Help Me Learn Some Urdu...

There is no need to learn flowery Urdu; you can use relatively simple Urdu to express yourself as well. But one shouldn't speak "Urdu" like this:

"But mein to car mein bheta hoon, don't call me baahar yaar"

I have made a deliberate effort to eliminate all my English words from my Urdu, & have been successful in doing so, which raises some eyebrows in certain circles of people when they talk to me.

You can simply say,"Par main to car mein baitha hoon, mujhe bahar aane ko mat bol, yaar." Why you needed to use English words for such a simple sentence.

MOHTARIM or MOHTARMA - Root word is AHTARAM which means Respect. Mohtarim ( male ) or Mohtarma ( female ) means one who has respect or a respected one.

NAVAZISH ( not navzish, as no such word exists) means a FAVOUR. Connotation is you have favoured me or simply Thank you. Synonyms INAYAT, MEHERBANI.

LA HAWL WA LA QUWAT ILLA WA BILLAH - Arabic for all power emanates from Allah.

You can simply say,"Par main to car mein baitha hoon, mujhe bahar aane ko mat bol, yaar." Why you needed to use English words for such a simple sentence.

I don't want to be offensive, but this is the kind of language used in Bollywood, & then young kids in Pakistan think it's cool to talk like this.

Tell me what is offensive in this sentence. I saw many people who don't know counting and people laugh at them when they ask ye "Pandrah" ko English mein kya bolte hain.

Tell me what is offensive in this sentence. I saw many people in who don't know counting and people laugh at them when them ask ye "Pandrah" ko English mein kya bolte hain.

I don't think you get what I'm saying. I speak pure Urdu without using any English words as well. But certain young people, growing up listening to Hinglish used in Bollywood & thinking it's cool to use it, raise eyebrows when they talk to me.

There is no need to learn flowery Urdu; you can use relatively simple Urdu to express yourself as well. But one shouldn't speak "Urdu" like this:

"But mein to car mein bheta hoon, don't call me baahar yaar"

I have made a deliberate effort to eliminate all my English words from my Urdu, & have been successful in doing so, which raises some eyebrows in certain circles of people when they talk to me.
I have been doing the same however sometimes i run out of urdu words so i have no option but to resort to using english to express myself.

Having spoken urdu in my childhood, but after I moved to Canada in grade 9 and lost in touch with the language for nearly a decade, now i really wanna learn to converse in urdu properly.

la haula wa la quwwata illa billah.....

La Halwa Qauwat Wala. !!!
I didn't quite get the second part? :lazy:

La haula wa la quwwata illah Billah is an arabic dua recited to dispel the satan or when in an unfortunate or difficult position

I have been doing the same however sometimes i run out of urdu words so i have no option but to resort to using english to express myself.

I faced the same predicament when I left Pakistan about 12 years ago, living in Nigeria & the US. But I have realized that I improved my Urdu (& become fluent in Punjabi) even though I wasn't in Pakistan.

You've got to watch more Urdu TV though (especially the news programs), & practice if you want to improve your Urdu. Trust me, it's not hard. I have a big interest in linguistics, & Farsi & Rekhta Urdu tops them. Which made the process a lot smoother for me.

Baydaar is a very famous word, especially used in Urdu poetry, "ghaflat ki neend se baydaar karna". Awakening from the "sleep of negligence/willful ignorance".

I don't think you get what I'm saying. I speak pure Urdu without using any English words as well. But certain young people, growing up listening to Hinglish used in Bollywood & thinking it's cool to use it, raise eyebrows when they talk to me.
yes, I too use it often like for word Use I never say "Istemaal" or "Prayog" but simply say "Use karna hai". But the sentence you said above, I think there was no need of using Angrezi words in that.

Okay guys my Urdu is really rusty and broken as i dont understand complicated urdu words during a conversation or while watching the tv. therefore i dedicate this thread to further learning our great language. :smokin:

Everyone is welcomed to post questions here and find translations urdu words as well. Keep it alive guys.:tup:

Starting now with the word Baydaar. What does the word "Baydaar" mean? :confused:

Firefighter, that is a commendable effort. If you really want to spruce up your Urdu, I would highly recommend that you look into the poetry of Muhammad Iqbal ( Allama ), the greatest Urdu poet of the Subcontinent. This will introduce high level Urdu to you. Muhammad Iqbal was a Scholar of Arabic and Farsi (Persian) and as such wrote beautiful Urdu. Infact that is the difference between Hindi and Urdu, in my mind. Hindi has many Sanskrit words whereas Urdu is more heavily laden with Arabic and Farsi words. However in many parts of India ( Delhi, UP, Bihar), Hindus speak pure Urdu but prefer to call it Hindi, because politically they do not want to admit thay are speaking Urdu which they consider to be the language of Muslims.

Start with the curse words.. the rest will come easy..;)
Lol...dude even kids in pakistan curse in English...i hear fcuk more than any other urdu curse like bhenchood!!

Imported bags, imported shoes, ...leaders and now imported curses :lol:
LOL firefighter. Best thing is to go live in Karachi or Islamabad for 6 months. Karchites and people from the capitol speak the best Urdu. If that is not possible start watching Pakistani dramas religiously.

I have many friends from Karachi n believe me their urdu isn't all that great either..it's mostly street lingo they speak. except for their parents who are real urdu speakers.

I would probably never get to live in Karachi cuz most of my family is in Lahore, even those who lived in khi moved back to lahore now...maybe Islamabad would be a good option if i ever move back...who knows

yes, I too use it often like for word Use I never say "Istemaal" or "Prayog" but simply say "Use karna hai". But the sentence you said above, I think there was no need of using Angrezi words in that.

Istehmaal is an Urdu word.

Prayog - No such word in Urdu, maybe because it is a Sanskrit originated word.

Firefighter, that is a commendable effort. If you really want to spruce up your Urdu, I would highly recommend that you look into the poetry of Muhammad Iqbal ( Allama ), the greatest Urdu poet of the Subcontinent. This will introduce high level Urdu to you. Muhammad Iqbal was a Scholar of Arabic and Farsi (Persian) and as such wrote beautiful Urdu. Infact that is the difference between Hindi and Urdu, in my mind. Hindi has many Sanskrit words whereas Urdu is more heavily laden with Arabic and Farsi words. However in many parts of India ( Delhi, UP, Bihar), Hindus speak pure Urdu but prefer to call it Hindi, because politically they do not want to admit thay are speaking Urdu which they consider to be the language of Muslims.

For the people that are interested, this is a video from Lucknow, & this is EXACTLY the kind of Urdu spoken in Pakistan (& not in most parts of India):