If Allah ever gives me authority, I will eat grass but will increase Army Budget :Shoaib Akhtar

The difference being you dont have existential threat like israel nor the people of pakistan(and india too)have honesty or integrity like israelis to rise from the ashes....
Shoaib Akhtars words will have any value if he first donates all his money to PA and then make statements like these...
This shoaib fellow seems to be a number one hypicrite..when he was commentating for indiian sports channels he used to sing songs of peace..
Now that he is no more wanted by those channels he started telling tales of patriotism...
On the contrary, he tried, like IK tried, like other Pakistanis have tried, like we've all tried in years and decades past to make you snakes see sense, logic and reason.

We were wrong for trying.

On topic: many have mentioned fix the economy and they're right of course, but statements like Shoaib Akhtar's are to be welcomed. Always. Lest we should fall into the trap of aman ki asha again.

Once Kashmir is resolved to the satisfaction of Kashmiris, then we may discuss methods of disengagement and rapprochement with the secular republic.

Until that day, our resolve will remain steadfast.

Nop never ever again, never ever a cricketer as a PM again.

On topic: many have mentioned fix the economy and they're right of course, but statements like Shoaib Akhtar's are to be welcomed.
My take is different. WE should welcome rational/realistic take of things - not emotional politics.

If the nation desire a potent (well-equipped) military force, then economy and R&D considerations are to be prioritized and fixed. A dysfunctional economy will not do (lack of respect and influence in the international stage; lack of funds to allocate for procurement of increasingly expensive equipment and researching domestic solutions; inflation will continue to climb and cost of goods will continue to increase accordingly). And neither many will be willing to eat grass anyways.

Shoaib bhai emotional ho gai thay - experience nahin hai grass khaney kaa aur khilaney kaa. :lol:

My take is different. WE should welcome rational/realistic take of things - not emotional politics.

If the nation desire a potent (well-equipped) military force, then economy and R&D considerations are to be prioritized and fixed. A dysfunctional economy will not do (lack of respect and influence in the international stage; lack of funds to allocate for procurement of increasingly expensive equipment and researching domestic solutions; inflation will continue to climb and cost of goods will continue to increase accordingly). And neither many will be willing to eat grass anyways.

Shoaib bhai emotional ho gai thay - experience nahin hai grass khaney kaa aur khilaney kaa. :lol:
I suppose it's a good thing that we have a voice of reason and rationalism like your good self for every drama baaz like Shoaib bhai.

An economic multiplier leads to a military multiplier.
It’s not rocket science to figure out the top militaries in the world are also the top economies.
Start with the tax base first.

1. Instill proper judicial system. Fix court
2. Increase education budget
3. Encourage trade and collect taxes
4. Automatically the military budget will increase

I don’t think any red blooded Pakistani has any problem with Shoaib eating grass of any variety.

The problem with most of these guys is they insist that the poor start first while the rich continue to process their grass through cows.

Zulfikar Ali Bhutto also said same thing in 1970 and got hanged 9 years later...

I remember imran Khan words when Pak was about to detonate nuclear device. Rookhi sookhi khayenge,atom bomb banaenge. Good to see patriotism.

Shoaib Akhtar, the world's fastest bowler, added: "I was standing on the border of Lahore. A general in the Pakistan Army asked me what are you doing here. I said there is going to be a war. You see, I left the county twice to go to war against India.
Really burst out laughing after reading this.

He might sound eccentric many times but he has a good heart.

I like sportsmen taking top positions in government! Not just for Pakistan, for every country. Fastest bowler in world i am sure will try pretend all aggressive and all, but in action you Will always find calculative, calibrated politician. Because he didn't grow up as politician, he grew up as a player.
I guess imran khan is doing fine for the same reason.
Irrespective of what threats he issues to india and what not, i guess he will be calculative and sane. Much more than useless gullyboy politicians. I am all for sportsman politicians in india an Pakistan

the civilians should get ahead and take charge of their institutes if they are capable. army is not responsible for miseries of health , education, PIA, WAPDA,police , judiciary, railway, steel mill, rampant corruption in every institute, filthy condition of karachi,extreme poverty in sindh and baluchistan, poorly planned projects like peshawar BRT and orange line , feudal system in sindh, south punjab and baluchistan, bringing traitors like PTM to parliament, failed kashmir policy under leadership of the great mullah diesel, private school mafia, private hospital mafia, auto inductry mafia led by the big 3, panama scandal and the list goes on. if civilians do their jobs with professionalism, loyalty and vision army wont need to jump in. yes they are also pakistanis so they are bound to be corrupt to some degree as pakistani nation is a poorly groomed nation but still the award of "andhon main kana raja" goes to military. many of the politicians , media anchors etc are in direct contact with the anti pakistan elements and they are serving their masters. in army if some one is involved in such activities he gets punished immediately. i admit army made some errors the biggest one of bringing the mullahism in pakistan and MQM but they didnt do such things alone. they couldnt have done these things alone without civilian support.

Compare India and/or Bangladesh to Pakistan and think about the fundamental difference which has held us behind while India and even Bangladesh has surged ahead of us by leaps and bounds.

Even though all three countries can never excel in any field under the Anglo bureaucratic setup where a professional falls in the tier four category superceded by federal and provincial clerks, still living standard of a common Pakistani is better than his eastern neighbors despite India and Bangladesh enjoying the combined backing of the west fur a plethora of strategic reason