainly govt institutes/departments.

Instead of fixing the thieves/defaulters, the govt raises tariff, is this justice? --- I along with millions others pay our bills honestly, is this the reward of our honesty?

Imran Khan is a typical ruler of our political system ---- He doesn't have the capability/vision/courage to fix the system and is typically burdening the Awaam.

And will you like to enlight us that whose fault is that india makes 70% of power through coal and we almost zero..
Did Imran Khan forgot to use coal for last 30 years...
who was wasting gas in 1990s..
Who gave expensive solar contracts at 18 cents vs world average 5 cents...?
Who bought expensive gas from qatar...?

Wow you have to be hardcore patwari to have such a short memory!
My post irritated you, Na?
this is what happens when you are hardcore supporter of a party and have to defend every good/bad of your party.

We have reasonable amount of discussions in the recent past, you have a weak memory, but let me remind you --- I don't polish shoes of any party and it's leader --- Pmln, PPP along with your PTi can go to HELL and really don't care, ALLAH Qasm. ------ so Plz don't waste your time/bandwith by writing that I am a patwari aur Wo bhi "Hardcore", ha & ha.

Now coming to the topic,
write down the comparison ---- don't behave like a typical PTi boy, this & that happened in the past.

and one more news, your PTi govt is going to withdraw RD on imported goods including luxury items (direct orders from IMF)

lol, if you look at the electricity bills you will find funny types of taxes for example, extra tax and further tax.
Call it badmashi/Jagga Tax .

Sure, lets take more loans and subsidise everything. All that money that has been taken by GOP in the past needs to be paid back. Please do let us know how should that be paid back.
There's a solution to every problem and our problems also have solutions, but to implement those solutions/plans, we need a revolutionary leader; the one who is a visionary+ has courage + ability to think out of the box.

the legendary Imran Khan just like his predecessors is a buffoon.--- This man wants to bring Tabdeeli using the system which is itself responsible for destruction of Pakistan.

This man IK has been installed (I would say bad choice) and all he has to do is to Obey. ---- The poor soul can't even have his own economics team ---- just to give an example, I know he doesn't want increase in electricity tariff, but he has no authority to object to plans implemented by others.

There's a solution to every problem and our problems also have solutions, but to implement those solutions/plans, we need a revolutionary leader; the one who is a visionary+ has courage + ability to think out of the box.

the legendary Imran Khan just like his predecessors is a buffoon.--- This man wants to bring Tabdeeli using the system which is itself responsible for destruction of Pakistan.

This man IK has been installed (I would say bad choice) and all he has to do is to Obey. ---- The poor soul can't even have his own economics team ---- just to give an example, I know he doesn't want increase in electricity tariff, but he has no authority to object to plans implemented by others.

We have to pay back the loans that we have taken, we dont want to pay taxes and dont want the price to increase yet we want imported stuff as well.

We need to pay taxes and control our spending as a naiton, we dont need a revolution or visionary leader to teach us that.

The bottom line is no sane mind wants to see a Bhutto or a Sharif as the leader of this beautiful contry. We as a nation have failed to produce a "leader".

We have to pay back the loans that we have taken, we dont want to pay taxes and dont want the price to increase yet we want imported stuff as well.

We need to pay taxes and control our spending as a naiton, we dont need a revolution or visionary leader to teach us that.

The bottom line is no sane mind wants to see a Bhutto or a Sharif as the leader of this beautiful contry. We as a nation have failed to produce a "leader".
with all due respect Brother,
I am sick n tired of hearing that we don't pay taxes.--- direct or indirect, the reality is that Pakistanis are heavily taxed. ---- Bhai G, I say it again, it's the powerful elite and the ones attached with them who are the problem + super corrupt govt departments. ---- You rightly say that we need to control spending, so who stops Imran Khan from banning import of land CRUISERS ???

No amount of tax increase+ rise in utility tariffs will solve our problem. ---- Business activities have already hit bottom and I am telling you very very honestly, anymore increase in taxes and the business will close down --- The current level of taxes is not sustainable, instead of increasing tax base, the govt is burdening current taxpayers with more taxes ---- same it does for utilities, instead of taking action against defaulters (mostly govt departments) and thieves (mostly elite), they burden honest people.

with all due respect Brother,
I am sick n tired of hearing that we don't pay taxes.--- direct or indirect, the reality is that Pakistanis are heavily taxed. ---- Bhai G, I say it again, it's the powerful elite and the ones attached with them who are the problem + super corrupt govt departments. ---- You rightly say that we need to control spending, so who stops Imran Khan from banning import of land CRUISERS ???

No amount of tax increase+ rise in utility tariffs will solve our problem. ---- Business activities have already hit bottom and I am telling you very very honestly, anymore increase in taxes and the business will close down --- The current level of taxes is not sustainable, instead of increasing tax base, the govt is burdening current taxpayers with more taxes ---- same it does for utilities, instead of taking action against defaulters (mostly govt departments) and thieves (mostly elite), they burden honest people.

I am not saying we dont pay taxes. I am saying we pay less taxes be it Elite, Middle Class or Lower Class. A lot of stuff is subsidise. If it costs us more to produce electrecity then we need to pay full amount not subsidise amount.
Petrol prices need to reflect the cost plus taxes and should not includle subsidy.

Elite dont live in gali muhala or villages where I have seen with my own eyes how people steal electricity so it not only Elite who steal.

Until and unless we take responsibilty for our own actions and stop asking for handouts from govt nothing will change.

Is circular debt my problem?

Not yet. I will become your problem when the country is bankrupt and the rupee is not worth the paper it is printed on. When hyper inflation hits and this becomes our reality for grocery shopping, yes at that point circular debt will become your problem.

Screen-shot-2010-06-20-at-1.29.29-PM.png

upload_2019-7-9_12-19-58.jpeg

_103111780_hi048711999.jpg

The policy of protecting lower-income households from higher energy prices will continue. Currently, households consuming 300 units (kwt-h) or below (about 70 percent of all household consumers) are insulated from annual tariff increases.

Seems like a problem for the elite to me. Maybe people should turn off the AC when they leave the room?

Not yet. I will become your problem when the country is bankrupt and the rupee is not worth the paper it is printed on. When hyper inflation hits and this becomes our reality for grocery shopping, yes at that point circular debt will become your problem.

View attachment 568469

_103111780_hi048711999.jpg

Seems like a problem for the elite to me. Maybe people should turn off the AC when they leave the room?
even in those times (if it comes) people like me will survive, we have limited needs -- the elite+ the newly emerged educated middle class (mostly upper middle) will face most of the music ---

Good, then don't pay your next bill!!!
I pay what I use (don't need any favors from govts)+ Jagga tax by the govt.
Fix the system, don't argue with those who honestly pay bills.

maybe the people should start eating grass

i did not ask the govt to print money without end .

i did not ask the central bank to NOT back PKR sans collateral

not my fault that the govt is bankrupt . ( though im being forced to cover the losses)

---------

open the mkt then, let people use whatever medium of value exchange they want , cryptos, USd, wheat

---------

not Zimbabwe, but we could be the next Argentina for sure

I pay what I use (don't need any favors from govts)+ Jagga tax by the govt.
Fix the system, don't argue with those who honestly pay bills.

Previous governments signed contract at ridiculous rates, but to save you from the pain they subsidized it heavily, plus the theft of the power also contributed to where we are now. Please tell me how to fix the system without paying of the debt which stands at $10 billion dollars and growing.

Confiscate properties of defaulters/thieves+ deduct monthly amount from the salaries of employees of those govt departments who are defaulters. ----- cut off the electricity of defaulters/thieves for X months.

The FEDERAL GOVT is itself a DEFAULTER ..:lol:

from 2015:
Pakistan's top offices including President, Prime Minister's House, Chairman Senate Chief Justice of Pakistan, General Headquarters (GHQ), Pakistan Air Force (PAF) and Navy, Inter Services Intelligence (ISI), Intelligence Bureau (IB), Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) and Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) are reportedly defaulters of power sector estimated at billions of rupee.
https://fp.brecorder.com/2015/06/201506091194185/
(@Cent4 defaulters from Gali Muhallah)

Now you say what? @RoadRunner401

This setup wants us to believe that it's the Awaam who are the Defaulters+ Thieves -- Let the govt publish the list of BIG DEFAULTERS of gas & electricity, than we will see if it's the people from Gali Muhallah @Cent4 or it's the govt departments (including PM, President & offices of armed forces+ other offices) and the big industrialists/ agriculturists + belonging to sectors like cng/fertilizer/textile etc.,
@313ghazi WHy should we be burdened for the default of powerful + govt depts ?

Classic case of protecting the powerful people and as we say in Punjabi "kutti choran naal ral gai"

Big defaulters get Rs200 billion bailout
By zafar bhutta
Jan.25,2019
ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government on Thursday decided to bail out big defaulters by waiving 50% of their outstanding dues – or around Rs200 billion – on account of the Gas Infrastructure Development Cess (GIDC).

@RoadRunner401 WHy argue with me brother, raise your voice against these injustices.

Dear @ziaulislam What has your PTi govt done to recover money from electricity/gas defaulters who are mostly big players including govt depts?

Centre, provinces owe over Rs150b in power dues
By waqas ahmed
Mar.13,2019

ISLAMABAD: State institutions are exacerbating the existing power crisis in the country after it was revealed that they are power-defaulters who owe billions in lieu of electricity bills. Azad Jammu & Kashmir (AJK) alone has dues in excess of Rs114 billion, while the receivables from the federal institutions and the four provinces stand at Rs11.13 billion and over Rs31.32 billion respectively.

The PM House, the Presidency, Parliament, office of the Senate chairman and the Pak Secretariat as well as power distribution companies are also among the defaulters.

Federal, provincial govts owe DISCOs Rs24b in dues

According to documents received by Express News, the biggest defaulter remains the federal government with total dues crossing the Rs125 billion mark, with AJK its biggest defaulter with receivables standing at Rs114,362,277,212
https://tribune.com.pk/story/1928191/2-centre-provinces-owe-rs150b-power-dues/?amp=1