How Pashtunistan Died

Merely standing against any person ( albeit famous ) does not make him bad. His performance is the yardstick I use.

And do you support nepotism? Why and how was Jinnah's family qualified? Surely that is the antithesis of any claim to democracy? By qualifying a candidate because of their relationship to deceased figure is a form of furthering autocracy.

Is that not another form of "Bhuttoism" where one family ends up with franchise?

Ps. I would like to think of Ayub as having "stood for Pakistan" then any particular group.

How was Ayub qualified to run the largest muslim nation in the world? May be the Jinnah family would have run things even better, we never know.

As far as this nepotism is concerned, Ayub son and his grandson both ended up in politics which does seem to be a glaring example of an absolute dynasty.

Can't speculate much, but Ayub should be judged in all aspects, which include strengthening feudals like bhutto and nawab of kalabagh, the mercantile class and his foreign policies.

However, he fares well compared to the CIA favorite Gen Zia and ever so brave Musharraf.

Pushtunistan issue is not dead, neither is Sindudesh, Baluchistan or Greater Punjab. It all depends upon the circumstances.

If we as a country keep ourselves well ahead of Afghanistan in terms of human development and economic opportunities this issue will remain dead, but if through some miracle Afghanistan some day becomes an economic success, who knows how some people in North West will think about their future.

Same goes for Punjab, hypothetically let's say Indian Punjab gets liberated and somehow become a land of economic opportunity, who knows some of the Punjabis might feel their interests can be better served in a greater Punjab.

Remember one of the reason we got this country for was economic well being of our people that we thought was difficult under Hindu's hegemony. So as long as Pakistan remains economically viable there will be no such issue.

The issue has been largely killed and Pakistan's establishment has traded extremism with nationalism. However, some educated pashtuns especially from Afghanistan can cause a little storm.

You have made a claim that could apply to Baloch, Mohajir and other ethnic groups without any validity based on present facts. President Ayub Khan is probably the leader that did more for this country then anybody. You know his background. Pakistan would have been mulched and spat by the Indian's in 1940s or 1950s like bloody paan chewer spits that red crap out of his mouth. The only thing left of Pakistan would be a red bloody stains like you see in the streets of India ( Karachi ) that did not happen.
Associating beetle chewing exclusively with Urdu speaking community of Karachi was pretty distasteful and cheap if not downright derogatory. I would suggest you to pay a visit to Baloch majority Liyari, Memon/Gujrati majority old Karachi, and Bengali pada in Gulsha e Iqbal and then compare the beetle stains with those found in Urdu speaking neighborhoods such as North Nazimabad, PIB colony, and Liaquat abad. I could also talk about naswar chewing and other cultural ills but I guess I should refrain myself from coming down to that level for such generalizations and stereotypings add no more weight to one's arguments rather expose the shallowness of their arguments and immense hatred towards others. I know you act disgustfully at times and use vile language hence reported at several occasions by other posters but this post was some disgust. You have literally left that racist Afghan ghusbethya (Samandri) in dust in your hatred for a Pakistani community.

Many good things have happened in Ayub's time but some very bad things have also happened. Signing Indus water treaty in 1960 is one such bad thing where the Dictator saheb literally gifted two of the rivers to our arch enemy on which she is building dams and give a dam to our reservations. Immense failure of operation Gibraltar, war of 1965 and Tashkent accord was/is a blob on Khan saheb's glorious rule. Ignoring East Pakistan, foolish doctrine of 'defense of East Pakistan through West', and imposition of a gem called Yahya who proved instrumental in the cession of East Pakistan, imprisonment of some 90,000 regular/support personnel and shameful Shimla agreement (through which we literally gave up on UN resolutions) are all but the glowing achievements and aftershocks of Khan saheb's era.

@WebMaster @Horus @Oscar @Slav Defence Please advise this member to behave. Diabetes or not, he has to control his language and attune it that is appropriate for a title holder.

Before the Afghan government, the Afghans living on both the sides of the Durand's line oppose any enforcement of international border. As a result, the movement of people, drugs, weapons, stolen vehicles, abducted personnel, and terrorists continues throughout the year and largely unabated. Now please talk about international border once we were able to impose it in its true sense. At this point of time, Pakistan is a de facto Afghan territory in which Afghans can enter at will and we cant do nothing about it.
This is a huge cause of concern, can you think of any solution to this problem? the best that comes to mind is to make it and International border. We can negotiate with Afghanistan on Durand line, i don't see why it's not negotiable. How about holding referendum in those parts around the border, even inside Afghan territory. Anything that stop this inflation of drugs, weapons etc,etc. This way terrorists can easily infiltrate Pakistan, permanent solution is to make this an international boundary and fence it, guards etc, etc.
KPK people enough and buried Kala Bagh dam in hate politics. Only few weeks ago Asfand Yar Wali boasted again that his party will do the same to CPAC and he knew he could.
He can't do anything to CPEC, this is much bigger than Kalabagh dam. They can try, just like they were saying route was changed, instead it wasn't. See they are trying, but i believe they won't succeed like they did with politicizing Kalabagh dam.

Today Pashtuns form core of every Government Institution.You will not see a piece of Pakistan where a Pashtun will not be found.And no doubt this all is possible due to Ayub Khan if he hav'nt recgonised th problem then enemy may have exploited this to large level.
The Idea of Pashtunistan is not dead. Durand Line is still a matter of dispute among many Pashtun nationalists :D

The Idea of Pashtunistan is not dead. Durand Line is still a matter of dispute among many Pashtun nationalists
And population of Pasthuns in Karchi is more then Kabul and Kandahar combined.And i think you are taking those peoples seriously about whom Pashtuns give no shit.

Is not it still very much alive in FATA i.e tribal areas of Kyber agency, waziristan etc? I lived in landi kotal and people there feel more part of Afghanistan than Pakistan.

Were they racist and hostile towards you?

I will not say racist or hostile but arrogant. Actually when i went there in the beginning i felt i was in different country. They were staring at our women as if they have never seen women. I don't blame them as their tribal culture is still very different than rest of the Pakistani even pashtuns living in non tribal areas are different than pastuns in tribal areas. Most of these people have never been to other cities of Pakistan and hardly can communicate in Urdu even though most of them understand it. They are also not educated and most of them have this perception that punjabi are not good Muslim and their women are too liberal aka beshram/behaya just because they dont wear Afghani veil and found many pashtusn nationalist there who feel that the have much more common with Afghans pashtuns than rest of the non Pashtun Pakistani.

Hashish/marijuana was very common and almost every single young or middle age person i met there was smoking charas and saw some men in street having charas in one hand and tusbi in another hand..There were some good experience as well because i did like their simplicity when it come to eating with people on floor and sharing plates and glass of water with them. This bad perception go away once you start spending some time with them and they start to know you. They are straight forward people who dont hide their feelings. I made some really good freinds in there as well after playing crciket and football with them in army play grounds and one of them were literally crying when i left landi kotal so it was not that bad experience living in there. Language barrier may be the issue for non pashtuns especially when you deal with those locals who are illiterate

Fatima jinnah had called ayub khan a dictator. He wasnt someone held in respect by that lady and wht he had done to her in elections was enough to speak of his character.

I would like the idea but then again how will I be able to play jokes with the rest of our punjabi , sindhi and balochi brothers. Abusing and isulting them in pashto where they beieve we are talking good or complementing them.

No what makes us pukhtun is not as a nation but rather making fun of non pushto speaking.. if pukhtunistan ever came to existence how will be able to make fun of others.
;):lol:

I never kenw that
But
You do realize there are as many pathan jokes circling around as sardar ji and Irish jokes :lol:

Associating beetle chewing exclusively with Urdu speaking community of Karachi was pretty distasteful and cheap if not downright derogatory. I would suggest you to pay a visit to Baloch majority Liyari, Memon/Gujrati majority old Karachi, and Bengali pada in Gulsha e Iqbal and then compare the beetle stains with those found in Urdu speaking neighborhoods such as North Nazimabad, PIB colony, and Liaquat abad. I could also talk about naswar chewing and other cultural ills but I guess I should refrain myself from coming down to that level for such generalizations and stereotypings add no more weight to one's arguments rather expose the shallowness of their arguments and immense hatred towards others. I know you act disgustfully at times and use vile language hence reported at several occasions by other posters but this post was some disgust. You have literally left that racist Afghan ghusbethya (Samandri) in dust in your hatred for a Pakistani community.

Many good things have happened in Ayub's time but some very bad things have also happened. Signing Indus water treaty in 1960 is one such bad thing where the Dictator saheb literally gifted two of the rivers to our arch enemy on which she is building dams and give a dam to our reservations. Immense failure of operation Gibraltar, war of 1965 and Tashkent accord was/is a blob on Khan saheb's glorious rule. Ignoring East Pakistan, foolish doctrine of 'defense of East Pakistan through West', and imposition of a gem called Yahya who proved instrumental in the cession of East Pakistan, imprisonment of some 90,000 regular/support personnel and shameful Shimla agreement (through which we literally gave up on UN resolutions) are all but the glowing achievements and aftershocks of Khan saheb's era.

@WebMaster @Horus @Oscar @Slav Defence Please advise this member to behave. Diabetes or not, he has to control his language and attune it that is appropriate for a title holder.
Ghusbethya kya hota hai jo zabardasti ghus kay betha hai

Yes, you got it right.
OMG!!!! Lolzzzzz tukkka thaaa mera lolzzzzzz.
Worked.

Pakhtoons u really want to leave us?
s0729.gif

Dont go before u teach me pushto