Hindus are the most “decent” and “tolerant” majority in the world. : Javed Akhtar

Noted screenwriter and lyricist Javed Akhtar in an article in Shiv Sena mouthpiece Saamana said that Hindus are the most “decent” and “tolerant” majority in the world.

The piece was published on Tuesday, days after Akhtar faced criticism from all quarters, including a Saamana editorial, after he equated the Taliban with right-wing groups Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP).

In a reference to former chief minister (CM) Devendra Fadnavis, who had said that purification at late Shiv Sena founder Bal Thackeray’s makeshift memorial after Union minister Narayan Rane’s visit reflected the Shiv Sena’s “Talibani mindset”, Akhtar, without naming the Bharatiya Janata Party leader, said not even the worst critic of CM Uddhav Thackeray can accuse him of any discrimination or injustice.

The former Member of Parliament, in an interview to a news channel on September 3, had said, “Just like the Taliban want an Islamic State, there are those who want a Hindu Rashtra. These people are of the same mindset – be it Muslims, Christians, Jews or Hindus.”

“Of course, the Taliban is barbaric and their actions are reprehensible, but those supporting RSS, VHP and Bajrang Dal are also the same.”

On September 6, Saamana had published an editorial wherein it mildly criticised Akhtar, saying that linking RSS-VHP with Taliban is disrespectful towards Hindu culture.

Akhtar, in Saamana, said he had faced a lot of criticism following his interview and this article was a way to respond to all.

“Recently I had said in an interview that Hindus are the most decent and tolerant majority in the whole world. I have also said many times that India can never become Afghanistan because Indians are naturally not fundamentalists. Being moderate and taking a balanced stand is in the DNA,” he said.

He, however, stood by his statement on similarities between the Taliban and right-wing mindset and said Taliban set up an Islamic state while the Hindu right-wing intends to form a Hindu Rashtra. Besides, like the Taliban, the right wing are curbing freedom of women, while .

“I see a lot of similarities between the Taliban mindset and the right-wing ideology. This has angered people but the reality is that there are truly many similarities. The Taliban are forming an Islamic government, the Hindu right-wing wants a Hindu Rashtra. The Taliban want to curb women’s rights, the Hindu right-wing has also made it clear that they don’t like the freedom of women and girls; from Uttar Pradesh to Karnataka and Gujarat, young men and women have been beaten mercilessly for sitting together in a restaurant or a garden or any public place,” he said.

In an indirect jab at Fadnavis, Akhtar said that it is interesting that while supporters of the Hindu-right wing were upset with him, “one of their own prominent political leaders” says the Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi government has a “Talibani mindset.”

“I am not a member of any of the three parties which in a coalition are governing Maharashtra extremely well under the able chief ministership of Uddhav Thackeray. Today, his popularity in Maharashtra rivals that of Mamata Banerjee in Bengal and MK Stalin in Tamil Nadu. Not even his worst critics can accuse him of any discrimination or injustice. How and why can anyone call Uddhav Thackeray’s government ‘Talibani’ is beyond my understanding,” he wrote.

they way IMs have to grovel to the gallery is embarassing to watch. my dear grandfathers - thank you for migrating to pakistan in 1948.
I don't have to justify my existence to anybody!

they way IMs have to grovel to the gallery is embarassing to watch. my dear grandfathers - thank you for migrating to pakistan in 1948.
I know what you mean bhai.

My great grand Pathan parents used to live in Delhi and Agra. Then they moved to Rawalpindi, Lahore, and Karachi during partition.

Since when did he become spokesman for Indian Muslims. He is also a self admitted atheist. Get away from the idea a person speaking for himself speaks for tens of millions.

Hindus dont tolerate each other, see caste system. Let alone muslims. BJP have successfully won low caste hindu votes by making muslims in to common enemy.

Javed Akhtar is similar to this commentator

Hindus are the only people who treat their own kind as subhumans (lower castes) and thus inspired Nazism. They are the only kind who sold their women to temples to get raped and abused (temple prostitution). They tortured and taxed low castes women for not exposing boobs (Breast Tax). They threw widows into fire before Muslims stopped it (Sati). They are the only kind of people who lynch others to death for eating the wrong food. The list is endless.

1. Ever heard about Slavery bro? If books are hard to find, you can watch movies like 12 years a slave or Django Unchained etc

2. That WAS a ritual that went band and degraded. Do you want me to quote news here regarding r#pe of children in madarsas? Say it doesn't happen. I wanna see your lying face. I challenge you.

3. Breast tax was imposed in Travancore. Travancore isn't even entire Kerala let alone India or Hinduism. If I were to relate individual behavior of some king with religion, Islam will get a really really bad image.

4. Yes Sati system was horrible. How come muslims stop it though? Which country do you belong to ? Our primary kids seem to have a better knowledge of history than you. About the religion though, Christians burnt people on stakes too. Thankfully hindus and christians have given up these medieval horrors. Any thoughts about people who kill others by throwing stones at them in the present era ?

Yes the list is endless. I am afraid it's a list of your stupidities. You are either not educated enough or a bigot or both. Religious bigotry has made you spew random stuff without looking into your own house.
That's because Hindus lie. Hinduism is nothing but caste system and superstitions. I know because we have lots of Hindus in BD.
There can't be a person more stupid than one who can generalize a billion people because he was bullied by one of them in school. Still I will never think that all Muslims are stupid like you. I have muslims friends who are great people. but you are pathetic.

Noted screenwriter and lyricist Javed Akhtar in an article in Shiv Sena mouthpiece Saamana said that Hindus are the most “decent” and “tolerant” majority in the world.

The piece was published on Tuesday, days after Akhtar faced criticism from all quarters, including a Saamana editorial, after he equated the Taliban with right-wing groups Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP).

In a reference to former chief minister (CM) Devendra Fadnavis, who had said that purification at late Shiv Sena founder Bal Thackeray’s makeshift memorial after Union minister Narayan Rane’s visit reflected the Shiv Sena’s “Talibani mindset”, Akhtar, without naming the Bharatiya Janata Party leader, said not even the worst critic of CM Uddhav Thackeray can accuse him of any discrimination or injustice.

The former Member of Parliament, in an interview to a news channel on September 3, had said, “Just like the Taliban want an Islamic State, there are those who want a Hindu Rashtra. These people are of the same mindset – be it Muslims, Christians, Jews or Hindus.”

“Of course, the Taliban is barbaric and their actions are reprehensible, but those supporting RSS, VHP and Bajrang Dal are also the same.”

On September 6, Saamana had published an editorial wherein it mildly criticised Akhtar, saying that linking RSS-VHP with Taliban is disrespectful towards Hindu culture.

Akhtar, in Saamana, said he had faced a lot of criticism following his interview and this article was a way to respond to all.

“Recently I had said in an interview that Hindus are the most decent and tolerant majority in the whole world. I have also said many times that India can never become Afghanistan because Indians are naturally not fundamentalists. Being moderate and taking a balanced stand is in the DNA,” he said.

He, however, stood by his statement on similarities between the Taliban and right-wing mindset and said Taliban set up an Islamic state while the Hindu right-wing intends to form a Hindu Rashtra. Besides, like the Taliban, the right wing are curbing freedom of women, while .

“I see a lot of similarities between the Taliban mindset and the right-wing ideology. This has angered people but the reality is that there are truly many similarities. The Taliban are forming an Islamic government, the Hindu right-wing wants a Hindu Rashtra. The Taliban want to curb women’s rights, the Hindu right-wing has also made it clear that they don’t like the freedom of women and girls; from Uttar Pradesh to Karnataka and Gujarat, young men and women have been beaten mercilessly for sitting together in a restaurant or a garden or any public place,” he said.

In an indirect jab at Fadnavis, Akhtar said that it is interesting that while supporters of the Hindu-right wing were upset with him, “one of their own prominent political leaders” says the Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi government has a “Talibani mindset.”

“I am not a member of any of the three parties which in a coalition are governing Maharashtra extremely well under the able chief ministership of Uddhav Thackeray. Today, his popularity in Maharashtra rivals that of Mamata Banerjee in Bengal and MK Stalin in Tamil Nadu. Not even his worst critics can accuse him of any discrimination or injustice. How and why can anyone call Uddhav Thackeray’s government ‘Talibani’ is beyond my understanding,” he wrote.

He will not be spared.

Since when did he become spokesman for Indian Muslims. He is also a self admitted atheist. Get away from the idea a person speaking for himself speaks for tens of millions.
It's not just him. Naseeruddin Shah, Salman Khan bunch of other IM constantly have to "course-correct" if they exercise their freedom of speech. Read comments on any muslim topic - people getting attacked by the RSS types which are at least 60%.
w
I know what you mean bhai.

My great grand Pathan parents used to live in Delhi and Agra. Then they moved to Rawalpindi, Lahore, and Karachi during partition.
wonderful brother. mine also came from delhi. god bless pakistan a million times.

And still after 72 years you are considered a second class citizens by that decent and tolerant majority. And unfortunately you have to make such pleasing statements for your survival.
By hook or by crook Jinnah was right. He saw this coming almost a century ago.
Chaatne ki bhi koi haad hoti hai yaar :rofl:
Ab tou zuban ka color bhi change ho chuka hai chaat chaat ker :lol:

It's not just him. Naseeruddin Shah, Salman Khan bunch of other IM constantly have to "course-correct" if they exercise their freedom of speech. Read comments on any muslim topic - people getting attacked by the RSS types which are at least 60%.
Since when did these actors become spokesmen for Indian Muslims? How do we know they are Muslim by faith? Imagine taking the views of Pakistani actors and saying Pakistani Muslims are like this and that. You have idolatrous culture (attribute of Hinduism) which explains why you give political and religious importance to these actors.

And still after 72 years you are considered a second class citizens by that decent and tolerant majority. And unfortunately you have to make such pleasing statements for your survival.
By hook or by crook Jinnah was right. He saw this coming almost a century ago.

Ab tou zuban ka color bhi change ho chuka hai chaat chaat ker :lol:

Shabana bibi won't be happy hahah

Her jaga asy hi hy. Idher US main b logo baray baray gait lapty hain. Hqeeqt main they are scared to even go to majid 5 time a day or grow a beard, fearing FBI ki watchlist per na a jaen.

like a abused wife keeps telling her husband every night he’s the best. After every attack he does on her , Jinnah had more sense than remain in this backward india. He came to west provinces we grouped together helped him Pakistan came out. I have to say this that all our Muslims neighbours suCk. And I don’t know why Indians Muslims or Hindus still struggle 70 years of infighting lwhy we never wanted to be part of this alien nightmare state they inherited from the British

Yet you don't see hinditvata blowing himself up any where in the world or causing distribution in around the world.

I will tell you the difference and why,because hindutva doesnot have support from majority of Hindus.

You seem to have no idea about hinduism, dig in you will be enlightened. Its a religion which says wise men call god with different names and doesn't say I am the only god.
Suicide bombing was invented by Tamil Hindus. Secondly Hinduvata guys are a bunch of bullies. The only thing they can do is to gang up to beat someone weak. It’s lynch mob and nothing else.